We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Usual awful Premier Inn duvets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel
Ranked #158 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southern England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Usual awful Premier Inn duvets”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Needing a place to stay before an early start on Eurostar, this Premier Inn served it’s purpose well. So here is our experience:

On entering reception we were met by a very helpful staff member who helped us navigate the “self check-in”. I found this a mite pointless, as he might as well have used his time checking us in, in the normal way.

Only two of the three lifts appeared to be working and were very slow to respond. On eventually getting to the third floor, we discovered that the card delivered by the “self check-in” terminal had not been blessed with a code, necessitating a return, by the very slow to respond lifts, to reception, to rectify the problem. With the very helpful lady receptionist admitting that the terminal often presents cards unblessed. All very efficient I’m sure. God help us when the machines are left without their minders.

Once able to gain access to the room, we found a typical Premier Inn layout. The very large bed with the usual cheap, poor quality Premier Inn, duvet. (I wonder if the people responsible for sourcing these dreadful excuses for a duvet, have ever tried spending the night under one of these awful things). The room itself was all very clean, and nice and quiet apart from the Air Conditioning, which was very slow to react to temperature change commands and with the added, more frustrating problem, that it would not switch off at all. This mean’t that we had to endure the constant noise of the AC throughout the night.

A bite to eat in the ground floor restaurant, saw us enjoying a house Cobb salad and fish and chips. Very nicely prepared and presented, it tasted very nice. Sadly, the dressing on the salad triggered an allergic reaction to my wife, necessitating the taking of an anti-histamine tablet to stop a rather nasty outbreak of large irritating weal's.

Breakfast was much nicer than the Premier Inn breakfasts of the past. With a good range food choices it was almost as good as the Hilton breakfasts of the past.

So after a quick check-out and a short walk, off to catch the train...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,061
    1,472
    338
    117
    68
See reviews for
1,437
1,238
229
573
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent value, no hassle and predictable great service. A brief stopover before setting off on trip abroad via Eurostar. Close to station, quite considering location, room layout perfect for family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here on business as it is very convenient for Kings Cross Tube and the connections I needed on this trip. Possibly the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on, very hard - but then I suppose some people prefer a hard mattress. Breakfast was good, Breakfast staff were friendly at breakfast. Foyer staff not as pleasant - not rude as such but not welcoming either, felt they were all a bit non plussed really. Restaurant menu looks very appetising but unfortunately the food didn't live up to the menu. Very disappointing, no real flavour to anything, all very dry and uninspiring. Only ate there once - that was once enough. Hotel needs a bit of a lick of paint. Would I stay again? really not sure - the jury remains out on that one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaJ193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Booked here for the convenience - we had to be in London early in the morning for business, so we took the train to St Pancras the night before. We have a 4 yr old and an infant. Check-in was effortless, staff was wonderful, and the family room we booked was great - a king bed, a twin for the older one and a baby travel cot, all set up and ready to go. The room was spotless and the baby's cot looked brand new, quite a pleasant change from other hotels we've experienced. Room 229 was nice and quiet - no street noise at all, and very little hall traffic from other guests. Nice experience in the restaurant, friendly staff. Easy few minute's walk back to the train station. Perfect for being in London, near the train/Tube and with kids. We won't bother looking elsewhere next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txgirlinbda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields tyne and wear england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed for one night at the premier in on entering the building for the first time it looked fantastic, very clean and a lot of staff to meet and greet me, very well mannered and willing to give you all the attention and help required. I was shown the booking in arrangements, then the staff explained where to go and where everything was. on entering my room I found it to be very large and everything you needed was provided, I then went to the bar which again the staff were courteous, the prices were reasonable and the bar was the only place you could use cash, you need a credit card as the phone in your room had to be paid be card along with everything else. the hotel was quite and they offered you your money back if you were disturbed by noise during the night. the food was very good with a very good choice. this was a very good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times because its so close to Kings Cross which is less than a 5 minute walk , so its ideal . We always go back because the rooms are so spacious and spotlessly clean . We had our evening meal in the bar which was quite nice for the price and we enjoyed the banter with the lovely bar staff (Mon 6th May) really nice atmosphere so we stayed for a couple of drinks . We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kir1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. Hotel is a short 2 minute walk from Kings cross tube station which makes it very accessible for sightseeing around London. Also similar walking distance from St Pancras international train station, so if your next destination is Paris or Brussels, then this hotel is in the perfect location. The staff are very friendly, rooms clean and hotel breakfast is a good spread. For the price paid (London is very expensive) this hotel is great value. A no frills style of accommodation, wifi is extra and there is limited bathroom amenities given. View of a wall. Room size is also very generous. Great variety of TV channels. Very efficiently run but also warm hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgia4868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#117 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#250 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel
Address: 26-30 York Way | Kings Cross, London N1 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in London
#108 Romantic Hotel in London
#179 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 100 meters from King's Cross and St Pancras Mainline Stations and Underground with easy access to all central attractions, restaurants and shopping centres. We offer 276 en-suite bedrooms, restaurant and bar, pub, Costa coffee, meeting rooms and express check-in with 24-hour reception and free luggage storage. Kids under 16 stay and eat breakfast for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Premier Inn, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London King`s Cross St Pancras Hotel London
Premier Inn Kings Cross
Premier Inn London Kings Cross Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing