We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the smell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel
Ranked #144 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2007

The breakfast was good, the shower was excellent and the bed was comfy. But we had to put up with the smell of nicotine from what was supposed to be a N/S room. The first one we tried was bad but on asking for another room, the second one was even worse. We were so tired after 2 days travelling that we could not be bothered to move again, so opened the window and hoped for the best. Luckily we were there for one night only. We would not go there again, although as i said, lots of other things were good.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 312wync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,948 - 3,954 of 4,417 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2007

My 13 year old daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights in August. We had a twin room on the 1st floor. Unfortunately i did not realize until we entered the room that some of their rooms are interior rooms (there is a window that does not open which looks out into the interior hotel lobby). I was very tired by the time we got into our room (about 4om that afternoon) after a long flight, and even though I had asked for early check in (we arrived at 1pm at the hotel) they said they had no rooms available. So decided to just make do.

The problem with an interior room is quite frankly the air conditioing is non existent, and extremely noisey to boot. Constant on and off running at a very noisey level. It was cool in London, but the interior room was very hot at all times. With a window that could have been opened it would have been fine with no air, But we had no window to the outside.

Shower was good although bathtub was a little difficult to get in and out of due to height. But bathroom door had to be kept closed or steam could set off fire alarms!! Made for a very hot steamy room, with no fan.

Soap was in the form of wall dispensers.

Room very very small. I had expected small room (I have been to London many times) but be aware we could not put our luggage lying down on the floor (not enough space between wall and beds) and even standing upright, with the luggage on the floor you could only just squeeze by.

Area- very handy to underground, various buses, and come Nov/07 when the Eurostar moves to St. Pancreas (just next door to Kings Cross), location will be amaazing. Area itself a little seedy still, but there is a Starbucks, McD's. KFC, Pret a manger, and nice italian restaurant just across the road.

Hotel restaurant- had the breakfast once- expensive but if you have a child under 15 with you they eat free, so not bad. Big buffet style breakfast with some hot food and fair range of cold choices. You can do better but if you want this kind of breakfast and you have children with you it is not a bad deal.
We ate dinner twice in their restuarnt as my daughter liked their pasta, and it was a great deal (I think 3 pounds and I believe that included a dessert). Adult meals run around 8 to 12 pounds but that would be with a coupld of courses. Food Ok (not great but good enough). Service of the meal was fast but always slow getting bill.

I would stay here again given the cheap price (Ithink it was 89 pounds/night) and location, BUT GET AN EXTERIOR ROOM.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank momtoemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

myself,my husband and our two boys aged 8 and 13 stayed at the premier travel inn kings cross last week for 2 nights. we travel from belfast international airport to stansted then on by train to tottenham hale to the tube which took us straight to kings cross.the hotel is immediately round the corner from the tube station so it could not have been more conveniently situated .
when we arrived at the hotel we were immediately impressed by the light and airy feel of the place.the reception staff were fantastic,they made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful and courteous.they were lovely with the children and they were given sweets and a kids activity pack,so they were well pleased by that!
our room was very nice,it was a good size for the 4 of us. a massive bed for the adults and 2 smaller beds for the kids although we could all have been comfortable in the 1 big bed!
the bathroom was a good size too,with everything you could need.
we think probably the best thing about the hotel might be the breakfasts although everything was great so its hard to decide!
breakfast was great value at £7.50 per adult with kids eating free and what a breakfast it was! there was every breakfast item under the sun and then some and all delicious and very well presented.eat as much as you like and we did!
when we were leaving to come home again we had a very positive experience. our luggage was kept for us in a locked room so we could enjoy our last day in london.the only very slight criticism would be that on our last day we got a bit wet with the heavy rain that day and we could have done with somewhere to open our cases and change into some dry clothes.the staff of couse tried to help by giving us a key for the toilet but there was no room to open the cases to look for clothes.
so all in all we had a great experience staying at this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k&kLisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

My family (self, wife and two children) stayed in London for three nights as part of a longer tour of Europe. We selected the Premier Travel Inn - King's Cross St. Pancras largely based on the price and the great reviews from TripAdvisor and other sites. Being from the US, I was not familiar with the Premier Travel Inn chain, but the hotel was as advertised - clean and comfortable, with no frills. The front desk staff was exceptional, and the location was very convenient if not fashionable (right across from King's Cross station). No safety concerns about the location, though - even though we came back to the hotel fairly late each night, we never felt unsafe. The only negative was the breakfast - green eggs, undercooked sausages, and a lousy variety of other items - not a bargain for the 15 pounds they charged each adult (kids ate free). Find breakfast somewhere else - but if you're traveling with a family and don't plan on spending a lot of time in the hotel (and why would you spend time in the hotel if you're in London?), I'd recommend staying at the Premier Travel Inn King's Cross.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bullrunner40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife, two boys and in-laws. Hotel was clean with very friendly staff and a great location for easy access to London. Also had a free room for holding our luggage for us to pick up later on our last day. The kids stayed free and we purchased the breakfast for £7.50 each per day which is a bit pricey but the boys ate free, and the food and selection was great. We asked for an extra pillow which was given to us with no problems. We had a quite nights sleep in room 205. The only thing that I could pick up on was some rust on the shower rail. The bar was reasonably priced with Boddingtons at £2.71 a pint. I will definetly use this hotel again if I go back to London.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Stayed in this hotel as part of a large family group including three small children, parents and grandparents. Was pleasantly surprised by the spacious and clean rooms which were of a very good standard.
The hotel is located next door to the King's Cross station which means it's very convenient for getting around London, but there is not much to see or do in the immediate surroundings.
As a result of the lack of restaurants within walking distance we had several meals at the hotel, both in the restaurant and in the pub. Both were very nice, great quality food and service and good value for money!

Overall this is a very good place to stay for anyone travelling to London, excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank no7helena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Having stayed in other Travel Inns across the Country and reading some excellent reviews on this site we decided to go for this hotel. What a excellent decision!!! Imagine our joy when we walked out of Kings Cross Rail Station, laiden with our luggage to find that the hotel was literally 2/3 minutes walk up the road. No awkward tackling of turnstiles on the tube or paying ridiculous taxi fares to our hotel. Quick walk and we were there! Even more pleased to find that the staff on Reception were very friendly, allowed us to book in early (1pm) and even gave us a double bedroom despite the fact that the operator we booked through had in fact reserved a twin room for my husband and I.

Hotel was spotless. Room very new and clean, fresh towels every day and refills of tea/coffee every day.

Location was excellent for travelling around London. Tube station on the doorstep with easy access to most main lines. Theatreland and main shopping areas only a couple of stops on the tube. Note: One journey is £4 so it's best to purchase a day pass which works out at only £5.10 if you remain within Zone 1 and 2 and intend travelling after 9.30 a.m. on weekdays and all day Saturday/Sunday. This ticket also allows you to travel on the buses which is an excellent advantage if, like us, you leave a packed venue like 'Lords Cricket Ground' and have the option of queing with the thousands just to get into the closest tube station or hopping on a bus and missing the crowds. In our case we only stayed on the bus for a couple of minutes, alighted at the next tube station and took a different line back to our Hotel. That's another added bonus of this hotel, there are a number of different lines running through Kings Cross, so if you know one of them's busy you can take another line.

We didn't bother with breakfast but we did hear that if you're the 'full breakfast' type of person it was very good value for money. Instead we choose to pick up fruit from the 'Tesco Express' which is located at the end of the street . Leave the side door via the bar area, turn left, walk about 100 metres and you'll be there. Great for picking up a bottle of wine too, if you decide not to use the hotel bar!!

We, however, did choose to use the bar on all 3 nights of our stay as the prices were quite reasonable, for London anyway. Food was average but in fairness you don't expect Michelin star in a Travel Inn. You get what you pay for! If you do want to eat on a budget or have children staying with you there is a McDonalds and a KFC literally within 2/3 minutes walk from the Hotel.

This hotel also offers a 'leave luggage service' after checkout which is great news for anyone who wants to make the most of their stay in the capital and is returning home via rail. All in all it was an excellent stay, so much so that I've just booked to go back for another weekend in November.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susie028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#139 of 1,076 in London
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#285 of 1,076 in London
1,767 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel

Address: 26-30 York Way | Kings Cross, London N1 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in London
#108 Romantic Hotel in London
#179 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $125 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 100 meters from King's Cross and St Pancras Mainline Stations and Underground with easy access to all central attractions, restaurants and shopping centres. We offer 276 en-suite bedrooms, restaurant and bar, pub, Costa coffee, meeting rooms and express check-in with 24-hour reception and free luggage storage. Kids under 16 stay and eat breakfast for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London King`s Cross St Pancras Hotel London
Premier Inn Kings Cross
Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing