We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Hotel Melville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Melville
Ranked #838 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights with a 3 years old. Ignore the ugly dirty looking stairs and reception area, room and toilet were spotless, with a very comfortable bed. However, room was hot and we found its hard to breath bcos windown was broken so it can't be lift up. Sound insulation was poor. Room was very small. Location is superior, next to park, 2 min walk to Kings cross station, 5 min to British library, 10 min to Waitrose supermarket, 15 min to Russel Square. I will stay in hotel after 10 PM for safety reason. In conclusion, average hotel, cost 105 pound per night (breakfast included), good for business traveller for a short stop.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yveshsieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 444 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

the room was spotless, not a speck of dust, the cleanest room we have stayed in, the continental breakfast was good and as much as you wanted, the staff were friendly and wellcoming, there was no problem in getting into the hotel late,(we had seen a band at the round house) to be honest i could not fault anything, we have stayed in larger hotels but from now on we will use this hotel,

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnbrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I stayed here with a friend on a bank holiday Sunday as were going to a concert in north London. The hotel was easy to find literally seconds from Kings Cross station. We booked a twin room which we were amazed to find could easily sleep four as it had two very comfy double beds. The room had been decorated in a modern style with lovely shutters on the windows, wooden floors, modern bedding (not the usual hotel sort) and even a chandelier. The windows opened onto a small balcony with a pleasant view of the park over the road. The shower room was modern and clean (no bath but that's not really what city breaks are for). The reception staff were friendly and efficient I cannot comment on breakfast as we only just made it out of bed to check out and get the train home but overall it was a fab stay and a lovely change to big chain budget hotels (as testified by the faces of our friends who were staying around the corner for a similar budget when they popped in to the chandelier that we were banging on about!)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyWats1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Should be great as very close to St Pancras, on a square that was quiet during our stay and has had some money put into refurbishment of rooms. Management is a disaster though. We stayed for a bed and shower in order to catch an early morning Eurostar and paid extra for this hotel rather than a budget priced one so that we didn't have shared use of washing facilites. There was no hot water in the evening from the basin taps nor in the morning in the shower. Disappointing but appreciate accidents happen. On reporting to the manager on our return a week later and asking if problem had been resolved and suggesting a partial refund might be appropriate. The manager replied that he couldn't offer a partial refund as he had already paid late rooms (?), that there was hot water - the taps just needed to be ran longer and offered £20.00 off on a future stay.
I replied that my friend and I had over 30 years construction experience between us and that if there had been any hot water to be had we would have discovered it - my friend had ran the basin hot tap for five minutes and we both ran the shower for 10 minutes each.
Amazingly the manager then replied to say that indeed there was a problem with the hot water, that a new "mega-flow system" was going to be installed in a few weeks and that if I wouldn't leave a negative review he would refund my card £30.00. Reviews seem to be quite important to the hotel as amongst the poor reviews the few rave ones really stand out one from a reviewer who has only left two reviews: one for the Melville and one for its sister hotel the Albion next door! Needless we haven't taken the hotel up on its offer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank envirochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This hotel was fantastic - recently renovated to a modern look & feel, perfectly clean, practical, the shower was perfect (hot water, good strength), super comfortable bed, ideally located for St Pancras International - yet even being in the middle of King's Cross, the hotel was on a quiet square and we were not distrubed at all by other guests or any street noise.
Not to mention that we checked in late (8.30pm) and the staff were friendly and helpful, and offered to give us an early breakfast the next day before our train to Paris.
PERFECT - and excellent value!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Use this hotel as a stop over for the Euro Star; The hotel is ideal. Opposite the eurostar and the hotel has obviously been renovated. Good cleqn rooms beautifully decorated.I was very happy with my choice and will defenately stay again. I strongly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlinej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

It is very close to Kings Cross Tube so handy. From the reception area, you think you've booked into a tatty run-down version of Fawlty Towers. The rooms are a pleasant surprise after that. A lot of care has gone into some things. The handbook in the room proclaims the virtues of the 'locally crafted bespoke' bed... It seems rather comfy and soft at first with a fluffy duvet, but then you get the sinking sensation and spend the night trying not to roll into your bedmate or out onto the floor! Had the bed been an inch higher, suitcases would fit under it leaving you with more than 3 square inches of floor space. We slept with the windows open (it was 2 degrees outside) and just a sheet as the duvet plus being buried alive in mattress made us stiflingly hot. (London = noisy -> take ear plugs).
The boiler broke and we had no hot shower the first of the two days we were there but other than that the bathroom is new and clean, if tiny (knees hit toilet door when seated and it's easy to miss the sink when brushing teeth as it is so small!)
Breakfast is in the nearby Hotel Albion - if you don't want cornflakes and cold hard boiled eggs, go elsewhere as a poor feed after spending the night trying not to fall out of bed does not make for a great day!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelaura_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#940 of 1,076 in London
291 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#564 of 1,076 in London
991 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#571 of 1,076 in London
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#285 of 1,076 in London
1,767 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#276 of 1,076 in London
2,025 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#732 of 1,076 in London
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melville

Address: 38/39 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #838 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $102 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melville 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melville was re opened to our guests in April 2011 with our first phase of 9 brand new bedrooms , the second phase was delivered on October 2011 with another 9 bedrooms. We have totally rebuilt the hotel and everything is brand new. The hotel has undergone an extensive £1 million rebuild. We are located directly opposite Kings Cross train station and St Pancras international and are moments from Oxford Street; London eye; British Museum , British Library and hundreds of other attractions .We hope you come and stay with us. We wish you a warm welcome and great stay. Our motto is location, cleanliness and service all for less than £50 per person . All prices include VAT, breakfast and Wfi and Lan access.We are Modern Budget hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Melville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel London
Hotel Melville London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing