We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of Avonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avonmore Hotel
Ranked #912 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I had stayed there for 4 nights in Dec 2011. I was suprised to find the place nicer then expected. Comparing prices with hotels and apt nearbye, I would say good choise I've made.

Very clean apt, have a small garden. It is very small I must say but you have new furniture and the place is just next to the Russel Square and train station.

I would go back there anytime.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyLady T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    53
    37
    19
    33
See reviews for
42
36
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Unfriendly staff! Noisy residents! Poky room! Breakfast acceptable - just! Not recommended! Location though is central and convenient for Euston.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisa1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed one night here in January as she had a job interview in Euston. We stayed in a double room, which was quite small and a bit dated. The room had an en-suite bathroom which again was very small, and the room was a bit cold as only one of the radiators worked. There was also a buzzing sound coming from somewhere in the room, only faint but was quite annoying after a while. There was breakfast in the morning which I cant comment on as I had to leave early for work so didnt get to try it. The bloke on reception was friendly enough and was working throughout the night. The reason I chose this hotel was for its location and price, it is in central London, walking distance from Euston Railway station and I only payed £49 for the night with en-suite bathroom and breakfast in the morning. For that reason I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheap overnight stay in central london.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Baz1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I arrived at 10am after flying all night from Cuba. 'Alec from Brazil' greeted me with a lecture on Cuban politics, after I carried all of my own bags up the shabby stairs and told him I was jet lagged. The room was small but I said to him 'as long as it is quiet', then I was happy. The moment I lay down on the bed the construction work started. When I complained, dear darling Alec said that 'British law allowed this until 5pm'. It was 11am. No discount, no apology. It started again in the morning, I left even more exhausted than when I arrived. The construction work looks like it will last for weeks.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_AnneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopwas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night and found it adequate for a short stay. Clean and comfortable beds, clean bathroom. Breakfast was good . Staff were very friendly. The location was good - 5 mins to Russell Square underground. Decor needs updating but overall good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We needed a hotel for the night near Russel Square and this fitted the bill perfectly. The room offered over the internet was 2nd floor, so we asked for a room on the ground floor due to my Wife's health. We were offered one in the basement, but for a 1 night stay that was ok. When we arrived, we were initially offered the 2nd floor room, but flashed the paperwork and said we could have a room on the ground floor, which was even better!
It was clean, the shower was clean and hot, beds comfortable with plenty of tea and coffee available. It seems the Spanish had been in previously so any attempt to re-tune the TV was foiled. The serviceman came and sorted most of it out for us, quickly, so good marks there. Breakfast was included, full English. We will almost certainly use this hotel again. Downsides; breakfast room is in the basement, down some steep stairs; whilst our room was a very convenient location, it was also next to the front door. There is no lift.

Room Tip: Go for a high room if you are fit and want some quiet-there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Happys_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have been staying at the Avonmore Monday to Friday for nearly 12 months as I'm working at Euston. The hotel is in a good, quiet location (usually) and is good value for money, price incudes english breakfast. The rooms are not large, I'm usually in single rooms obviously, but they are comfortable. I'm surprised at the comments about the breakfast staff, as other reviewers have said all the staff have been friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the basement do suffer from train noise and noise from the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterschofield37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#562 of 1,069 in London
567 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#422 of 1,069 in London
718 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#541 of 1,069 in London
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#256 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#653 of 1,069 in London
2,171 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#950 of 1,069 in London
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore Hotel

Property: Avonmore Hotel
Address: 57 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #912 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avonmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Avonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonmore Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing