We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #77 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location and a lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked this hotel with Great Escapes and for the price we paid it was great value.
It was friendly, clean and spacious. The decor was to a high standard also.
The location was great for the Olympics. From Saturday lunchtime and all day Sunday you can park free on the yellow line outside the hotel.
I had not come across Apex Hotels before but will look for them in future. Really could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,433
    1,050
    164
    36
    18
See reviews for
521
1,933
166
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Being so close to the Tower of London housing the crown jewels, this hotel is a real gem too. The location is fantastic, being only a 5 minute walk from Tower Hill tube station. We stayed over the final weekend of the Olympics and managed to bag a great deal as part of the hotel chain's regular flash sales. The hotel itself was fabulous. The King size room included a separate seating area and large bath and walk in shower. The king size bed was very comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. I also liked the complimentary Jelly Beans! All staff were very friendly and welcoming and the Guest Services Manager, Fabian, was very helpful allowing us to check in to an upgraded room well before the published check in time. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzyheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel made our stay extra special in London during the Olympics, which we were lucky enough to have tickets for! We also managed to get a great deal on Secret Escapes for this hotel which made it even better!
We arrived before the recommended check in time and were welcomed by a lovely lady on reception who quickly and efficiently checked us in and told us that despite being early our room was ready.
The room was amazing! We expected the equivalent of the room we had at the Edinburgh Apex City Hotel which was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The room we got here was both exceptionally clean and comfortable but had the added bonus of a balcony with stunning views over the City and spectacular views of Tower Bridge!! Great bed which was really comfortable, bathroom was a good size for a London hotel with a big walk in shower and separate bath. Elemis toiletries were a nice touch and it was nice that they were of good quality.Air conditioning was good and we used it as the room was quite stuffy but the Air con sorted this in no time.
Location was second to none. We liked that it was tucked away and therefore had a sense of calm but you were only two minutes walk from a good tube station and one of Londons biggest tourist spots, Tower Bridge.
The food was delicious and we had room service. The food was piping hot and the members of staff who took our order and delivered the food up to our room were courteous and extremely efficient! The food itself was of reasonable price and of high quality. We had everything we needed on our tray and we really enjoyed our food.
The wifi was free and was a good speedy service. Nice hospitality tray in the room with tea (good selection English breakfast and a few different fruit teas) and coffee making facilities, snacks and bottled water. We also had a fridge, safe and plasma tv, all of which were easy to use and we had no problems with.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough it was fantastic! I will always check this hotel when visiting London in future. As a chain they have also created a brilliant impression on me and I wouldn't hesitate to book into any of their hotels.
As we were going to the olympics my only wish was that we had had more time in the room and hotel as it was so lovely! Also I am hoping that Apex open more hotels in different locations as i'd stay there without hesitation.
Thank you for making our Olympic experience perfect! We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on level 7 have balconies with stunning views over the City and Tower Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k10044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

With tickets for the Olympics, we were looking for a hotel close to a DLR station to make our journey to/from the park as pleasant as possible. We booked this on Secret Escapes and were amazed at the location and quality (99 pounds a night as a secret hotel versus the 404 pounds on their website). A stone's throw from the Tower of London and Tower Bridge yet quiet enough to believe you were in the country. Staff could not have done enough for us when we arrived, tired and drained from a day at the Olympic park/evening of athletics. Rooms are kingsize as standard so they're even better value for money. Our room had a bath almost big enough to swim in! We're hoping to visit Edinburgh soon and try their hotel there. Our only gripe was the 20 pounds per person breakfast charge (that's cities for you...), but we found an alternative within 5 minutes' walk (The Kitchen).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tintinrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I booked this hotel through Secret Escapes, so can not comment on the standard tariff, but I got a kingsize room, during the Olympics for £99!

Location
The hotel is based a few moments walk from Tower Bridge. It is therefore perfect for the south bank, borough market, St Pauls, Tate Modern etc. It is right next to a tube for getting further afield.

Service
The service could not be faulted, however I didn't really need to do anything to stretch them so I can't comment on what they would be like dealing with issues, but my experience was good.

Room
The kingsize room was stunning. Huge TV, beautiful decor, enormous shower, separate bath. Really could not fault it. A real bargain.

This hotel should be perfect for all types of traveller from solos to business. It's in a quiet location, and easy to get about. I can see no reason whatsoever to not visit this hotel. A very pleasurable experience.

Would not hesitate to return if another special offer was on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v28kab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We got an excellent rate at the Apex (£109), staying for 2 nights during the Olympics and chose the hotel as it was fairly centrally located, whilst not too far from the Olympic Park. We arrived early (10am) but were pleased to be able to check in. The room was pleasant with all the facilities you would expect, including a free mini bar with soft drinks which made a welcome change in London! If I had a minor criticism of the room, it would be that it was quite dark, but it was at the back of the hotel and as we didn't really spend much time in there it wasn't a problem. Tower Hill underground was only a 5 minute walk, as was the Tower of London. We were pleased to see a Pret a Manger a few doors down as well which was handy for breakfast. Overall a pleasant stay and I would stay there again if I needed to be in that part of London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front, as the rooms at the back are quite dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is very well located in a leafy street around the corner from Tower Hill Station. As it's in the city it is quiet at weekends but due to the proximity of the Tower of London there are loads of bars and restaurants within walking distance. We were spoilt for choice and nearby St Katherine's Dock is great.
We chose this hotel because we had such a good experience at the Apex London Wall hotel. Overall, I think I enjoyed my experience here a little more because it is better situated. It is true that some furniture and decor is a little tired and I found some staff had english language issues but it is still a first rate experience. We stayed in a deluxe room which was spacious and well furnished. All the extra touches you'd expect and a super comfy bed. We also bagged an outdoor terrace but that's not standard!
We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel and both were excellent. The waiting staff were efficient and friendly and made us feel so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.
A lot of hoteliers could learn a thing or two about managing customer expectations. I cannot recommend this hotel group enough. I will be back to one of these city based hotels whenever in London.

Room Tip: Rooms 320 and 321 have an outdoor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#48 of 1,067 in London
1,871 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,394 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#118 of 1,067 in London
1,302 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#242 of 1,067 in London
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Property: Apex City of London Hotel
Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#72 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London
Apex City Of London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing