We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck, yuck, yuck!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City View Hotel London
Ranked #397 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yuck, yuck, yuck!!!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place was beyond disgusting. I stayed with my friend in a tiny, hot double room. It was meant to be a twin, but they got our booking wrong.

The bathroom door had no lock and bits of the handle were actually falling off.

People attempted to get into our room twice during the night on separate occasions. I ended up putting my heavy travellers backpack against the door and sleeping with my mobile phone in my hand just in case I needed to make an emergency call during the night.

For two young female travellers, this was NOT a safe place to stay. Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: The only good thing about this place was the access to the tube station right outside the door. DO N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halli_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    62
    40
    172
See reviews for
35
86
51
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I discovered this hotel by searching for a place to stay for a night close to a subway station - and this certainly is close. It is located right next to Bethnal green station - which is great when you arrive late at night - but it also means that the trains are quite loud when you are in your room. Once the trains stop running it is peaceful though - and my room was great! Large for London, well renovated and appointed, and the private bathroom was clean and functional.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the included breakfast is cooked to order and good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copperheadmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

stayed here on 11th/06/2013 this pace has got to be the most discusting pleace i have ever stayed in, even a rat wouldnt stay here, the shower curtain was filthy there was a hole in the wall bedsheets and bathtowels was rock hard, kept hearing people have 1,s and 2,s in the toilet next to my room,the window in the shower/wetroom wasnt tinted it was glossed.
tv was stuck on bbc1 as sky remote didnt work and kept saying please insert card.
i didnt even have breakfast as i was scratching all night, and didnt want to get the risk of food poisoning
I ADVISE ANYONE PLEASE DONOT STAY HERE

when i left the hotel in the morning the receptionist that was there on the evening was on a sofa in the reception area and said leave the key on the side(so pleasent NOT)

anyhow see the pics that i have added
D Douglas Birmingham (AOT)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

£200 per night for a very tiny double room. Breakfats was adequate at best. Dingy - lighting not good. Next to a rail way line on one side and a very busy main road on the other. stains on the bath. Yes £200 a night!!! What a rip off. do your self a favour and go somewherelse..Above a chip shop as well - see my photo!

Room Tip: Do your self a favour - go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I'm not going to exaggerate for effect, here's a simple factual list of what we experienced during our one night there:
1. Room smelled of damp and bed was far too soft.
2. Communal toilet was tiny and the floor was, shall we say, 'drenched' from frequent use and hadn't been cleaned.
3. Shower cubicle was black with mould and the shower head holder broken, so could only use it while holding the head.
4. Arrived for breakfast, which took place in the foyer, so ate with an audience of staff and waiting tourists, who were transfixed by the snooker match that was playing on the telly fixed on the wall next to us.
5. Our simple order of cereal, toast and tea proved to be more than they could cope with: the cereal arrived drowned in milk, while the toast was pre-soaked in synthetic butter. On the other hand, our tea and coffee arrived black, and when I asked for some milk was told with a laugh that we were having breakfast too late (which we weren't) and that all the milk had gone - presumably into our cereal. The waitress later appeared sheepishly with a small plastic beaker of milk.
6. What else: well, there were black scorch marks on the ceiling above lamps, which is really dangerous, bright red chevrons were painted directly on to the walls of the corridors, and the view from our room window was like Del Boy Trotter's back lot: cookers, broken fans and pillows, all lying in the open air.
Were there any plus points? Well, it was quiet, they did manage to give us tea bags, hot water and milk (ironically) for a cup of tea when we arrived at midnight and there was somebody on the desk 24 hours, and the fridge that was in our room might be useful to some.
On balance, though, the general sense grime and lack of cleanliness throughout the hotel was depressing and even at the low price they charge, I would warn anyone off from staying at the City View.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasha1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Worse place ive ever stayed in and ive travelled the world including third world countries.The noise from the trains was unberable.The rooms were stiffling hot and no way to control the temperture.It is run by some sleazy looking arabs who are always huddled round a table in the reception area.It is nothing like the pics on their website.The showers and toilets are filthy, disheveled looking like the people running the place.Dont stay there,the list of why nots is endless!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel has everything. * The guy at the reception works 24/7 never changes his clothes and never leaves the hotel, smells rotten. I got in very late at night and found the guy at the reception what I can only assume is a prostitute, all the lights were off. He was upset to see me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.3 mi away
Town Hall Hotel
Town Hall Hotel
#172 of 1,069 in London
1,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
The RE London Shoreditch
The RE London Shoreditch
#559 of 1,069 in London
1,317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Elstree M25, Jct 23
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
CityStay Hotel
CityStay Hotel
#962 of 1,069 in London
246 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#820 of 1,069 in London
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge London Bethnal Green
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Hotel London

Property: City View Hotel London
Address: 287 Cambridge Heath Road | Bethnal Green, London E2 0EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City View Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City View Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City View Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing