We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Impressive Value For Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #81 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2008

My daughter and I spent two nights at the Apex last week. We had been looking for a decent, convenient cost-effective hotel in the center of London. After checking TripAdvisor we decided to try the Apex. We weren't sorry! Being just a five minute walk from the Tower Hill tube station, it was a breeze to get to the Tower of London early in the morning and beat the crowd. The room decor was modern and new (including flat screen TV), the climate control worked great, and free wifi was a bonus. There was no free breakfast (it cost GBP 13.50) but the price was right nevertheless. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank steverino22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,202 - 3,208 of 4,105 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Apex on Saturday 21st June for 1 night, paying £111 for a superior king room.

We checked in at 1.30pm and were quickly and efficiently assigned room 618 on the 6th floor. Check-in was super efficient and friendly.

The room itself was extremely nice, with good quality linens, gourmet coffee, big tv and dvd player, fridge, air-con etc. The quality of the fixtures/fittings were excellent.

The bathroom was pretty special. A huge, spottlessly clean bath with a complimentary rubber duck was waiting, along with some good quality toiletries which were massive in size. There was also a large seperate walk-in shower which was excellent. This hotel really excells in its attention to detail. Surround sound in the bathroom which meant you could listen to the tv, heated mirror which prevented the glass from steaming up etc, really sets this hotel apart from many of the others I have stayed in London, especially in the city area.

I absolutely loved that local calls were free from your room, as well as a huge selection of dvds from reception which could be borrowed for a small returnable deposit.

Staff were excellent, efficient and friendly, especially the reception staff.

Perhaps my only one negative comment would be that we had went downstairs to the bar for a quiet drink but found a football match playing on the tv. I can only assume that since the bar area was quiet, the football match was for the benefit of the bar staff.

That aside, our stay was fabulous and I am looking forward to staying there again. It would definitely be my number 1 choice and would recommend to my family and friends in an instant.

Well done Apex hotel and its staff!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jajd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Stayed at Apex for 2 nights in January 2008, and on the overall, we had a very good stay.

Location is good though not central, but tube is only 5 min. walk away and will bring you anywhere you need. Tower of London also 5 min. away, and the City is worth a visit for both contemporary architecture and old neighbourhood lovers.

The positives are the staff, always very friendly. Hotel is very contemporary chic, sleek design, although not cold. We had a Deluxe room on the corner of the building with 3 windows on 2 walls overlooking the City (5th floor) ... Lovely view at night ! Room very spacious (king size bed, sofa, coffee table, big closets, desk area, nice decoration items), bathroom also big (tub, separate walk-in shower). Much more space than what you usually get in London for that price, it really had a little "my own studio" feeling attached to it. All amenities such as kettle, tea, coffee, iron, ironing board, very nice closets with lots of shelves, hangers, drawers, nice toiletries and lovely Apex rubber duck in the bathroom. TV and DVD player, nice selection of DVD's avaialble for free at the reception.

The big plus, the small fridge in the room. Not a minibar, a fridge, empty, where you can store your wine and food from M&S to have it at hand for a cosy aperitif after a long day before hitting the town again !

On a less positive note, the cleaning, though OK on the overall, was not perfect: dust on all frames, on the bedside lamps .. nothing dirty, but giving it an odd impression for a 4 star ... Also we could hear a lot of noise from water running even in the middle of the night (?), the airco system was also quite noisy and always blew cold, even if you put it on 25 ° ...

Cannot comment on bar, restaurant or room service as we always ate outside or brought everything back with us from M&S (5 minutes walk).

So all in all, I definitely recommend Apex for the room space, the nice decor, the real "chic" atmosphere and elegant feeling of it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Axel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Apex. The rooms were spotless and larger than the average London hotel. Staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. I am already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerpot62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

This hotel is very modern and stylish, has everything you could want for a luxurious stay.
The bath is enormous as is the walk in shower and the complimentary toiletries, bathrobes and slippers just topped it all off.
The beds are very comfortable with crisp white sheets.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we found everyone to be very helpful.
On the downside the hotel is not in the best situation for a weekend away as the majority of what is around about it at the weekend closes as it is mostly used by the business men and women during the week.
However Tower hill tube station is a 2 minute walk so everything is accessible and the Original Tour bookings are across the road as is the bus stop for it.
We did have a lovely meal at the tapas restaurant across from the Tower of london which is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel, would highly recommend.
Would not reccommend the Wetherspoons (which is right around the corner) for anything other than a drink.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moosehoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Stayed here for two nights and it was an absolute pleasure. The hotel is located only 2 minutes from Tower Hill tube station making it very easy to get around London.

The rooms were nicely decorated (modern) with a great shower and lovely toiletries. Even had a cute rubber duck!

The bed was nice and comfy and the air conditioning meant a good nights sleep even though it was really mild.

Some nice bars and restaurants nearby too.

Only problem we had was finding something to eat after coming back from the foo fighters gig - everything shut by midnight!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAXMASSIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Excellent value (at London prices) for a luxury stay. Initially disappointed having failed to barter a full English breakfast into the price of saying but couldn’t have been more impressed with the quality, service and above all else, the continental breakfast included in the price! Awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Piscesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#65 of 1,076 in London
3,762 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#50 of 1,076 in London
2,053 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#236 of 1,076 in London
3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,076 in London
3,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $146 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London
Apex City Of London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing