We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”
Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #474 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel 3 times so far, every time just for one night. I enjoyed every each one of them. It's located in a very quiet area of London (which makes it a little far from the city center, but there's a tube station nearby). Beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dose_of_placebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Glenlyn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 533 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here- a medium sized guest house in Finchley, North London. Hotel is a five minute walk from the northern line tube station, v convenient. The room was a good size, needed a little tlc on some of the furniture but was spotlessly clean, as it was last time. Nice staff, decent breakfast and great night's sleep..for the price, I would recommend m

Room Tip: There are three floors so consider this is you have a disabled person.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last weekend Friday to Sunday. The room was very clean and there were tea and coffee facilities and also wash products in the bathroom to use. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of fresh fruit juices or water and tea and coffee and the choices of a cooked breakfast , toast , or muffins , quoisonts or even fruit or breakfast biscuits . The staff were friendly and helpful and even called a taxi for us on the friday evening. The only downside for us was that the tube station closed down that weekend so we had to get the bus into central london which was a bit of a journey away but this is not the hotels fault . Ideal palce to stay out of the hustle and bustle of Central London but I think next time we said we would stay a little closer into London.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were visiting friends in the Tufnell Park area and this was a direct line from King's Cross that would allow us to shoot back and forth via Woodside Park, which is only a few minutes away, especially as the last tube was around midnight.

It's in a semi-residential area, insomuch as lots of houses have been converted into guest houses, but the Glenlyn is large enough that it feels more like a hotel inside.

I took a chance on the Glenlyn after feeling like a chain hotel in the centre of London would cost up to twice as much as would be quite an average experience anyway, whereas the reviews of this place were really good.

Thankfully it didn't let us down, the room was super clean, the staff were all friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was fantastic too.

Overall we feel we've found a real gem in London and plan on using the Glenlyn whenever possible on our trips to London.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Bradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Booked a family room for our first trip to london with the kids. We have a 6 year old and an 8 month old baby so were not sure how we would get on. Booked the Glenlyn after seeing it on the internet and we were really happy. The lady on the phone was very friendly to start with and assured me there would be no problem arriving early, parking our car and checking in late after a day in london and then again leaving the car there all day after checking out for our second day in London. On arrival the chap on reception allowed us to check in early anyway so instead of the usual 2 pm we were in our room at 11. This was excellent as it allowed us to feed the baby and then head off to the tube station which is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel and we were in london within 25 mins. We had a family room which was large and spacious with a king size bed, single bed and cot. After a comfortable sleep an excellent full English breakfast was provided. For me it's always a worry when staying away with the kids not quite knowing what you will find. We found the Glenlyn great. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, it was good value and ideally placed for travel from the m1. Would definitely stay again. Many thanks

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank AlexPiggott1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in room 29 ( like last reviewers ).... Room was clean and liked the laminate floor not carpet as it is more hygienic. Bed was reasonably comfortable for a B&B. Small room with wardrobe, dressing table and small chest of drawers. Large flat screen TV. Bathroom was clean and functional. Complimentary shampoo, shower gel, soap, shower cap and body lotion. Shower over bath via taps. Bath panel fell off and door wouldn't shut properly.
Wish we'd picked the other key as our friends bedroom was up in the lift and was obviously recently refurbished and looked sparkling new. Bigger and brighter and shower cubicle. For same price as our smaller room.
Would definately stay here again if in area as the staff were some of the politest and helpful I've come across and the price is good for London.
Breakfast was in a nice conservatory style room, self service buffet with bacon, sausage, beans, toms, mushrooms, scambled egg, cereals, fruit, coffee, tea, pastries, muffins, yoghurts and fruit juice etc.
Convenient for Ally Pally. Get them to book a taxi for £12.00 to take you there if going. Avoid taxi office at ally pally station as they wanted £25.00 for return journey so flagged one down and was £16.00.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familysummerholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Glenlyn just after Christmas, and booked it last minute. It is located well for places of interest in North London such as Alexandra Palace, which is only a 134 bus and a bit of a walk away. We booked last minute as we were due to watch the PDC World Darts Championship at Alexandra Palace and needed accommodation due to the forecast storm, and train problems.

The location is fair (just off the high street) with good travel routes to central and North London. The staff were very polite, and it's a 24hr hotel meaning no creeping in and awkward conversations with the staff after hours as can sometimes be the case. The rooms were an OK size for a short stay. Free WIFI and off street parking was also greatly appreciated.

The double room we stayed in didn't have the most comfortable bed, and the room was a little dated, but it had character. We had a problem with the radiator in room 29, but it was late and we basically only washed and slept in our room due to the short duration of our stay. Because of that we didn't complain. The building is impressive and the local rotary club meet there. The Glenlyn also offer complimentary English or continental breakfast in the conservatory area to the rear of the building.

In all, I would stay here again at short notice, or overnight, due to it's location, value and polite staff. If staying for more than one or two nights I would probably look for something a little roomier, and modern. I think it's good value for money though.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#598 of 1,072 in London
90 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge London Finchley Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#650 of 1,072 in London
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Ealing
3.5 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#415 of 1,072 in London
215 reviews
7.2 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#529 of 1,072 in London
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Best Value Hotel in London
#154 Family Hotel in London
#268 Romantic Hotel in London
#321 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $107 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing