We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, tiny musty room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bakers Hotel
Ranked #939 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, tiny musty room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This budget B&B hotel is probably ok for a single person or for 2 people only. The location is excellent, close to Victoria Station, with plenty of bus and underground stops, great pubs and restaurants nearby, walking distance to Buckingham Palace. It is a very safe area. The price was affordable for London standards (£412 for 3 nights, quad room). We stayed in a quadruple/family room (1 double, 2 single beds) (2 adults and 2 teenagers) in the lower ground (basement with a street-facing window). The window does not open completely and there is no circulating air so it was a bit uncomfortable but not suffocating since the weather was pleasant in July. Quite a bit of street noise since we had to keep the window open all night. Only way to move around the beds is sideways. A diminutive foldable piece of wood nailed to the wall serves as night stand (you can only put a pair of glasses and a small book on it). The beds are somewhat saggy. Being a B&B, towels are changed every 3 days but there is only 1 peg, so most of our towels sat on the bed mildewing all day. I asked for fresh ones and the reception person complied. Good thing we were traveling with small carry-ons since there are no chairs or benches, so suitcases have to go under the beds or piled up under a small counter, on top of which there is a rack with 4 hangers serving as a "closet", and another tiny counter sits by the window with enough room for an electric kettle and 3 cups. The bathroom is tiny but water pressure and temperature were great and it has an exhaust fan for ventilation. The bathroom is cleaned every day. The oldish and threadbare carpet smelled musty and mildewed. My husband and kids did not think that the accommodations were that bad (thus the Average rating) but I felt I was in an airplane cabin where you have to watch around you before you turn and maneuver. The room also has a smallish TV, no phone, free WiFi with password. The front desk person was pleasant but seemed hurried to get me out of his way. The breakfast attendant, however, was lovely and courteous. Breakfast consisted of a selection of cereals, toast with butter, jelly, peanut butter and tea or instant coffee, and bananas/apples/oranges. Too cramped for 4 people, not pleasant to come back and relax after hours of walking, but price and location were winners.

Room Tip: Lower ground street-facing quad room a bit too cramped for 4 people (2 adults, 2 teens)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    54
    62
    38
    46
See reviews for
62
59
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

What we found was just horrible. We were put into a lower floor room that was far too cramped to move. You could not use the bathroom without turning sideways to get past the bed. Towels and linen were not changed daily. I understand the lack of air conditioning, but the room was only allowed to have two windows barely cracked open. We had to hold the curtains back with a coat hanger to get any air circulation. Only 2-3" open at their widest point. The room was stiflingly hot. The water facet was loose. The shower leaked into our bedroom making the carpet damp and their was a very strong smell of mold.

They refused to allow us to move to another room. It was the most uncomfortable room we have ever been in.

Room Tip: If you are forced at gunpoint to stay here, make sure your window is allowed to open by getting a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Pompano Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The main reason I chose to stay at this hotel was because the rate was the best I could find on short notice, and it was convenient to Victoria Station. The location is great.

We stayed in a double suite room (with a bathroom inside the room) the rooms are VERY small; there is no place to put your suitcase or walk around. We had to keep moving our bags on top of the bed. The carpet is worn, but the place seems to be clean and the sheets were clean.

The most disappointing aspect of our stay was the beds. The mattress were very soft and small, you can feel the springs. VERY uncomfortable.

Breakfast was OK. Just a simple breakfast with some toast, yogurt, cereal, instant coffee, tea and orange juice.
About Customer Service. We got to the Hotel and got inside the building because some guests were leaving. There was no one at the reception desk. We waited for an hour for someone to show up and then decided to leave our bags downstairs in the breakfast room (Other bags were stored there) and we went out for lunch. Our room was ready when we came back, but we wasted precious time going back to the hotel.
Other than the fact that the cleaning person threw the bag with all my medicines in the garbage we had no other problems (The guy in the reception desk fished through the garbage of the day and was able to retrieve my medicines). The lady in the breakfast room was very nice.
I guess you get what you pay for, but we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Uniacke, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Rooms were comfy, but lacked air conditioning which was a negative during our stay in a heat wave, the washrooms were clean and well kept, the service was great and friendly, location was perfect, only a few minute walk to Victoria Station. Breakfast was a bit lack luster but what was available was fresh and delicious, for a cheap stay in London for a few days I would recommend, but only with one to two people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. First thing...yes...the rooms are VERY small... I had a single and could practically touch each side of the room standing in the middle. This is not a room to hang out in...but if you are in London as a tourist...it fits the bill quite nicely. The room...and hotel was clean and neat. My single had no bathroom so I had to go down one level for shared shower and toilet. They are newly remodeled and quite nice. Did not have to wait once to use the facilities. Small sink in room was great for washing up. Free Wifi was quite fast, mounted TV above door had wonderful reception, and coffee/tea in room. Breakfast we simple (toast, cereal, yogurt, juice, fruit, coffee/tea) but filling... staff in tiny breakfast room made your toast and conversed with you. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The bed was not that great... older and very little support... but I slept well all 4 nights in spite of this. Linens were clean... towel was huge! Hotel is located on a side but rather busy street. Earplugs are not a bad idea... but this was no different from several places in London where I have stayed. Location is great.... easy 6-7 minute walk to Victoria Station and Victoria Underground stop. If you don't mind things small...this is a great little spot. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for lower room if you have mobility issues as steps are steep and narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned from few days in London to go to the Chelsea flower show and stayed at Bakers Hotel in Warwick Way which is just around the corner from Victoria Station. Everything was spotlessly clean and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Breakfasts were simple but nourishing with the staff around to help. Would certainly stay there again. Only downside was the weather

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Even at 79 bps for a "triple" room- meaning 2 single beds and 1 double bed- I would not recommend this hotel. That room with 3 beds would easily fit in any double room I've stayed in, even in Europe. If you stay on the top floor as we did, the paltry breakfast is a steep, narrow 5 floor walk-down. And I do mean paltry breakfast. It is served in a space that is incredibly tiny, so if even 6 other people are there, you asked to come back later (and not offered a measly piece of toast or bowl of cereal to take back with you). If we had been staying there longer than a night, we would have been severely disappointed.

The bathroom was nice, despite being another long flight of stairs down from the room. I was fortunate not to have any traffic issues with that. I did have traffic issues leaving the room, however, as the 2 rooms on the top floor share a doorstep so small that a large suitcase won't fit on it. So if you are entering or leaving your room at the same time as your neighbor, you will have quite a traffic jam.

The location is fine.

The kid who checked us in was neither particularly competent nor polite. The kid who checked us out got much higher marks on both counts. The girl in the breakfast room was competent enough to tell me I couldn't have breakfast because the closet they serve it in was full. I had to make a special request for a cup of tea to take the 5 flights back up to my room.

In hindsight, I understand why this is the only room we could get on short notice out of the 20 or so hotels we checked under 200 bps/night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcloofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#740 of 1,077 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#932 of 1,077 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Pimlico
New England Hotel
New England Hotel
#976 of 1,077 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#688 of 1,077 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#619 of 1,077 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakers Hotel

Property: Bakers Hotel
Address: 126 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #939 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bakers Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the core on Warwick Way in London Victoria, Bakers Hotel, a Bed & Breakfast Hotel, is within easy walking distance of major attractions such as Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and St James Park and Green Park. Our clean and comfortable rooms are serviced everyday. Our ensuite and standard rooms are furnished and equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, hair-dryers, flat-screen TV's, central heating, hot water and complimentary shower gels. he hotel is conveniently accessible from all London airports including London Heathrow, London Gatwick, Luton and Stansted including Gatwick Express, National Express, Greenline Coach and London Underground services. Excellent transport links make getting around London simple. Victoria, Pimlico and Sloan Square Stations are minutes walk away - access to train, underground, bus & coach services enable travel to famous attractions and landmarks such as Oxford Street, Harrods, & the London Eye easy and quick. Bakers Bed & Breakfast Hotel is suitable to all price conscious visitors who require a "home away from home" including couples, families, single travellers, friends and groups of students and even the business traveller. We offer comfortable budget accommodation in the central of London, complimentary breakfast, easy access to major attractions, points of interest and shopping destinations, including 24 hrs reception, free wi-fi access, free luggage storage and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bakers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakers Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing