We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Thoroughly unpleasant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chrysos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chrysos Hotel
Ranked #648 of 1,070 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thoroughly unpleasant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

What an awful hotel. I stayed there at a cost of £165 for one night. I selected a double room when I booked but was provided with a triple single room. The room was dirty, there was rubbish left of the bedside from the previous occupant, the tea making facilities were dirty too. As a result I wasn't sure if the beds and towels were clean. I got there late so there was no choice but to stay, had I been a little earlier I'd have walked out and booked in elsewhere. Avoid.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear James G,

Thank you for your review.

I was quite disheartened to read about your experience. I have done some investigation, and i am afraid the company you used to book you into the hotel booked a triple room and not a double as you state. This is out of our control as room selections are left to the Booker to decide.

I am also concerned about your issues with the cleaning as all rooms are checked by a floor supervisor and housekeeper before a new check in. The state you are claiming the room was in would mean it was not cleaned and further missed by two senior employees of the hotel. Although this would be a great error by the hotel, i would be interested to see if you could provide me with any proof or further information so that we may investigate this further. Contact details for the hotel management may be found via your booking agent.

Kind regards,

Chrysos Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    120
    124
    58
    30
See reviews for
124
127
37
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed in Chrysos with a friend and will surely return there. Location was excellent, it was very close to Paddington Station and also Lancaster Gate Tube station. There were many nice restaurants and pubs nearby. Breakfast was nice, so were the room, the bed was very comfortable and it was nice and warm in our room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Apila,

Thank you for your review and choosing The Chrysos Hotel for your stay.

We appreciate your kind and positive words for our service and accommodation. We hope to see you back with us very soon.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Hotel located perfectly in central London. Rooms are clean and basic with everything you need - tea, coffee, wifi etc. comfortable beds! staff are friendly and always on hand to help (24 hour reception). Go for the full English breakfast! Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevoM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear StevoM,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to read we provided an excellent service to you, and your scores really make the hotel staff feel like they are good at what they do.

We appreciate it a lot and hope to see you back with us very soon.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife & I stayed overnight after seeing a show in the west end, I was looking for a Hotel in central London where I could stay with minimum travel from the show & we were extremely pleased with the whole package. We were able to check in with ease & the receptionist also arranged a taxi for us on the request time, the room was a good size & the shower was great. The bed was very comfortable & clean as was the rest of the hotel, our breakfast was excellent & arrived quickly which did take me by surprise but in a good way! I can recommend this hotel as it is excellent value for money with great customer service. My wife & I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with your kind and positive words. We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that you will return.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in late January.The hotel is located in a nice quiet area very close to Paddinghton station which is a big advantage.The room was fair and clean.The problem was with the heating as it was never open and the noise from the other rooms.
Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review & we are happy your stay was pleasant. Please note should you stay with us again that the heating is controlled by yourselves using the thermostat in the room. Our staff will be more than happy to show you.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at room 32 ,on the third floor.The room was average , a bit old ,didnt had hairdryer ,breakfast could have more variety.Very nice location ,close to paddington underground and other trains.Restaurants coffee ,shops and small markets nearby

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efi_Ntivanidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Efi_Ntivanidou,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all our guests comments on board and should you wish to stay with us again we hope to make your stay pleasant once again.

Best wishes to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fylingthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The beds are full of bed bugs and the manager is very disrespectful to the guests. Sanitary conditions are atrocious. Do not stay here. Highly not recommendable. most unhospitable resident staff i have ever come accross in my travels overseas, not fit to be a hotel when one
is paying accordingly,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Imogen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrysos_Hotel, General Manager at Chrysos Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Visitors,

I would like to comment to this review not to the person who wrote it, but instead to our TripAdvisor community.

This guest checked into the hotel, booking a single room and did not even sleep or stay in the room to which they are claiming bugs are present. The bed was untouched, but still as responsible hoteliers we alerted pest control to investigate, and as suspected nothing was found. I was also made aware of the rudeness and threatening manner of this guest by my Reception Manager.

Our job is to provide a clean, safe and accommodating environment to make our customers stay pleasant, and not to entertain people who use this site to damage our business because they have a personal vendetta against a member of staff or who are looking to have their room upgraded.

We hope you will see that our reputation and other reviews are of an honest and good quality nature, and ignore these slanderous and malicious comments.

Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#717 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#623 of 1,070 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#592 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#662 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#834 of 1,070 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#647 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrysos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrysos Hotel

Property: Chrysos Hotel
Address: 25-27 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #648 of 1,070 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chrysos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysos Hotel is a 3 star superior hotel, situated in one of the most exciting and popular capitals of the world. With 60 comfortable & relaxing rooms ranging from singles to large family rooms all with en suite facilities, and a choice of continental or full English breakfast every morning, we are confident we can meet the expectations of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Chrysos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chrysos Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing