We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”
Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #479 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Perhaps we got the small, dud room in this hotel—it was not like those pictured on the website and in their brochure. Clean, but needed paint on the scratched doors. A pleasure to find a hotel room with windows that open, and we appreciated the full-sized tub-shower in the otherwise small bathroom. The breakfast room is nice, and looks out on a lovely garden. Friendly staff and off-street parking a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mco2dca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 546 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

I booked this based on other TripAdvisor reviews and certainly wasn't disappointed. My telephone enquiry was dealt with quickly and politely and email confirmation quickly followed. Upon arrival the receptionist was very welcoming and extremely helpful, giving me advice on local restaurants and shops. My room was large and clean with good quality bed linen and ... a most welcome surprise ... proper big fluffy towels. Proper sized bath towels, not those tiny little hand towels you get in other places but big wrap yourself-in towels to dry yourself. Breakfast was a generous help-yourself with plenty to choose from and helpful and polite service. It's details like that which mean I will certainly stay here again (have already booked for January). Well done Glenlyn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have just come back from a weekend stay at the Glenlyn guesthouse. What a wonderful find! Parking free. The staff were brilliant ,the rooms were clean ,warm, quiet and comfortable as well as well equipped and modern. The breakfast was delicious with a choice of croissants,buns,cereal,fruit,yogurt and full cooked breakfast. Its a five minute walk from the tube station in a very safe and well lit area. Its also located near to a variety of restaurants - Indian,Thai,Italian,Greek if you prefer to stay in the area. Sainsburys is also 2 minutes away if you have forgotten anything for your stay. 25 minute walk to cinema too. Overall a fantastic stay and will be booking again.

Room Tip: We were in an attic room - no 18. Can hear traffic noise slightly but very quiet otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldhamFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Glenlyn is a hidden jewel. Location is superb if you want to be on the Northern Line. A few minutes walk away.The staff are most curtious and helpful. The rooms are most comfortable. The breakfast are served in a beautiful room faces the rear garden. A magnificent sight to go along with the wonderful breakfast. The High Street is only a few steps away. The price of the room are really a bargain! It is our favorite location for when we have to be in North London!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Were pleasantly surprised, very clean, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, near to bus station, lots of shops around the area, Wifi was a plus, bathroom very clean, one ride to Oxford shopping center. We will definitely stay again with my children early next year

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emily_arbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at the Glenlyn friday and saturday night and were very impressed.Rooms were very clean with everything you need for a week-end stay.Staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you.Excellent breakfast from fruit and cereals to a full english plenty of everything.Parking a big bonus , easy to get in and out of central London with buses and tubes close by.Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heathersteele228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at the Glenlyn last night and I have to say we were all pleasantly surprised. We arrived 3 hours early and even though we were not supposed to check in till 2pm. the staff could not have been more helpful, they allowed us to park the car on site whilst we traveled down to Campden Market for the afternoon (tube just at the end of the road).

The rooms are very clean, the bed was really comfy, on suite, coffee/tea, PG tips not nasty rubbish. Breakfast this morning was scrummy.

The reception staff are very helpful, booked a taxi to take us to the Ali Pali,

Overall a very nice Guest House exceptional value for money and I would stay there again, it was FAB :D

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kar0nF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#603 of 1,077 in London
91 reviews
London Guest House
#519 of 1,077 in London
244 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#304 of 1,077 in London
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#272 of 1,077 in London
739 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#433 of 1,077 in London
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Best Value Hotel in London
#102 Family Hotel in London
#266 Romantic Hotel in London
#319 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $89 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing