We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel for Families - close to the tube and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel
Ranked #162 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southwest Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for Families - close to the tube and food”
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Stayed here two nights at the end of June with hubby and two children, 12 and 14. So easy to get to from the Kings Cross Station and the area was just fine for walking around with the kids. Food is only one block away, a McDonalds and a KFC, a Chinese noodle place, and a Fish and Chips shop. Hotel breakfast was convenient but not cheap. A wide variety of food was available at breakfast, but we didn't care for the sausage at all. Porridge was good. For dinner, since KFC has no where to sit and eat, we asked if we could eat outside the restaurant on their overflow tables and surprisingly the answer was yes!! SO much better to eat there than in our room - we were very pleased. We could spread out and talk without interfering with incoming guests or restaurant patrons.

The hotel is clean, and reception was extremely helpful with advice.

The Budget Rental Car location, even though it says "Kings Cross" Pentonville Road is a VERY long walk from the hotel. I regretted not taking the tube back to the airport and renting from there instead. Learning to drive in London was crazy.

We booked this stay at the hotel website on their web special - pre-buy package for stay and breakfast. No regrets about the hotel at all.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flutist1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,013
    1,445
    333
    117
    67
See reviews for
1,408
1,212
225
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

My husband, myself and our 2 daughters (14&10) stayed here for 1 night on 13th Aug and what a fantastic place it is!!

The location was ideal (2 mins away from Kings cross). Didnt see anything seedy as mentioned in a previous review even at 10.30pm at night.

The staff were all friendly and efficient...the room was very comfortable & spotless with a huge bed. The girls had camp beds with a proper matress on them..it was a bit of a squeeze to get round the bed but this really wasnt an issue with us. ..bathroom looked brand new...lovely hot power shower.

The breakfast was amazing...absolutely everything you could possibly want.....fruit salad was gorgeous and the hot buffet was regularly topped up. YUM (excellent value as all 4 of us ate for £15!!!

There is a lovely bar and restaurant at the hotel with comfy settees..this was ideal for us to go back to in the evening after the show and have a nice glass of wine or two!!!!
we will definately use thishotel again and would reccomend it to everyone.
WELL DONE PREMIER TRAVEL INN!!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisamc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

My husband and I and our two children, aged 8 and 12, stayed four nights in this hotel in July, 2007. We were looking for a hotel to use as a base for our London site-seeing vacation. We didn't care about swimming pools or work-out rooms. We intended to leave the hotel in the morning and return early evening and didn't want to pay a lot of money. This hotel turned out to be perfect for us.

The room was not huge, but was big enough for all four of us and our large suitcases. Several built-in storage shelves helped a lot. We reserved a "family room" and when we arrived, two single beds were made up and placed on either side of the king-sized bed. My kids thought they were perfectly comfortable - not sleeper sofas or fold-out cots. The room was very clean, the furniture was modern, the bathroom had a full-sized tub with shower and very modern plumbing, and there was air conditioning. The neighborhood was not "charming", but we didn't care as long as it was clean, safe, and near transportation.

We added two adult full breakfasts to our room rate and our kids ate free. It was a nice buffet with the standard bacon, sausage (regular and veggie), scrambled and fried eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans plus oatmeal, breads, croissants, muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereals, juices, tea, coffee, etc. Everything was hot and plentiful and the dining room was bright, clean, and cheerful. However, if you didn't want to spend the 15GBP for the family, there is a brand new McDonald's on the corner plus a Starbucks and Tesco grocery store all on the same block in addition to the fast-food places in the train/tube station nearby.

The hotel was very close to trains and the Tube. We came in from Gatwick on the train into the Thameslink station which was about a block and a half away from the hotel (come out of the station and turn left on Pentonville Rd. towards York Way). It wasn't a bad walk dragging all of our rolling suitcases but you will have to carry your bags up a few short flights of stairs since there's no elevator. The King's Cross/St. Pancras Tube (Northern Line) and rail (National Rail) station are even closer to the hotel, just half a block on the other side of York Way (come out of the station onto Euston Road, take a left, then another left on York Way). There was a Cornish Pasty shop in this station plus several other food stalls. We often grabbed a bite of something to take back to the hotel for dinner after coming in from central London on the Tube.

The staff were all very pleasant and we met the manager standing in the lobby chatting with the guests to make sure everything was going well. We arrived early on the first day and they happily stored our bags. When we check out early the last day, they did the same.

We would absolutely stay in this hotel again when visiting London. I heard that the London County Hall Premier Travel Inn near the London Eye is the company's flagship hotel and was also extremely nice, but was full when making our reservations. We ended up staying in Premier Travel Inns several other times during our vacation since there are so many of them located across the country and while they varied in price and the availability of A/C, we found them all to be clean, cheap places with nice enough breakfasts. We preferred to spend our money on nice restaurants, site seeing and souvenirs!

  • Liked — Cheap, clean, comfortable bed, plenty of room, quiet, great breakfast, very close to trains/tube.
  • Disliked — Not a resort hotel, no nice views, but still great value.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TXNM_Urbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

My husband, 2 children and myself stayed here for one night on our return from holiday. Check in was swift and our room was large and comfortable. The location of the hotel is great for public transport. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. We would definitely choose this hotel again when we visit London.

  • Liked — The comfortable beds and breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunbirdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

I stayed at the Premier Travel Inn @ Kings Cross with my family (2 adults, 2 kids) for 6 nights in July 2007.

First, I have to commend the hotel staff for being genuinely friendly and helpful, and they made our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

The room was modern, spacious (for London) and clean. There's free tea and coffee in the room with an electric kettle.

Not many hotels in London offer family room; Premier Travel Inn is one of the few that do and the rate was reasonable (for London).

We love the breakfast - buffet style with plenty of food and variety. The thick toast and the fresh fruit salad were the best! Although breakfast cost GBP7.50 per person, kids eat free so it was quite good value for money for us.

We got to the hotel by the Underground from Heathrow - Piccadilly Line (Kings Cross/St Pancras). The journey was about 50 minutes but relatively hassle free and cheap (for London) - GBP 4 for each adult and the kids ride free.

For directions to the hotel from the Underground station: leave by the Kings Cross/St Pancras exit (not the Thameslink exit). Follow the crowd and go out of the station. At the exit, you will be looking at Euston Road. Turn left and walk in the direction of the small WH Smith bookstore and pass it. You will soon come to a 5-way junction. Make a left at this junction into York Way. The hotel is about 20m on your right along York Way - you will see a large purple Premier Travel Inn banner on the side of the building.

There's a supermarket around the corner - turn left when you exit the hotel and then turn left into Caledonia Street. A Tesco supermarket is at the end of Caledonia Street. You could pack some ready-to-eat sandwiches and drinks as meals could be expensive in London.

Kings Cross has been described by some travel guide books as "seedy". However, we didn't encounter any problem in the Kings Cross Underground station as well as the area leading to the hotel - even after hours. Frankly, I felt more unsafe in Karlsplatz U-bahn station in Vienna than at Kings Cross.

We'll definitely return to Premier Travel Inn when we visit London again.

  • Liked — Very friendly staff and good service, proximity to Underground station
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank doofygilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

As always Travel Inn provided everything we needed for a long weekend in London. The room and bathroom were spotless, the beds were comfortable and the location was ideal. We never really use an hotel for anything other than sleeping and washing so it was more than adequate and it would be hard to get better value for a family of four in London.

There was no road noise audible from our room, but even if there had been it wouldn't have bothered any of us. I've never understood why people who stay in city hotels on busy roads complain about noise.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mspolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed in this PTI on a Thurs/Fri evening while in London to see a gig in Camden. I chose this hotel for it's location, as it is literally across the road from the train/tube station, which makes it easy to get about. (As a footnote - I was tipped by a regular traveller to get an Oyster card which works as a pay as you go travel pass - it is scanned at the tube barriers when you start and end your journey and calculates the cost to deduct from your account - highly recommend you pick up a leaflet when you are at any station - cheaper way to travel!) The reception to the hotel is immaculate and inside there is both a Costa Coffee and the hotel bar/restaurant. Check-in was smooth and friendly and we were given a room on 2nd floor overlooking a courtyard, which was very quiet. The room was again immaculate and the bed was king size which was lovely and comfy. Much needed air con in the room! Bathroom - power shower! We ate in the restaurant for dinner - they do a great 2 courses for a tenner deal and the food was plentiful and typical of pub-grub fayre in clean and 'trendy' surroundings, menu extremely reasonably priced as is £12 for a bottle of Linndeman's red wine (trust me - I know my wine prices!!) We sat on a small terrace attached to the bar in the sunshine. There wasn't a thing I could complain about during my two night stay and would honestly stay here again the next time I visit London without a doubt. The PTI surpasses the old saying you get what you pay for, here you get a bit more than that on top. Consider London prices - this is excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Massive bed, friendliness of staff, value for money!
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything to be 100% honest!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Banksie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,088 in London
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#246 of 1,088 in London
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel
Address: 26-30 York Way | Kings Cross, London N1 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in London
#108 Romantic Hotel in London
#179 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 100 meters from King's Cross and St Pancras Mainline Stations and Underground with easy access to all central attractions, restaurants and shopping centres. We offer 276 en-suite bedrooms, restaurant and bar, pub, Costa coffee, meeting rooms and express check-in with 24-hour reception and free luggage storage. Kids under 16 stay and eat breakfast for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Premier Inn, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London King`s Cross St Pancras Hotel London
Premier Inn Kings Cross
Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing