We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepaid rooms were not available - unacceptable !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras
Ranked #642 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prepaid rooms were not available - unacceptable !”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

On our arrival, after a long flight, our booked & paid rooms had been given away. Four of us were given a smelly basement room with 1DB &2SB.and one window to an air well. Three of us had no room available and were sent to another hotel, into a smelly cubbyhole room, suitable for "street people" with 3 SB's that could not be slept on. Their night was miserable and uncomfortable.
The desk staff was not able to discuss or help us. Next morning we got an Apartment suite, but 3 of us had still to sleep in the smelly basement room. This was totally unacceptable and disgraceful, specially since the accommodation had been pre-paid and was guaranteed ! Double booking seems to be the way of this, so called, hotel. We did not get what we had paid for and are most dissatisfied !

Room Tip: In another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guido,

We apologize if you faced any inconvenience during your stay.

There was a misunderstanding regarding the number of rooms you booked. We allocated the rooms according to the details we received in your reservation.

Your feedback was reviewed and forwarded to the concern departments. During your stay the reception asked several times if you needed assistance with anything. But your answer was in negative and you communicated your concerns via TripAdvisor. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at abida.abbas@4chotels.co.uk.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay next time you're in the area.
Warm regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    114
    83
    32
    40
See reviews for
115
88
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was unfortunately booked in to here by my company. I work abroad, and so for them, this was just another "hotel in the centre"... bless them. This guesthouse/hostel (not a hotel) really needs to be renovated. It's so tired. There was a smashed window, rather than replace the pane, they put sellophane over the window !? There was mould everywhere (and we're not talking shower/bath mould which you can always find, I mean filth on the windowsills right by the bed! The place smelt of damp, the lift wasn't working, and i was told to climb 3 floors on a pokey stairwell with suitcases, no staff to help. Hardly ideal. Appreciate reviews and opinions are subjective, but I will attach pics, so you can make your own conclusion. The best bit... the rate they charged the company was the same rate as the St Pancras Renaissance. Took me 15mins to change thank god. Avoid!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldfox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apologize if you faced any inconvenience during your stay.

Our new receptionist mistakenly checked you in to the room which was undergoing refurbishment. We were renovating few rooms during the time you visited us. It seems you left very early and we did not get the opportunity to rectify our mistake and give you the right room.
Your valuable feedback is very necessary as it enables us to target the weak areas and take action be avoid similar situations in future.
Warm regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The ONLY saving grace is the proximity to st pancras station.
The desk staff was barely able to direct us to our rooms. My companion had a room on the first floor and said it was adequate My room was in the basement. It was dank smelly mouldy and digusting. The matress was thin lumpy and Stank of mildew as did the hard foam pillows. The carpet was threadbare stained and disgusting. No heat. the room was cold hairdryer non funtional. I finally got up at 5 am and sat in the less than comfortable lobby until my companion arrived.
Skip this place sleep at st pancras. It is cleaner and more comfortable and you save £150

Helpful?
4 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you for putting up a detailed review.

Your feedback has been shared with all the departments and we’ll make changes in the system where deemed necessary. Our primary objective is that the guest feels comfortable and cared for. In your case we’re surprised to learn not a single aspect of the hotel lived up to your expectations. Apologies if any inconvenience caused during this period.

We’ll get in touch through TripAdvisor messaging service to know more details on this matter.
Warm regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked a one bed apartment what we were given on arrival was a basement suite.
The group I was with called this the dungeon ! If you pay £299 for one night you expect what is shown in the pictures of your apartment light and airy with the table and chairs not a dark basement room with one window opening directly onto a brick wall with no dining table or chairs.
Carpet to basement thread bare got fleeced on this deal.
Also waiting to see if the double charge on the room is corrected on my card statement insult to injury on that one

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dashie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Dashie,

Thank you for your feedback.

First of all apologies if any inconvenience caused during your stay. We did not receive any complaint during the time you were staying with us. We encourage guests to contact reception at any time for immediate attention to any concern they have.

Please note that your card wasn't charged twice. We pre-authorize the first night’s amount to check the validity of the card. The amount goes back into your account in three working days. If you have any quires please contact us through TripAdvisor private messaging system.

Kind regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

There had been a very big mistake with e bookers who had made an error with the pricing of this hotel .The gentleman at reception Abida was very fair and honoured the booking. So we got a clean and tidy room with comfy beds and clean linen with complimentary breakfast for an absolute bargain. The hotel is a stones throw from Kings Cross so very central. I would have given a 5 but the carpets as previously mentioned are rather tired and the décor also needs attention. Just a mention for the lovely waitress at breakfast , very polite and attentive.All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyBally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking out time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for appreciating all the services and highlighting the areas which need attention. Please note that the issues you’ve addressed in your review are currently been dealt with. I agree with your point that our guests can enjoy the perks of the hotel being centrally located which makes traveling and sightseeing convenient.

Comfort Inn & Suites team hopes to have the pleasure of serving you once again in future.
Warm regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Amazing value for money! More than adequate for a 1 or 2 night stay! Staff are friendly and willing to help. Location is superb! Overall impression is great. Could do with new carpets in the rooms but now I'm being petty! Good work guys, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Graeme,

The title of your review explains the emotions we got after receiving your feedback.
Your suggestion is on our ‘To- Do’ list for 2013. We appreciate your encouragement as it really helps us to deliver the best every single day!!

Thank you for recommending us on this platform… Hope to see you soon in future!!
Kindest regards,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very disappointing! The positive was its location. However it's highly over priced. The rooms were dirty and seem to be in need of a deep clean. We weren't happy and asked if they had any other rooms. We were told no and we wouldn't get a reduction as the room was already reduced. The toilet was disgusting and the shower room smelt badly of drains. The breakfast room seemed very unkept. No member of staff to greet you and it seemed it was a bit of an after thought. Try and book elsewhere if you can!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeHarrisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbidaA_12, Social Media Coordinator at Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Your feedback is much appreciated Mike.

I'm extremely sorry to know you left with such a bad impression of our hotel please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel to discuss it further. We’re confused that someone who apparently having a very bad experience hasn’t already contacted the management team directly during or after the stay as we were unaware of the matter.

You asked for another room and unfortunately we could not provide one as we were fully booked. We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and would never want a guest leaving us with such a bad impression. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences caused during your stay.

Yours sincerely,
Abida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#133 of 1,069 in London
2,451 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#566 of 1,069 in London
915 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#256 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#252 of 1,069 in London
2,000 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#393 of 1,069 in London
1,920 reviews
Bloomsbury
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#853 of 1,069 in London
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras
Address: 31-33 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#365 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras is your ideal place to stay in a central London hotel. The hotel has just been refurbished throughout and offers comfortable accommodation in central London near the St. Pancras Station for Eurostar London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Kings Cross Hotel London
Comfort Inn And Suites Kings Cross
Comfort Inn Kings Cross
Comfort Inn London
London Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn And Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing