We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and friendly”
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #633 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed a weekend at this hotel on an impulse trip - ordered only three-four days in advance. Very friendly staff and nice to receive a rose at arrival. The rooms are basic. Very central and walking distance to a number of different tube stations with quick access to the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellensto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBridgeHotelTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest :
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, great to know that our central location to the City has been of benefit to you. It does make exploring London so much easier.

We are delighted that you found the staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed our red rose on arrival .

We are looking to updating our rooms in the near future.

We strive to provide the highest level of service to our guests at the hotel and we are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip .

Kind regards,
Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for The Bridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 592 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Well just had the night here,rooms could do with a lick of paint,very friendly staff,clean.fresh fruit in rooms n bottled water also a mini fridge,tesco express just down the road turn left out of hotel 30 second walk,turn right out of hotel cross road turn left into London road a very good fish n chip shop called castle fish n chips.would Defo recommend spotlessly clean!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluefox1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBridgeHotelTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your views about The Bridge Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your complementary bottle of water and fresh bowl of fruit that is supplied to all rooms, and that you found the staff to be very helpful and friendly .Our central location to the local amenities makes for great nights out.

We are looking to upgrading our rooms in the near future and are looking forward to seeing on next trip into London.

Kind regards,
Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I spent a night at this pleasant, low-key budget hotel during a whistle-stop business trip last week and I had a very positive experience. The location is central and highly convenient in that it provides easy access to tube stations and city attractions, especially if you are not entirely familiar with urban London. The room I stayed in was small but clean, pleasant and comfortable. I also enjoyed a large, tasty, freshly cooked breakfast before checking out the next morning. I found all the staff to be extremely friendly, helpful and professional in every way, and their warm and efficient customer service made a big difference to my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBridgeHotelTeam, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your views about The Bridge Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and that you found the staff be very helpful and friendly .

We strive to provide the highest level of service to our guests at the hotel and we are glad this has met with your expectations.

We shall see you again on your next visit .

kind regards



Ahmed Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My friend and I stayed on 6th September. Very happy with the location. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful. Had a couple of slight problems with TV & shower which were rectified speedily and pleasantly. We were also given a discount. Very satisfied with the excellent customer service and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stantilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBridgeHotelTeam, Public Relations Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your views about The Bridge Hotel.

We are delighted that you and your friend enjoyed your stay here and that you found the staff be very helpful and friendly .Our full English breakfast is always cooked fresh and plentiful for our guest to help start their day fresh .

We strive to provide the highest level of service to our guests at the hotel, if any unexpected problems arises during their stay we are more than happy to try and resolve the matter speedily.

We are very much looking forward to seeing you and your friends on your next trip .

Kind regards,
Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Bridge Hotel is relatively cheap, compared to other hotels in the neighbourhood, but you must not have high expectations.
It is rather grubby, in need of paint and redecoration. The walls are so thin that you hear your neighbours going into and out of their room. There is no lift, which could be problem if you have a heavy suitcase, and your room is on the third floor. It was hot in London in early September, and the room has no ventilation or AC, but leaving the window open makes it too noisy to sleep.
I was asked several times if I wanted a cooked breakfast (at an additional 7 pounds) but was not interested. When I found the breakfast room in the morning (the cellar, with the entrance outside) the alternative turned out to be toast and instant coffee. The breakfast room smells of cooking fat - maybe something to do with the kebab restaurant next door...
I would not go back to The Bridge Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenBeansSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBridgeHotelTeam, Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

From the mananger of The Bridge Hotel we would like to thank you for your review. This is very important to us and we try our best to make your stay as pleasurable and comfortable as possible.

Your comments have been taken on board and in the near future we will be striving to improve the up-keep of the hotel as well as in the process of expanding the hotel by adding more rooms plus putting in a lift so that our guest accessibility to and from the top floor levels are less strenuous.

From the manager of The Bridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is very cheap, centrally located for access to the city and its attractions. But be warned, you get what you pay for, the standard is low but on the most part, clean and friendly. They try to ensure your stay is as good as can be. Local pubs, the ship and the stage door, are very friendly also. The reviews for this hotel vary widely. This is because the rooms vary wildly. Some of the double rooms have a kitchenette, table and chairs, a nice modern ensuite and a full length wardrobe. However this particular room was on the 2nd floor up 42 steps. If you are not up to this, then the ground floor rooms have no kitchenette, no table and chairs, a dingy ensuite, no full length wardrobe and in the shower, a mouldy curtain with a thigh high shower screen that opens inwards. ?? Both charged at the same price. The thing that is consistent is the friendliness of the staff. But be warned, they often do a quick knock and pop their head in to see if everything is ok, often catching you in various states of undress. Locking your door is a must!

Room Tip: Ask for room 23 if you can cope with the 42 steep steps.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiredAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBridgeHotelTeam, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for your comment. We at The Bridge Hotel try our best to make your stay with us as pleasurable as possible. We are a family owned business and we strive to maintain the up keep of the hotel. All our rooms are cleaned and monitored on a daily basis. We provide our guest with fresh fruit, water and hot beverages. We will always endeavour to work towards making our guest stay a happy experience and will continue to correct negative comments if and when we can.

Thank you for your feedback from the management of The Bridge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Bridge is a short walk from the Elephant & Castle Tube Station, is clean, and cramped.
The cramped part is probably the least important. Seriously, we had a twin room that was small enough that the beds could not be separated by more than a foot. The bathroom was dated and tiny. All of that didn't mean a thing to us. We spent about seven hours a day--virtually all of it asleep--in the room and it did its job. We slept well. Seriously, we'd stay there again because the rates were excellent for London and the room did what we needed it to do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBridgeHotelTeam, Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for your comment. We at The Bridge Hotel try our best to make your stay with us as pleasurable as possible. We are a family owned business and we strive to maintain the up keep of the hotel. All our rooms are cleaned and monitored on a daily basis. We provide our guest with fresh fruit, water and hot beverages. We will always endeavour to work towards making our guest stay a happy experience and will continue to correct negative comments if and when we can.

Thank you for choosing The Bridge Hotel. We are delighted to having you as our guest.

From the Manager of The Bridge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#452 of 1,072 in London
2,640 reviews
London City Hotel
#230 of 1,072 in London
724 reviews
Caring Hotel
#535 of 1,072 in London
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Church Street Hotel
#516 of 1,072 in London
430 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#267 of 1,072 in London
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Address: 30 Borough Road, London SE1 0AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #633 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $83 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel London
The Bridge Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing