We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guesthouse to stay at”
Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #485 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife , daughter and I returned home from the glenlyn yesterday , stayed there during the heatwave for a week. Thankfully the room had a portable fan to help keep us cool at night . As we had our car , the off street parking was good and there were plenty of spaces as well . The hotel location is good for wood side tube station as its just a short walk down the road . Wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel which was a must for my 20 year old daughter . Breakfast in the mornings was lovely and looks out onto a mature garden setting. I would definitely recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voddy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 537 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Glenlyn. The staff were very friendly and helpful regarding nearby restaurants, trains, etc. We did need to go up stairs for our room, but that wasn't a big deal for us. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathtub looked like it was falling apart but was still functional. The only downside to the hotel is the location...it takes at least 30 minutes by train to get to other places in London. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Glenlyn Guest House for three nights. The staff is exceptional and very helpful. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast had lots of options and was very good. The breakfast area and outdoor areas are very nice. It is just a short walk to the tube station. The tube ride is about a half hour into London. The price is reasonable-I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kleiner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our 4 night stay proved to be exeptional. We were welcomed and given the keys to our rooms, we were on the second floor and the only down point are the stairs, but we managed.

Everything one would need is in your room. Breakfast has a good selection of good quality hot and cold food to choose from.

Staff are helpful and pleasant. The back of the hotel seems quieter and there is a lovely large garden with seating area to relax in.

There are a good selection of cafes and restaurants to choose from on the high street (Holden Road). The tube station is a comfortable 10 minutes walk away at the bottom of Woodside Park Road. The journey to Euston is 25/30 minutes.

Couldn't recommend this hotel enough, and we would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel seems quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fab24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. Paul went out of his way to be helpful. He spent over one hour helping us confirm a flight as well as printing Mapquest directions. The guest house is very nice and clean, and it is located in a quiet area one-half block from a main shopping area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we have stayed here before and had a fab big room on the back for which we had a brilliant night's sleep. Unfortunately due to a family disaster we had to book last minute in order to meet my husband finishing the Help for Heroes Bike ride ( long story) on Sunday 2 June on the mall so didn't book until 2 days before. There was only one room left on the front annexe next door to the main hotel. We arrived teatime as we just wanted somewhere to get a good night's sleep a bite to eat and with tube within walking distance. Don't arrive too late as all the parking spaces had gone on the front although one became available after 6.

The tube access is what makes this a good hotel as you can leave car and walk 10 mins to Woodside Park. We found few restaurants on Finchley high rd that looked any good so got the bus 3 stops to the cinema complex down the rd where there was more choice Cafe rouge, Mexican grill, Ask etc. We decided to go back early and have a drink in the bar this was poor. They had no wine other than red and although the bar is cosy there was no one in there and we know why now! The management need to make more of the bar as the choice on offer was dire, The room was nice and big but one criticism is they need blackout curtains our room was right by a street light and we had bright light streaming in all night. I woke up at 3 thinking it was time to get up! Breakfast was just as good as before and there was an excellent choice of hot food. I would stay here again but would not want the room we stayed in again.

Room Tip: ask for room at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debraphillips2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on the night of his 40th birthday for ease of traveling to a gig in North London.
Parking was of most importance to us when we made booking and was happy to find ample parking on the forecourt of the hotel.
We received a very warm welcome from a very friendly member of the team and received a room upgrade as it was my partner's birthday.
The room was basic but it was a good size with everything you would need for a single nights stay. Bed was very comfy and room was immaculately clean. Ensuite with lovely hot shower.
As my partner is a smoker, we made use of the lovely large garden which is very well kept.
We also received a complimentary bottle of wine.
Nearest tube is a 5 min walk to end of road and so we enjoyed many drinks on our night out without worry of getting home.
Breakfast was simple but varied and very enjoyable looking out onto gardens from breakfast room.
Despite dated decor, the hotel is very clean and very good value for money. I would have no hesitation in staying here again and highly recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizzstupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#595 of 1,076 in London
90 reviews
Ramada London Finchley
#664 of 1,076 in London
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
White Lodge Hotel
#419 of 1,076 in London
217 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in London
#154 Family Hotel in London
#268 Romantic Hotel in London
#321 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $109 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing