We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but far from luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury
Ranked #950 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ok but far from luxury!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The rooms are an ok size but are quite shabby and in need of a redecorate. The skirting boards, walls and ceilings are all covered in scuffs and marks. However the bed linen and bathrooms are spotless. The full English breakfasts are very small although you could always ask for more. My room was at the bottom of the stairs near the breakfast room. One morning I was woken by someone falling from the top to the bottom of the stairs as at the top there is a door of which there is no sign saying that there are steps right on the other side so PLEASE be aware of this if you stay here. The stairs are quite narrow too. The staff were all friendly. This hotel has a good location and is not too bad for the price. It's not a too bad place to stay if you are spending most of your time exploring London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    84
    101
    85
    129
See reviews for
64
108
58
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Yes, the rooms are small but the price is excellent for such a wonderful location. As a single woman traveling alone, I loved it! I stayed in one of the cabin rooms where the bed actually had a window seat next to it. While is was a little drafty and cold to actually sit in the window (I'm only 5'3"), I simply stacked my reading materials and purchases there to keep them out of the way since there is only one small closet.

The bathroom was small but not any smaller than some I've encountered. The shower was hot and there was a big built in counter with mirror to hold my make-up and other toiletries.

The (free) breakfast was excellent with offerings of cereals, yogurt, fruit, toast, and tea and French press coffee. I'm a big coffee drinker and to be served that pot all for me almost brought tears to my eyes. :) The servers were very attentive.

It was very cold in London during my stay (and I'm from Michigan!) but upon my arrival and every day after, a thermos of hot water, tea and shortbread cookies were in my room, which hit the spot after my early morning outings. Gotta love that tea.

The friendly staff was outstanding in offering assistance with whatever I needed.

I'm returning in the spring and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: My room was up one flight, the only room on the landing, and it was extremely quiet. I didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summitsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The only reason I picked the Hotel Cavendish (not to be confused with the far superior Cavendish Hotel) was the location - just 100 yards from University College, London, where I was attending a seminar on Ethics. The price, £75, was average for the area so I booked. Even so, given the size and state of the room htis was a rip-off any decent sea=side landlady would be ashamed at.
The room I got was in the basement, down a narrow staircase and close to the breakfast room.
Laughingly described as a double, the 4ft wide bed took up almost half the space in the room. Apart from the passage from the door past the en-suite bathroom, the main part of the room measured 7ft by 8ft. Prisoners in solitary get bigger cells than this.
Plasterwork was patched, paintwork and furnishings scratched and well past their best.

Breakfast was adequate and the only redeeming feature were the cheery waitresses.
Never again, I would rather spend the extra to get a 6am train down from Yorkshire than try to save money travelling down beforehand and staying at a place like this.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at The Cavendish Hotel in February for 3 nights with my husband as we were celebrating my 60th birthday. To say I was disappointed is an understatement. Although the staff were friendly enough, the hotel is extremely shabby and our room was very small. The bathroom was tiny with no shelves or hooks to put anything, and there was no storage space in the room other than the wardrobe with a shelf in it. Also, the room was unbelievably hot (it was minus 5 outside) even with the radiator turned off. We found out later it was because we were right on top of Goodge St subway. We were on the ground floor, but to get there we had to go upstairs (very narrow) through the breakfast room, then downstairs again (also narrow stairs). The only good things about our room were the curtains!, they looked as if they belonged in a 5-star hotel, not the Cavendish; and the fact the room was very quiet. The breakfasts were average. Location was good - 10 mins from Euston, 5 mins from Goodge St. British Museum was just 10 mins walk too. Lots of good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: My advice is don't think you will get a room looking like the one on their website. This is a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dylaffyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the staff. They were pleasant and helpful. However there are a number of things beyond their control. There is no lift and our room was on the third floor. Narrow halls and five doors between the lobby and the room made it difficult to move our luggage. The bathroom in our room smelled lke a sewer. The water constantly dripped from the shower splashing out onto the bathroom floor. There was a flat screen television screen mounted to the wall but the mount didn't move so you couldn't face it toward the bed. You literally watched the telly from the side. Both lamps next to the bed needed light bulbs. The breakfast was typical English and was quite good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Don't stay here! We went to London for 2 nights and had to check out of this hotel after the first night due to there being no water in our en suite. The staff were beyond rude and just didn't care. Guy on reception put his hand in my face and said he was on his own and too busy to deal with us having no water! Absolutely disgusting service. He just couldn't have cared less. He laughed and said none of the other guests cared about having no water and were going to shower elsewhere! Also, rooms are extremely tiny, cold and noisy. Do yourself a favour and avoid this place!!! There are plenty of other hotels in London.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cat1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good points:

Location
Price
Friendly and helpful staff
Free wifi
Breakfast included
quirky/interesting building

Bad points:

traffic noise
woken up early to smell of cooking
bathroom not very private


this is a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart-Mallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#852 of 1,068 in London
45 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#643 of 1,068 in London
216 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#121 of 1,068 in London
3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#527 of 1,068 in London
342 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#126 of 1,068 in London
1,219 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#556 of 1,068 in London
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury

Property: Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury
Address: 75 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #950 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing