We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, claims and trys to be 4 star but its not ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Ranked #494 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The wesley hotel use to be the MIC hotel and has undergone renovation. However it was only to half the hotel and unfortunately i got stuck in that portion. First the showers are not sealed properly so be careful not flood your bathroom, secondly the take poor attention to detail when cleaning. The mattresses are disgusting, the toilets are not properly cleaned especially underneath the seat. Also the grout is popping up in the bathroom.
Also hotel staff can be rude when part of our group tried to get something done about the condition of their room, considering they found pills all over it and hair on the mattress they refused to anything about it. In fact they were asked "what would you like us to do about it" which for a hotel with a 4 star rating is deplorable.
long story short i wont be staying at this hotel if i found myself in London again

Room Tip: The wesley hotel use to be the MIC hotel and has undergone renovation. However it was only to half t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank studenttraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMAU1969, MD at The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Studenttraveller55 from Denton, Texas,

Thank you for choosing TheWesley for your accommodation needs. Your alleagations are serious so I set to investigate them. We appreciate constructive criticism but as you can see from the other reviews, cleanliness is ticked as highest by majority. I have not been able to verify your claim. I can confidently say that we have an excellent housekeeping team and what you describe is unimaginable. I really do appeal to you to go on our website and if you have this evidence I would plead to see it so that I am not in denial and can resolve this once and for all.

We have changed the name to reflect our heritage. John Wesley began the Methodist social movement 3 centuries ago and managed to uplift the lives of those at the margin. Our profits are all gift-aided to support the education of students home and overseas.

Can I please persuade you to visit again and we promise to surprise you.

Every best Wish
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,286 - 1,292 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have used the MIC (now The Wesley) for the last 4 years and always find it exactly as described by previous reviewers with the exception that the high prices charged are now not reflective of the accommodation offered. I agree that the breakfasts are great, location good for Euston and all the staff very friendly - but I do not expect to pay £200 per night for exactly the same room that I used to pay £110-£120 for! I honestly cannot see where the £3m renovation cost has been spent unless it is on the conferencing side of things? The carpets are already looking a bit shabby. It is a shame because at these rates they will have serious competition from other nearby hotels e.g. The Pullman (used to be The Novotel). It is a real shame because I love supporting Social Enterprises but sorry chaps not at this price!

Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor if possible - it gets unbearably hot up there unless you are a fan of using air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMAU1969, MD at The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear JAP 25

Thank you for choosing TheWesley for your accommodation needs. We have changed the name to reflect our heritage. John Wesley began the Methodist social movement 3 centuries ago and managed to uplift the lives of those at the margin.

I am really sorry to hear that you found our prices higher than you have paid previously. We are the most competitive in term of prices within our set. Our improvement of the facility has been lauded by most guest and we are continuing to sort out every snag on the amenities to provide comfortable accommodation for our guests. Your feedback will certainly help in this respect.

It is a shame we did not get someone from our guest service to help you with cooling tech in your room. Please do come again and continue to support us and we promise not to disappoint you next time you visit.

Every best Wish
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Fantastic really happy I will be back it was perfect location I min walk from station .good quality breakfast the staff were more than nice and bonus traditional London pub across the road from hotel win win win .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 581DENISET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMAU1969, MD at The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Esteemed guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting such a positive review! I am extremely delighted that we exceeded your expectations. We have created in this space some of the most comfortable bedrooms rooms that compete favourably with five stars hotels in London. We have rooms in all sizes to give our guests a wide choice.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to offer you TheWesley brand of hospitality and letting the everyone know how much you enjoyed it. A social enterprise like ours thrives on the positive messages from people like yourselves.

As you may have learnt from us during your stay, we are the first ethical hotel in the UK. What that means is that we aim to provide guests with what we promise, that is quality service and accommodation but also all our profits are gift-aided for the education of deserving students all over the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

John
MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had read the last few reviews prior to booking and am glad I went to see for myself, not sure what the last two reviewers were looking for but glad the reviewer "bambino" who gave it five stars left his comment.

It is what it is....a no frills, no fuss facility which I found to be spotlessly clean and the staff welcoming, pleasant and extremely helpful. The breakfast was good with someone cooking fresh pancakes and eggs as well as a cold and hot buffet of which you could select as much or as little as you wished.

Room, compact and bijou but as a single traveller on business it was clean, quiet and comfortable. Five minute walk from my conference venue and two minutes from the station but far enough away to be quiet.

It depends what you are looking for...on one previous review it would appear that the person was looking for a romantic get-away (of which this certainly isn't) so my suggestion to the previous reviewer would be to choose with more consideration. As I say, it is what it is.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the back which is a pedestrian area overlooking some offices but I do bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMAU1969, MD at The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Joyv11 from Scotland

Many thanks for such a positive feedback. You do really get what TheWesley product is all about. We are an ethical hotel that provides great rooms at an affordable price and where all the food served is ethically sourced and leftovers environmentally disposed. We also giftaid every profit for the education of students who need support. We do not compromise on quality and continue to do everything to thrive as a centre of excellence. I am glad you do get!

Once again thanks!
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I needed to stay in a hotel for one night in vicinity to the station, from which we were travelling and booked this hotel for a night. As I knew Euston area pretty well from my student days, I chose this hotel as they were offering a special offer inclusive of breakfast. As far as I remember, we booked a superier room with two beds rather than standard room with a hope that the room would provide extra comfort than what an average room would. It said in the website at the time that superior room was a larger room than the standard room, but the room that was offered to us wasn't even half of what they said. The room was on the ground floor facing a dodgy back street being ocassionally overlooked by curtain-twitching residents ( equally suspicious) on opposite side of the building block and very small with a double room in the corner. It just reminded me of the room I stayed at the hall of residence ( Univ. of London) as a student. I thought we could have stayed in some other larger hotel chains such as Mercure or Novotel for the same rate and possibly the room would have been larger than this and offered more privacy. Anyway I rated this hotel to be 'average' only on the merit that they did nonetheless offer good hearty breakfast. The staff at the restaurant were friendly and attentive. I got freshly cooked scrambled eggs. For reception service therer is a room for improvement. It was a bit chaotic when we arrived to check in and receptionist served us very quickly to move on to serve the next customer. We had difficulty in locating our room as the key card didn't clearly say which room number it was. When we were told to go through the corridor where our room was located,we ended up walking past the room we were supposed to go to as there was no light in the corridor and it was very narrow. Also the room we stayed in was right next to the lift, so we could hear constant noise from the corner where the lift was located all day and night. So overall for the amount of money we paid, it was a big disappointment that we didn't get the size of the room we deserved.

Room Tip: Avoid the room situated next to the lift if you wanted a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musky999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMAU1969, MD at The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I do wish to apologise for all the issues you have raised. It is obvious that we did not meet your expectation. I am struggling to know the room you have described. As you may see from the various other reviews, we provide some of the cleanest rooms in London and our staff are extremely professional. I would love to invite you back together with your husband for you to give us a second chance to impress you. I will also speak with our staff so that in case there were lapses in our standards, then we can rectify these.

Every best wish
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

A very basic reception and street appeal. The staff were friendly on arrival but not very truthful when he said we could find the room service menu in my room.... The hotel does not do room service even though it is advertised with room service!!! Very large bed in a room that could probably do with a normal double. Comfy bed but a shame about the noisy air conditioning unit outside (room 217). Decor looks more suited to retail than a luxury hotel. No mirror in the bedroom. Dining room was more of a canteen... This for students/travellers rather than a luxury destination.

Room Tip: It is a little way out of town and not a romantic getaway ... Definitely no room service!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMAU1969, MD at The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Deb

Thank you for your feedback. I am saddened that you did not find our hotel to your taste. You have mentioned that the staff were not truthful re room service. I would be happy if you can write to me directly so I know who the member of staff was. We value every guest and this will be a first time when this has happened. Any issues of integrity are taken very seriously and we would want to nip anything of that sort in the bud rightaway.

It would also appear that the air-con did not allow you to have good quality sleep. Again we have so many guests who find our hotel very quiet and we will check this immediately to ensure that it is corrected.

I will attempt to get in touch with you to discuss this further so that we can correct any issues you raised and hopefully invite you back to enjoy the kind of hospitality that most of our guests have enjoyed in what is the UK's first ethical hotel.

Every best wish
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel which sometimes fills me with a bit of dread! However, I needn't have worried-immaculately clean and superbly located around 100 yards from Euston station and therefore straight on the Northern line heading down to Leicester Square in about 10 minutes. A very warm welcome at the reception to allow me to check-in even though it was still before the official check-in time. Although my room was quite small, it was immaculately clean with everything newly kitted out. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever and I will definitely stay here. Breakfast the following day was absolutely superb and my rate included a continental breakfast which I upgraded for just 5 pounds to a full English! Very friendly staff, all extremely accommodating and polite. What a pleasure-now looking to establish a corporate rate/relationship with this hotel and I would definitely recommend it for those seeking somewhere secure, well located and most importantly perfect for business. I didn't actually use the Wi-Fi but I gather that it works perfectly throughout the entire hotel. Well done everyone

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a room facing away from the main road as it's likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bambino145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMAU1969, MD at The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Esteemed guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting such a positive review! I am extremely delighted that we exceeded your expectations.

We have created in this space some of the most comfortable bedrooms rooms that compete favourably with five stars hotels in London. We have rooms in all sizes to give our guests a wide choice. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to offer you TheWesley hospitality and letting us and all our potential guests know how much you enjoyed it.

A social enterprise like ours thrives on the positive messages from people like yourselves. As you may have learnt from us during your stay, we are the first ethical hotel in the UK. What that means is that we aim to provide guests with what we promise, that is quality service and accommodation but also all our profits are gift-aided for the education of deserving students all over the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

John
MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#461 of 1,077 in London
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#622 of 1,077 in London
2,271 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Euston Square Hotel
Euston Square Hotel
#699 of 1,077 in London
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue

Address: 81-103 Euston Street, London NW1 2EZ, England (Formerly MIC - Hotel and Conference Center)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#315 Luxury Hotel in London
#361 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $101 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in Central London Euston, the four star Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue enjoys a convenient central location within easy reach of key transport connections such as Euston and King’s Cross stations. The Wesley has all the facilities you need under one roof. Space to meet, eat, sleep and enjoy a relaxing evening. Meetings With 15 meeting rooms accommodating up to 150 delegates, you’ll find flexible space for any size of business or personal event or celebration. All rooms are AV ready supported by knowledgeable and supportive staff. Restaurant When it’s time to dine, our bar and restaurant, The Savannah, which recently underwent a £1.5m refurbishment, serves freshly prepared food from sustainable suppliers. The Savannah boasts perfect space for networking events, private functions and Christmas parties. Bedrooms Single, double and king-sized rooms at the Wesley are furnished with comfortable beds to guarantee guests get a good night’s sleep. Sustainability Our ethical ethos is further reason why we’re not just another London hotel. We’re a social enterprise, anything the hotel makes goes straight to charity. We are Gold Investor in People, and accredited by Sustainable Restaurant Association and Green Planet. We’re the only hotel to receive a Social Enterprise Mark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mic - Hotel London
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing