We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Queen Mary College University of London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City View Hotel London
Ranked #419 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Close to Queen Mary College University of London”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

By London standards very inexpensive, however even the "free" breakfast is pretty scant and service lean. I usually love an English breakfast, but the second morning I skipped the sausage because it was such a low grade that i ended up having Tums for dessert.

Room clean, but not serviced during my two nights there.

Walk the block to the Children's Museum. It was fascinating. . . . though I hit it at a rather kid filled noisy time.

Room Tip: Ask for away from Tube line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_from_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    58
    39
    165
See reviews for
30
81
50
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I arrived and was told that there was a problem with my room, so I would have to go to their other branch down the road. I went there and there was no change when I paid, so I was told to ask for it the following morning (they did give me approximate change the next morning, but 18p less than it should have been).

Room was tiny and scruffy, which I would expect for the price, so I don't mind that. Mattress was very bad and uncomfortable. Worst thing was I woke up COVERED in insect bites (window was closed and there weren't mosquitos, it was something in the bed like fleas). Have been itching for two days since leaving :(

Photos show just a few of the bites I woke up with, they are all over my arms, legs, face, trunk :(

By far the worst place I have ever stayed in my life, would never go back.

Room Tip: Avoid room 111, it has fleas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Murzik81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

if you are considering staying here, DON'T. A cardboard box by the side of the road would be better. Dirty rooms, broken bathroom fittings, trains right outside the window. And when I left in the morning at 7am there was a man asleep on the reception couch under a blanket!!!!!
I was booked here for 2 nights, after one night I left and booked into another hotel. Possibly the worst hotel in London.

Room Tip: Get a room in a different hotel, there are no good ones here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDC340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place was beyond disgusting. I stayed with my friend in a tiny, hot double room. It was meant to be a twin, but they got our booking wrong.

The bathroom door had no lock and bits of the handle were actually falling off.

People attempted to get into our room twice during the night on separate occasions. I ended up putting my heavy travellers backpack against the door and sleeping with my mobile phone in my hand just in case I needed to make an emergency call during the night.

For two young female travellers, this was NOT a safe place to stay. Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: The only good thing about this place was the access to the tube station right outside the door. DO N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halli_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I discovered this hotel by searching for a place to stay for a night close to a subway station - and this certainly is close. It is located right next to Bethnal green station - which is great when you arrive late at night - but it also means that the trains are quite loud when you are in your room. Once the trains stop running it is peaceful though - and my room was great! Large for London, well renovated and appointed, and the private bathroom was clean and functional.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the included breakfast is cooked to order and good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copperheadmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

stayed here on 11th/06/2013 this pace has got to be the most discusting pleace i have ever stayed in, even a rat wouldnt stay here, the shower curtain was filthy there was a hole in the wall bedsheets and bathtowels was rock hard, kept hearing people have 1,s and 2,s in the toilet next to my room,the window in the shower/wetroom wasnt tinted it was glossed.
tv was stuck on bbc1 as sky remote didnt work and kept saying please insert card.
i didnt even have breakfast as i was scratching all night, and didnt want to get the risk of food poisoning
I ADVISE ANYONE PLEASE DONOT STAY HERE

when i left the hotel in the morning the receptionist that was there on the evening was on a sofa in the reception area and said leave the key on the side(so pleasent NOT)

anyhow see the pics that i have added
D Douglas Birmingham (AOT)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

£200 per night for a very tiny double room. Breakfats was adequate at best. Dingy - lighting not good. Next to a rail way line on one side and a very busy main road on the other. stains on the bath. Yes £200 a night!!! What a rip off. do your self a favour and go somewherelse..Above a chip shop as well - see my photo!

Room Tip: Do your self a favour - go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The RE London Shoreditch
#546 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Town Hall Hotel
#153 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Viking Hotel
#860 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CityStay Hotel
#941 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
East End / East London
CityLodge London
CityLodge London
#331 of 573 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Hotel London

Property: City View Hotel London
Address: 287 Cambridge Heath Road | Bethnal Green, London E2 0EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City View Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City View Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City View Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing