We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfull Hotel”
Review of Hotel Melville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Melville
Ranked #851 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 29, 2011

WARNING DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL..Stayed for two nights at this hotel 23/24 Nov 2011. Booked the Albion house hotel but when checked in which was at the melville we were given a room at the melville. The room was located in what looked like the baggage hold area of the hotel. When I entered the room it felt very dark and dingy and the floor wasn.t level it sloped down in the corner where the bed was so couldn't get a good sleep as kept rolling into the corner. The bathroom was tiny and tiles were missing you had to have the door open to use the toilet and when you used the so called shower which there was no hook for the shower head (appalling) the whole bathroom got covered in water, sink was a tiny hand basin which didn't even have a plug to get a sink of water. There was no bin in the room or bathroom . Only one cup for tea and coffee facilitys for a double room. Breakfast was terrible had to go over the road to albion house for breakfast which only consisted of cornflakes, horrible ham and cheese and toast which took nearly all day to brown. Had to cue up for breakfast only 5 tables to searve 3 hotels and had to sit next to people out of another room. For £100 a night this hotel hasn't even got simple basic ammenities a hostle would have been better.DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionHouseHotel, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Dear Sir

We apologise for any inconveneince caused.

We have undergone extensive refurbsishemt to the hotel and our bedrooms. We only have one room which is yet to be refurbsished , Room 45. This room will be completed in the new year. Unfortuneately you had stayed in this room. We realise it is of course not up to the standard as the rest of the hotel and our new rooms. We did offer you a discount and we did inform you via e mail about this before your arrival. We did not receive a reply to our e mail....

Once again we apologise for any incovenience. We like to have total transparency to all our guests which is why we are informing you of the room number.

Thanks for your time taken to review us

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 449 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

Room was an extremely small birdbox. Effort has clearly been taken in producing deceptive photos to advertise this hotel!

Breakfast is served across the square at a different hotel. We had to wait outside with others in the street to be seated! Food was poor and service was worse!

Anyone considering visiting - look elsewhere as this place really isn't worth the money!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShakeyTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionHouseHotel, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Dear Sir

Please remember we are a budget bed and breakfast hotel in central London.

We have a had an extensive refurbishment and all our rooms are brand new and all have en suite bathrooms. We have designed our rooms carefully and thoughtfully. All rooms have free Wifi and wired internet access. There are safes for valuables, Ipod docks ,tea and coffee making facilties and Flat screen TVs with freeview channels and en suite bathrooms with amenities. Our rooms have also been tastefully decorated as you can see from our website.

Space is tight but this is reflected in our price. We charge from £80-£110 for a double room. This inlcudes the above and Tax and breakfast.

If you wish to have a large room with lots of space in Central London; unfortunately you will have to go hotels at the top end of the market and obviously that comes with its top end price !

We offer a good clean room at a good price with a central london location. We are located direclty opposite St Pancras International train station and Kings Cross.

At the moment we are building a brand new dining room / conservatory which will be open in March 2012. Please bear with us in the meantime...

Thanks for your comments and please rest assured we are always trying to improve which is reflected in our refurbsihment programmes.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on June 2011. On the positive side the hotel was clean, the staff was very friendly and the breakfast filling. On the other hand we needed to wait more than 2 hours to check in because the room wasn't ready when we arrived. The room was quite small but not much more than we expected. The Melville Hotel is very close to the underground and train station of King's Cross but it's also located in a quite street so we were able to reach the city centre in few minutes but we could sleep well with no noise. Moreover, there are markets and restaurants in the nearby among which it is possible to choose.
If we will come back to London, we will probably consider again the Melville hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrisSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I was really impressed by this hotel; from the reception to the bedrooms the management have done a great job. The rooms albeit small were very clean and nicely decorated . My room had free Wifi and wired access which was a pleasant surprsie and very unexpected as most budget hotels dont have this .And it was free ! I stayed in a 5 star hotel last week and they charged 15USD for 1 days access....so i was happy to get this for free and it worked very well. Breakfast was basic but adequate and suited my needs well. Alll in all i really liked this hotel ; the location was utterly superb and i would be happy return the next time I am in London. I paid 100GBP for on night including breakfast and tax ; excellent value...for London!

Room Tip: My room was high up ...so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZishanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We booked this hotel for a single night before our Eurostar departure the following morning. We were taken from the Melville to a sister hotel over the road. Walked up 8 flights of steps to unlucky for some room number 13 which backed onto a housing estate which reminded me of Sun Hill from the Bill TV series!!!! OH MY GOD.... Shouting, yelling, screaming, motorbikes, noise en mass all night outside the window of our can't call it a room so let's call it a cupboard. Stinking mouldy shower, yuk yuk yuk. Awful experience.....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJoWondermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionHouseHotel, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Dear Guest

Apologies for any inconveneince caused by moving rooms. In general the hotel is very quiet ; we are located in a private square directly opposite Kings Cross and St Pancras station. Our street has mainly hotels on it. We can not control what happens in the surrounding streets and what people get up to at night, all we can say is that once you are within our doors we will look after you and ask other guests to be mindful of each other and keep the noise down. The hotel is small and has only 20 bedrooms so it is very quiet inside our building. We are in central London, so there will be the usual movements of people in a major city .
We will be looking into all other issues and will remedy them immediately where possible.

Many thanks

Manager

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Arrived to the Hotel Melville late about 12:00. We were locked out and had to ring the hotel to be let in, We were brought into the reception which had plaster falling off the walls and was dark and depressing to be told our rooms which were booked as 2 single ensuite rooms were both deemed to dangerous to stay in due to an electrical fault, but we would be put up in the next hotel (same management 3 "hotels" are joined on together) in a "standard room"

Standard room had a bed (flat mattress with springs coming through it) and a sink (dirty). torn net curtains, had to share a toilet and a shower with 2 other rooms, both were dirty, had to hold the shower head up to shower. Shower also came with 2 used bars of soap (Nice touch!)

We had paid for breakfast but skipped it because the hotel was so grubby and depressing we could not eat there,

All in all a fairly horrible experience, when we complained at reception we were told there was nothing wrong with the rooms, they were brand new and we should see the hotels down the road because they were much worse! We did get a reduction in price because we downgraded to a "standard room".

Would not recommend at all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SincereHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionHouseHotel, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Dear Guest,

Apologies for any inconveneince cased with your booking; however it turned out that you didint actually have a confirmed booking and we actually offered you our last two remaining rooms in our sister hotel on the same road. All we had available were two basic rooms for £50 per room per night bed and breakfast.

At this point we were under no obligation to accomodate you and you were under no obligation to stay. Nonetheless ; we will look into any issues you have and remedy them immediately.

Please note our new reception has just been opened on 10 October 2011 and we are always open 24 hrs a day. If the door is shut it doesnt mean you are locked out as we are on hand 24 hrs a day and the reception is always open to our guests. You just have to ring the bell and we will let you in !...simple

Many thanks

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and whilst the room was clean and new, and the staff generally helpful, we had several issues including:-
No heating or control of temperature in our room.
Cramped room with a 3/4 size 'double' bed against two walls. (avoid room 44).
Shower/toilet door broken.
No curtains to avoid an early hours Summer wake up!
Told to come back an hour later for breakfast since the room (in a 'sister hotel') was full with other guests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manchestersamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionHouseHotel, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We read each review carefully and respond positively in all cases and take action immediately.

The room tempretaure can be controlled from the room stat located in the entrance of your room. All our rooms have this feature so guests can control this themselves. If you have any issues on how to use this please ask us ; we are here to help 24 hrs day.

We have 3 sizes of double bed in our hotel : Standard double ( 4 ft 6 in wide ) , King ( 5 ft Wide ) and Superking ( 6ft wide ).

We have checked the tiolet door and shower door and it is not broken. The room is only 1 month old !!!

Our dining room in the Melville will be open in the Spring of 2012 where will have a beautiful conservatory to seat 60 people. In the meatime we are using our sister hotel dining room in the Albion House Hote located next door.

Apologies for any wait and inconveneince; we will get you a table within 10 minutes of waiting

Many thanks

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#949 of 1,077 in London
293 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#286 of 1,077 in London
1,773 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#556 of 1,077 in London
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#274 of 1,077 in London
2,039 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#575 of 1,077 in London
1,002 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#582 of 1,077 in London
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melville

Address: 38/39 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #851 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $91 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melville 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melville was re opened to our guests in April 2011 with our first phase of 9 brand new bedrooms , the second phase was delivered on October 2011 with another 9 bedrooms. We have totally rebuilt the hotel and everything is brand new. The hotel has undergone an extensive £1 million rebuild. We are located directly opposite Kings Cross train station and St Pancras international and are moments from Oxford Street; London eye; British Museum , British Library and hundreds of other attractions .We hope you come and stay with us. We wish you a warm welcome and great stay. Our motto is location, cleanliness and service all for less than £50 per person . All prices include VAT, breakfast and Wfi and Lan access.We are Modern Budget hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Melville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel London
Hotel Melville London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing