We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean Efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #85 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is what is needed from a city hotel near the transport links. Well situated from our personal viewpoint - Fenchurch Street main rail line and Tower Hill tubes both a few minutes away. We were there for an overnight London leisure visit - restaurant, museum and show, and it suited us. The £99 deal without breakfast was as good as we could find for the date we needed, but annoyingly better deals came up after we had booked, and we normally get a breakfast elsewhere at that price.
The breakfast cost was nearly £20 each, so we didn't bother and just around the corner there are quite a few decent eateries [although this time we were unlucky as our choice of going to the Weatherspoons breakfast was a great disappointment!]

Clean smart modern and efficient. We were charmed more with the Apex in Edinburgh, but it did the job.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,868)
There are newer reviews for Apex City of London Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,785 - 1,791 of 3,868 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is modern and very stylish, it is situated a short distance from the Tower of London and other local attractions. We checked in early and were really impressed at Reception when the lovely Florence immediately found us an upgraded room. Our room was spacious, very clean and well equipped with a large balcony. All staff were very helpful and courteous. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Request a room upgrade at the time of booking.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 5th to 8th April on a room only basis. The staff are extremely helpful. They all welcomed you even in the lift! The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day. the hotel is perfectly positioned for getting around London with Tower Hill underground 2 minutes walk. Well done and thank you for making our break do enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen1Scottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked this hotel as a Travelzoo deal ... what a great find (£99 for a superior room with a bottle of prosecco on arrival). The hotel was a great location, just around the corner from Tower Bridge and the Tower hill tube station.
The room was spacious with a king size bed and living area and we enjoyed the luxury of the Bath robe, slippers and Elemis toiletries.
The bar was open late and typical London prices.
The complimentary snacks and water were also appreciated.
Staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. I am allergic to feathers and they changed the quilt and pillows straight away.
12 o clock check out time was great for a nice lie in after a night on the town!
I'd recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A first visit to London for myself, and my wifes 40th birthday break, we both found the entire trip amazing and will, without doubt be going back, (not just to London but to the Apex)
From the moment we arrived we were treated wonderfully and that continued for our stay. Continental breakfast was great, smoked salmon, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cakes, fresh bread, and lots more.
A two night stay with Breakfast for under £150, 2 minutes walk from tower hill tube and 5 minutes walk from the tower of London and Tower Bridge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Loved this hotel.Great position close to the Tower of London and Katherines Wharf for dining.Hotel felt more peaceful then normal London hotels.It is very modern throughout.Standard bedrooms are small but have all you need,are very clean and modern.The twin beds seem a small size but were comfy with super pillow.Breakfast was continental but was one of the better ones I have ever had with plenty of choice and very fresh.Nice comfy chairs in the lounge areas.Bar area was also modern and a pleasant peaceful place to enjoy a cocktail which was very expensive.Would have liked more but at £11plus each we made it last.Will stay here again if the price is right as think driving here would not be a good option due to the position so would be tied up with train travel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulineclifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have stayed here now on six occasions. The Apex never lets us down.

It's comfortable, in a location which we love and the service is great.

On a visit to London last year we decided to splurge and treat ourselves to the top hotel on TripAdvisor - Hotel 41. We spent the entire trip wishing that we'd stayed at The Apex. I think that must say it all!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear MumC1977

Thank you so much for your kind and positive review following your recent stay with us. I appreciate the time taken to review this visit and your previous two visits.

I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Robert Flinter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#57 of 1,072 in London
3,571 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,072 in London
1,968 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,072 in London
3,770 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#108 of 1,072 in London
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $160 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London
Apex City Of London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing