We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #477 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have stayed at this 3-star hotel a couple of times, 4 years apart, and enjoyed it every time. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful. This is a family-run business and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is what you would expect from a 3-star but includes full English breakfast and is serve in a lovely bright room, which I think is the hotel's big advantage, especially in summer. I would love to stay there again. There are plenty of restaurants around and the Tube is a 3-minute walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComdtNexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    210
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
123
221
33
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Found this place on trip advisor and booked on the strength of the reviews. The room was a little small, but clean and comfortable, the breakfast was the usual buffet style with reasonable choices. It was a 30 min train ride into the centre of London but only a few minutes walk from the station. There were also plenty of places to eat nearby before going into the city centre. A good place for the price. Would definintely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staymag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a very charming place to stay at. We stayed in a 3-bed room which in no way was small and crammy. The staff is very friendly, the beds are comfy (although somewhat short if your over 190) and the breakfast is good.
After a day in London it is very relaxing to go back to north Finchley which is a nice area. There are a couple of good, very reasonably priced restaurants within 200 meters walking distance. I especially recommend the Italian one to the left in the crossing.
If you have no need to stay in the city, experience what it is like to live in London and appreciate to do a little bit of travel by the tube this the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Jung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Good value for money at this guest friendly hotel. Staff very welcoming and efficient and a good range at breakfast, all very acceptable. Close to Woodside Park tube (Northern) and lots of shops / restaurants nearby. The hotel is a bit 'tired' but clean and recommended for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exiledtaff_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very clean, spacious room with quality furniture and very comfortable beds, full, tasty breakfast, friendly and helpful receptionists, close to the underground - it is one of the best places we have stayed and we will definitely go back again! Its a short walk to the tube station, but it takes a while to get to the centre of London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

An excellent hotel. Great staff. Brilliant manager. Well done again Paul for making our Christmas stay special. The only complaint is that breakfast is too nice! Where do you get those sausages? Loft apartment is great and we look forward to seeing you in the summer. My to tip for visitors is you must go to Thai & co over the road from the hotel. The best Thai food in London by far.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marcoalza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Reception was friendly. Amenities were as expected. Close to the underground and close to many restaurants. However if you want to get to downtown London, it is about a 45 minute ride on the underground. Overall the Glenlyn Guest House was a good deal for the price. It was clean, friendly, good breakfast. For tourists it was everything we expected. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: There is no elevator and VERY narrow stairs. For tourists, if you have a lot of baggage, you may wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ByronMichelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#605 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#642 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
8.2 mi away
London Guest House
London Guest House
#498 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#424 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hendon Hall Hotel
Hendon Hall Hotel
#434 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Ealing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Property: Glenlyn Hotel
Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in London
#154 Family Hotel in London
#268 Romantic Hotel in London
#321 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing