We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Stay”
Review of Linden House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linden House Hotel
Ranked #755 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night and the only thing good about this hotel is the staff - they were very helpful when we locked our key in our room and also allowed us to leave our luggage as we arrived too early to check in. We stayed on the 4th Floor - be warned there is no lift and the stairs are small and steep. There is no aircon, so during the hot weather the rooms are like an oven - we almost decided to sleep outside it was that hot in there. Also I was woken up a few times late at night by room doors slamming shut as people returned from their night out. I have to honestly say that this hotel is overpriced. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K-FromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 740 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here last September and it was really good! For the money you pay what do you expect the rits?? Come on get real.. If your wanting a base, simple breakfast and a bed to stop in then this is the place to go, it was clean the rooms were small but perfect for a few days stay, close to the underground and shops literally a 5 minute.
We also went to the pubs near by which were friendly and cosy, there is also a indian curry house down the road which just looks like a shop we went there for a meal one night and the Currys were amazing!
Good service and nice staff in the hotel would stay again if we wanted to stay in that area of London.
If your just wanting a place to stay this is defiantly the place but if your expecting it to be like the ritz don't even bother, was really perfect for us and good value for money but some people expect to much from a clearly basic hotel.

Room Tip: Simple,close to underground and basic rooms. Just what you want really for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is a dump. Stay away. There is no lift, if you stay on 4th floor be prepared to carry all your luggage on your own, no assistance from staff. Staff not willing to assist at all. Overpriced! No air conditioner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. The rooms are so small that you can't even open the bathroom door all the way! The breakfast was terrible, and it ended at 9am! Last check-out was at 11 am, and they couldn't keep your bags at the hotel for a few hours after check-out. The staff was not friendly or helpful in ANY way!! They say they have free wifi, but when you get there, there is no internet in the rooms, and you have to pay to use a computer in the lobby if you want to go online. The breakfast room was down in a crowded smelly basement! I would not recommed this hotel to anyone! The area is great though. There are many hotels in the Paddington area. It is close to Hyde park and Oxford street. But choose another hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Good things:

+The location. - You can easily walk into oxford street for some shopping. But you are still not in the stressfull part of london.

+ neighborhood - Very cute and nice.

+ 2 minutes walk to paddington underground.

+ clean hotel.

+ OK, furnished - you get what you pay for. IKEA

+ very nice staff - In the reception. They helpt us with every thing we asked for.

The not so good things.

- We got 2 single beds. even though we booked a double bed. (We could certainly had to change if we wanted to, but we never asked)

- the breakfast. - You get what you pay for. And Hello this is London - the food is never good.

- The cleaninglady took our sheets. (we had pushed our beds together, and then sheets disappeared from one bed after day 1. For some reason, all sheets disappeared all for the last
night.???)

- the view. - one meter outside the window, there was a wall.

- noisy - we could hear the neighbors all the time. (this is not something that bother us)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location for a night out in London,5 tube stops from oxford circus, pretty much on the front door step of paddington train station tube and national rail.24 hour reception! Room and shower was clean and tidy! Staff friendly.
Plenty of continental brekkie.. Boiled eggs, cheese, loadsof toast and jam, fills a hole before making your way home!served from 7am!
Main issue was the curtain that wasn't lined , so we were awake 3am due to the buckets of daylight streaming in! Can't complain was 71.00 for 2 adults in a double room, all in!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reviewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you are not expecting a top-class hotel like Shangrila or Hilton, then this a reasonably very good hotel with good vicinity, near the Underground and Paddington Train station. Also Bond and Oxford streets are walking-distant away, Hotel staff are helpful, providing us with good tips to go about the area and even arranged transfer service for us.

Frankly, if you prefer the ambience of a hotel, as what you read in English story books of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple then you should stay at this kind of hotel.

Room Tip: We prefer room with windows by the main street, as we are abit nosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZackJalaneunos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Rhodes Hotel
#357 of 1,077 in London
1,471 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#697 of 1,077 in London
391 reviews
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#817 of 1,077 in London
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#553 of 1,077 in London
805 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#741 of 1,077 in London
676 reviews
Queensway Hotel
#762 of 1,077 in London
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House Hotel

Address: 6 Sussex Place, London W2 2TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #755 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $60 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Linden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Hotel London
Linden House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing