We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold room, stank of cigarettes”

Westminster House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westminster House Hotel
Ranked #960 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 13, 2011

People recommend this place for travellers on a budget but in my opinion you can do better. Our room was cold (a plug in heater was provided but this made little difference), and there was a strong smell of cigarettes - vile.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lsj_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 29 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, the receptionist is very pleasant. This hotel is a budget hotel so do not expect the Ritz Glamour. I just needed a room as I was out most of the day exploring London. The hotel was fine for this purpose, the room was quite small, but clean and had a daily maid service, it was generally quiet and I encountered no problems staying here. I felt if I had of wanted anything I could have approached the receptionist but there was nothing in addition I needed.
I would recommend this hotel for backpackers, solo travellers and couples.
The location is a 2 minute walk from Victoria Station making it ideal place to use as a base to explore the rest of London. I will be staying here again when I am next down in London.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magic_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed twice at the hotel before that and we keep coming back because it is fairly cheap for London and it is very conveniently located in the surroundings of Victoria Station from where you could go anywhere (especially the airports).
The staff is nice, but you only see them at check-in to be honest...
The hotel is located in a very quiet residential area so you are guaranteed a good night sleep.
The building itself is a Victorian building, which is quite charming, but there is no lift, so get ready for the staircase if you are sleeping on the last floor! lol
Breakfast itself is not really a breakfast as there is no breakfast room... You will just find a tray with a fruit juice and a small croissant in your room. Tea and Coffee are available in the rooms themselves.
It is very basic but clean and centrally located so it was good enough for us!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

This hotel is a pleasant surprise for all travelers to London, who like to keep the budget low. Staff was nice and helpful, if you're respectful too. The way I felt it, it's more like a family business.
For the price of hostel room with 10+ beds, you can get a cozy room, with bathroom and shower. There might not be a "social room", fitness or a hotel bar, but that's not really why you came to London, is it?
The room itself was not very big. But it was clean, with a little table where you could make a tea or coffee. There was a little bit of mold on the shower wall, but nothing too horrible.
But let me tell you about the location! It doesn't get much better than this. You will be staying in the center of London. 10 minutes from Victoria station, 20 minutes from Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament or Buckingham palace. Or if you like long walks in park, 10 minutes from Hyde park.
To sum up, it is superb place to stay, if you're in London to do some sightseeing and if you plan to leave early, come back late, get a shower and sleep comfortably. And in addition, you get to keep the budget low.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Finding the hotel was very easy and the location is great, as it is a 5-minute walk to Victoria Station. Staff was very nice, too. However, the bathroom was very dirty and run-down. Things were falling apart and mold was everywhere on the ceiling, which made a terrible smell that made me gag. Renovation of the bathroom is desperately needed. Bedroom was clean and small. But it was very hot weather and no air conditioning so my 2 friends and I were suffocating in the heat. I wished I booked somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

First impression was "wow"! Looked fancy, from the outside. Hauled my luggage up to the very top room, opened the door to a depressing looking room. All the furniture and bedding looked about 20 years old. The room smelled moldy and dirty. Thank god I didn't spend much time in it. The bathroom was absolutely disgusting, it looked like it hadn't been touched in years. The one redeeming quality was being within walking distance to some major attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyyblue83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

It is really really good hotel, not luxurious but comfortable. nice and friendly people runing it, they don't pretend to be kind like many business people just to get your money but they are honestly kind. fantastic location, clean room. if you are looking for good hotel in london, then don't waste your time, this is one of them. you will feel safe inside and outside the hotel. also many famous people stayed their, ask them for the list. london is fantastic, so enjoy it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4evertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#230 of 1,081 in London
4,470 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#330 of 1,081 in London
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster House Hotel

Address: 96 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #960 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $63 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 133
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel London
Westminster House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing