We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #85 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a one night stay at this hotel after Christmas with my girlfriend.
We were up graded to a deluxe room on a Secret Escapes booking.
Very happy with 3rd floor room. Stylish bathroom, decent toiletries.
Mini bar with complimentary soft drinks and snacks. There was also an
outside terrace, but we couldn't use this due to the rubbish weather.
The breakfast was good and the staff were all very pleasant.
The location ia.s great, very close to Tower hill tube and within walking distance
of Spitafields area We would recommend this hotel and we are coming back in a
couple of weeks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,868)
There are newer reviews for Apex City of London Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,032 - 2,038 of 3,868 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on NYE paid £200 not bad for a hotel in London. Close to Tower Hill tube found it a little difficult to find though. Very modern & stylish. Large Deluxe room huge TV, everything you need in the room hairdryer, kettle etc. Nice large bath, room for two! Had cocktails in the bar, used £10 voucher which we received because we booked direct with the hotel. Very close to Tower Bridge & touristy attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Was looking forward to stay as it was me and my partners 10th anniversary together and thought we would book a stay to celebrate. We arrived early to checkin as we had a matinee show to watch. We were checked in and assigned a basement room. Having stayed here before I can tell you these rooms are quite poor and have little or no light. So we asked for a room with a bit more light. We were offered a room by the lift on the 6th floor. The room had a tiny side window and was quite dark but noisy.
The bed as usual was very comfortable as was the elemis products but the hotel does show a little wear and tear as being the oldest of the apex properties in London and its starting to show..
We had breakfast the next morning and it was adequate. The service was average at best throughout our stay not how I remembered Apex hotels. Would think twice about booking again with this property might perhaps try the hilton/grange next door.

Room Tip: Do not accept a basement room these are poor value and have little or no light.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conorq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Apex City is a short walk away from the Tower of London and close to Tower Hill tube station. The hotel has a very smart lobby and entrance and the staff welcome was excellent. They were very efficient, smiley and helpful. We booked a normal double bedroom. The room was fantastic with a small lounge area, big queen size bed and a lovely bathroom with separate shower and bath.

I loved the shelves with ornaments and pictures on the wall which gave the room a very homely feel. The quality of the fixtures and fittings were very high and modern. The bathroom was lovely with Elemis toiletries and there was plenty of cupboard space and draws. So a great place to stay in London if you are planning a longer trip. The only one aspect of the room that was not great was he window and view. The window was towards the rear of he room and the view was of the back of the hotel and the roof. So it was not great. But saying hat I was only here or one night so it didn't bother me and also I was kind of glad because it was quiet. But if I was staying longer I would upgrade a room to one with a better view.

I didn't dine in the restaurant so I can't comment on the quality of the food or he service but it looked very nice.

Overall, a great quality 4 star hotel with fantastic rooms, great service, good location and great value.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank Writetomab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I visited this hotel in August 2012 - the last holiday I shared with my wonderful Mum before she unexpectedly died. How glad I am that the hotel lived up to my expectations of an Apex. The location was first class - close to Tower Hill tube (about five minutes walk) and of course close to the Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Tower Pier (for river boats up and down the River Thames) etc. We took the boat to Greenwich - a journey of only about 25 minutes.
It is very much a business type of hotel, but clean and comfortable with quality accommodation. It was a very quiet location as much of the neighbouring property is offices. Our room had a pleasant seating area with settee around the TV in addition to the twin beds. The bathroom had a large bath in addition to a large power shower.
As this was a trip to celebrate my Mum's Birthday, the hotel had thoughtfully put a card and a personalised box of chocolates in the room.
We didn't eat in the hotel, but discovered a very good Pizza Express around the corner with views over towards the Shard. For breakfast, we visited 'The Kitchen by the Tower' which served a first class and very reasonable English breakfast. It has indoor and outdoor seating areas and meals are cooked to order. A very handy stopping off place on the way to the tube.
All the staff that we came into contact with at the Apex were helpful and very friendly.
A good hotel for business or holiday purposes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fusssybritches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Booked this hotel after reading numerous reviews and I wasn't disappointed. Excellent location close to London Bridge and the Tower of London. The Tube and Train Stations are also within walking distance. There are also several Bars/Restaurants nearby which is great after a long day sightseeing. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone who is thinking about staying in London without hesitation.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a sightseeing weekend. The hotel was lovely, with an upgrade to a superior room which had a balcony and a bath and shower that easily accommodated two! The staff were lovely and friendly. Was a perfect base for all the sights we had to see and a comfy bed to round the day off.... Not to mention the Christmas duck!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#58 of 1,072 in London
3,571 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#46 of 1,072 in London
1,968 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,072 in London
3,771 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#108 of 1,072 in London
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $160 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London
Apex City Of London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing