We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“adequate room size, poor price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avonmore Hotel
Ranked #859 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Blackpool
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“adequate room size, poor price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Booked a quad room in a quiet crescent (thinking the room would be larger and would be quiet.
How wrong.
The room was small with a half partition containing 2 more single beds.
Walls were not soundproofed at all and could here doors banging, and people up and down stairs. and in the room above.Breakfast was just adequate but quality of food left something to be desired, had a far better late breakfast on the train home.Considering the cost of the room I don't think this is value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    49
    30
    16
    28
See reviews for
38
31
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

we got moved here as the hotel we had booked next door was flooded and we got a free breakfast.there was 3 of us girls in a triple room and it was spacious enough for us.shower was tiny and you had to go up 3 steps to go into it to use the loo.the hotel was clean,all staff were polite .the were only tiny soap bars in the loo so you would need to take shower gel.hotel is in excellent location and the pub just round the corner is nice to.would stay again for its location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel location is very good because of near Kings Cross, Euston and Russel Squre station, and Buritish Museum. And There are many Pubs, restaurants and shops around hotel.

Handmade breakfast was delicious and it was good for me to have many fruits.

When stay at London, this hotel is one of my recommend hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomoyukik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

As i entered the premises, I was greeted with nothing but the foul stench of a fishy natured smell! As if that wasnt enough the french receptionist smelt like she had a hard night on the garlic. Her vocabulary was diabolical to say the least.
At first glance the room was dark and dreiry. The shower must have been designed for a dwarf! I would have had more room washing oneself in a match box. I was awakened by the ghasty smell of swine meat and being from muslim descent I was highly offended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joanneTireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in Feb 14. The room was as expected for the price. The receptionist was receptive. The breakfast timing and quality was something else! I waited for over 30 minutes until I went to the kitchen to be served. I asked, politely, for bacon and eggs. I received a slice of bacon fat and an over cooked solid fried egg. Needless to say I left it all and purchased my breakfast elsewhere! Not an experience I would wish on anybody - avoid!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lloydy677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed for one night in this place and I will never return. The good points are mainly about its location - close to Kings Cross, Russell Square tube and the marvellous Brunswick Centre. Unfortunately this hotel is dingy, expensive and of such a low standard in almost everything, as to be almost unacceptable as a hotel. Hostel would be closer to the mark, but it doesn't even rise to that standard. The room I was put in was tiny, the bed took up most of it. The shower room (no bath) was very dark and unpleasant. I couldn't find the cupboard but after a search found it behind a door. The staff were OK, but I just couldn't bring myself to stay for breakfast. It is outrageous value for money - £195.00 for one night in possibly the worst hotel in London. Please do yourself a favour and steer clear.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDO152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the avonmore for a night mid week. The room was small and a bit tatty although generally clean. The bed was comfy enough. The main problem was the noise. I was in one of the basement rooms and as well as being able to hear the tube I could hear several different conversations most of the time. It almost sounded like they were being amplified into my room.
The location is great and the breakfast was fine.
I wouldn't go back just because of how noisy it was.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank niniboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#545 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#425 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#507 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#518 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#658 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#263 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore Hotel

Property: Avonmore Hotel
Address: 57 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #859 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avonmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonmore Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing