We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good”
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #616 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“not good”
Reviewed March 8, 2008

This is one of the worst hotels I and my collegue have stayed in. We chose it as we were going to the University for a conference. It appears to be next to a Hall of residence and the occupents partied into the small hours and were very noisy. The bed linen was not good so we ended up sleeping in our clothes. The smoke detector was covered with a plastic bag. Good H&S! There were cigarette ends floating in the toilet.The area was very suspect and we didn't feel comfortable walking from the tube in the dark. We arrived at 9pm so didn't feel comfortable going back into central London because we didn't want to walk back. There were no resturants around. The chinese in the picture is no longer there. All in all a bad experience.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank scaryDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    188
    110
    49
    27
See reviews for
124
118
77
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

We booked this hotel because of its relatively cheap price and it proximity to Waterloo station and these were really the only two things that were ok with this hotel. Upon arrival, a bit later than expected I'll note, the front door was locked and we had to call someone to let us in. We had to hike up a tiny stairway to the fourth floor with all our luggage due to no elevator. The room was fairly small but the worst part was the bed. We had requested a double but found two single beds, practically cots, pushed together. I say cots as there was no real cushion on the bed, merely springs that made sleeping next to impossible. I will say that the man who let us in was rather sweet and provided us with milk, cereal, and fruit for breakfast but I would definitely stay elsewhere if ever in the predicament again of needing a room for a quick stayover in London.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Horrible bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lhtennispro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallone74
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We stayed at the Bridge Hotel because like others said it is close to Waterloo Station. We were taking the Eurostar over to Paris the next day so we wanted to be close. When we finally arrived the entrance was on the side across the street from the South Bank College. The "lobby" was a small coat room with a credit card machine, phone, desk and seat. The rooms on a whole felt dirty and unclean. It was small with cheap laminate wood flooring and twin aluminum beds from IKEA. We found a bug in my wife’s bed and at 1AM when the bars closed the college kids were yelling at the college and kept us awake. The bathroom was ensuite and was little and didn't feel clean. It was dilapidated with seals splitting and mold in areas. We were supposed to stay there 2 more nights after our stay in Paris, but cancelled because it was so bad. We felt on a whole it was no better than a private room at a Hostel. We have pictures to share upon request, but they are over the 2MB allowed by TripAdvisor

  • Liked — Location to Waterloo Station
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tallone74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2007

Good location, close to centre of London but in a slightly dodgy neighbourhood. Room was quite large, but no attempt at decor. Random mix of old furniture. Shared bathrooms were not the best (we seemed to be sharing with the extended family...) Bit of a rabbit warren to get to our room on the top floor. But the price was right, and breakfast fine (not traditional english, though).

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shosta_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

Wanted a hotel near Waterloo station. Found this through Tripadvisor reviews. Hotel entrance in a side street, a bit obscure and the 'reception' area is about the size of a large bathroom. Dont let this put you off. They were friendly and helpful. We needed to be at Waterloo at 0730hrs. Breakfast was later but the manager opened up the kitchen, offered to scramble us some eggs and gave us toast and cereal and then helped load suitcases into the car and drove us to Waterloo (less than 5 minutes) at no charge. We offered him a £5 tip which he smilingly refused to take. The rooms were very clean etc.Only tip is: If you have heavy suitcases, either ask for a lower floor room ( 3 or 4 floors with no lift) - (I had read that in reviews but I forgot) ...or ask them to help you. We struggled to get our suitcases up as they were heavy and afterwards they said to us 'you should have just asked us'....
But a refreshing experience - especially for London. Great price, great service.

  • Liked — Great location, friendly and helpful, clean and reasonably priced
  • Disliked — Lack of lift
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for lowest floor
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oztravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at The Bridge Hotel in London England. The hotel is in walking distance from Waterloo Train Station and close proximity to Big Ben and Tower Bridge. The hotel is located in the same building as a Chinese Restaurant but is very clean and great for the money. I would suggest going through lastminute when reserving your room. Staff is very accomodating and there is a continental breakfast added onto the cost of your room. One word of caution, this hotel does not have an elevator so if possible request a room on the first floor!!! Also there are no phones in the room, so if you are expecting a call, you must check in with the hotel staff. Overall the hotel proved to be a pleasant stay for my husband and myself and actually kept us in shape from walking up and down all of the stairs!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank porschej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2006

The Bridge Hotel at 30 Borough Road, London is convenient for Waterloo Station and Eurostar which is why we stayed there.

Generally, it is a good value budget hotel but it does have some disadvantages.

It is located above a Chinese Restuarant, so there are some smells from that activity and the staff there seem to double on the hotel reception, so on arrival you will need to go the restaurant to get their attention!

Our room was at the top of the building and up several flights of stairs. (In fairness, we were told that if we had asked for a room on a lower floor at the time of booking, we would have been given one.)

The room was small but clean and well served with an ensuite bathroom. The bedroom also had a pridge and small kitchen area. The window was in the roof.

But all said, the staff were friendly and our case was taken up the stairs to our room for us. As we had to leave early for the Eurostar, they gave us a plentiful supply of biscuits in lieu of breakfast!

It served its purpose for us - it took less than ten minutes to walk to Waterloo Station. They loaned us an alarm clock as we had to be up for 4 a.m. and the room was comfortable.

So, you pay your money and you make your choice. It represented good value for a City centre hotel close to Waterloo. Although they recommened the Elephant and Castle tube as being nearest - we thought that Waterloo was just as close.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chrisjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London City Hotel
#224 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#418 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Church Street Hotel
#464 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#240 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Property: The Bridge Hotel
Address: 30 Borough Road, London SE1 0AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #616 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel London
The Bridge Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing