We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #80 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Pensnett
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, hotel was excellent and staff really helpful. The rooms were quite spacious compared with other hotels and were spotlessly clean. Large tv in the room and an ipod docking station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djp4332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,378
    1,037
    160
    35
    18
See reviews for
502
1,902
165
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Chose this hotel as it was in the perfect location for our needs and stayed one night, had two rooms to celebrate my sons' 21st birthday. Both rooms were standard, located on the ground floor. My room had a large skylight and you couldn't open the blind to see daylight this was not a problem for us but may not appeal to all. The room was quite large, nice bathroom with a great bath, comfortable bed and a nice large telly, lovely to hear the church bells in the morning! My son and his girlfriend were happy with their room. Had a few drinks in the bar and the staff were superb here. Breakfast could have been better, waited a while to be seated, then was put where the sun was blasting in, no one offered to pull down the blind? Breakfast items took a long time to be replenished, repeatedly had to ask for toast which was ordered the same time as the coffee but only arrived after several prompts to staff. Overall OK, a good 'value for money' hotel in London.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donmat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

my wife booked this hotel as a 50th birthday treat for me and she informed the hotel who pulled out all the stops for me. upgrading us from a standard room to a Junior suite with Balcony, A Birthday Card was in my room telling me they had also upgraded my reserved 2 course meal to a three course meal with a glass of Champagne. the Staff are Exceptionally helpful and Happy and nothing is too much bother to them. the Hotel itself is exemplary spotlessly clean and smart and I would recommend anyone to stay here as we will be returning again hopefully soon.

Room Tip: seventh floor, amazing view from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonlout64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Londonlout64

Thanks for your review following your birthday surprise last weekend. We were delighted to be able to go that bit further once your wife let us know that you were celebrating a special occasion.

I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Robert Flinter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I regularly travel to London for business and always stay at the Apex City of London. The location is perfect for me, the rooms are both design and very confortable, with clean and modern bathrooms, and breakfast is delicious. More importantly the staff is really nice and helpful, with a special mention to Florence Alloing (Front Office Manager) who is absolutely outstanding.
I have tried all the hotels around, and the Apex is by far my favourite.
Marine

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARINEDAVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear MarineDavid

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and that the friendliness and warmth of the staff stood out. I have shared your feedback with Florence who was very happy to receive it.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Robert Flinter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on an extended weekend break, March 6th to March 10th. The receptionist at check in, Pamela, I think was warm, welcoming and efficient. I was given a room on the 6th floor. The room was pleasantly furnished, had a double bed, (for single occupancy), provided bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits. The ambience was very quiet and relaxing. My initial problem connecting to the internet was immediately solved. Room service was very good - I had breakfast two mornings, each of which was very good. On the day I was leaving, the receptionist was most helpful in printing out my boarding pass after the printer would not function properly. I was particularly impressed with the courtesy, kindness and efficiency of the staff. The hotel is very convenient to the underground though a little far from the theatre/ shopping district. There is a huge choice of coffee shops and sandwich bars locally as one is in the middle of the City financial district. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will return for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Kerrylaw

Thanks for your detailed and positive review following your stay here. I have passed on your comments to the team. I am delighted that they were able to make your stay enjoyable.
Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Robert Flinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here a few weekends ago for a valentines getaway.

Very short walk from Fenchurch Street Station which was ideal for us!

Receptionist staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was lovely.

Would definitely recommend and stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iduce20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Iduce20

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed it and the location was convenient for you. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert Flinter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for a leisure weekend in mars. Did book Apex because of all the good reviews. And i was glad i did. It was a perfect stay. Very nice modern Hotel. The Deluxe room (5th floor) was very spacious and nice and had all you would expect. You could change the Aircondition yourself and that was convenient. The staff was very friendly and we felt very welcomed.

Location is also good, close to Underground-Tower Hill station.There is a big construction site outside but as far as we were concerned it was no problem, we did not hear any of it. Must say the rooms are quiet, The bed was firm and a delight to sleep in. We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattBell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear MattBell

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Robert Flinter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#53 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#244 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#119 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Property: Apex City of London Hotel
Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London
Apex City Of London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing