We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short walk to tube, helpful staff”
Review of Jesmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jesmond Hotel
Ranked #25 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Short walk to tube, helpful staff”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The rooms are pretty basic, but we didn't need much to be comfortable. Our room was ensuite. It is on a major street which is nice because it's convenient, but it was noisy most of the night. We were so tired it didn't matter much, but for others I could see this being very bothersome- try and get a rear- facing room if possible. Breakfasts were great! Glen, one of the hosts, was very personable and knowledgeable about the city. Free internet access on a communal computer was a huge bonus. Short walk to Googe Street Station and the bus stop- we learned that our tube ticket worked for the bus too- very easy to get to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    191
    43
    19
    5
See reviews for
138
134
128
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shangha
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Really good location, close to several tube station and Euston / King Cross rail station. Easy to arrive and leaving. Very conventient for going- around London. People are nice and breakfast is good. No lift in hotel. I am on the top floor. Room is clean and shared toilet/bath room is clean and not feeling shared as almost not meet other guests during my 3 nights stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Rooms are small and simple with small beds; bathroom is okay. Good breakfast included. Nice, small garden in back but you have to get someone to unlock the door to enter, which is an annoyance. It's a peaceful place to relax and they should have free access. Goodge Tube station is about a 5 minute walk. Central London is maybe 30-40 minute walk -- Picadilly Circus, Leicester Square. Neighborhood is safe near a university center of some sort; middle-class residential area. Easy walk to Kings Cross railroad station - about 25 minutes. In short, convenient Soho area hotel. Price in U.S. $ is a bit steep for what you get. There are other similar hotels/BBs on the same street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Vonrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Pros: Excellent location close to local pubs and restaurants, as well as several Underground (subway) stations. The staff is kind and helpful. Breakfast is excellent, but may be limited for those on a vegetarian/vegan diet. They will do laundry for 7.5 pounds/load, which is nice when you are living out of a small bag. The rooms are clean, and the beds are softer (not super soft) than other budget hotels we stayed in Europe. They will hold on to your baggage even after you check out in the office, which is great.
Cons: We stayed in a shared bathroom room, which meant that our room and bed ended up being quite small. The shared bathrooms were ok, not great, but fine for a budget hotel. A couple we were traveling with had an en suite room, which was much nicer in size (both room and bed) and bathroom setup. We were facing towards the street during a heat wave, and there is no air conditioning, so we had to sleep with the window open. The room stayed hot despite the open window and Gower street is BUSY all night (sirens, cars, motorcycles) so we needed to use ear plugs, which weren't entirely effective. However, it's important to note that if you are going to be in town during a cooler time, you may not need to sleep with the window open. Also, the hotel does not have an elevator and that stairwell is steep and narrow, so keep this in mind when you are booking.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very pleasant B&B in an excellent location. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are small but charming and clean. The full English breakfast is delicious. The location is an easy walk to many tube stations, shopping areas, and museums.

Room Tip: Book your stay early if you want an en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The pros first: the staff are lovely and accomodating--they had no problems printing out passes for me for a show I'd booked, and didn't mind that after checking out but before catching a train, my friends and I wanted to hang out in the lounge for a while. The bed was comfortable (harder in London than you'd think!), the TV worked, and the shower was clearly new with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The location is excellent--a ten minute-ish walk to the British Museum, close to Russell Square, and a short walk from Goodge Street tube station so it's easy to get pretty much anywhere in central London. Requests were easily and cheerfully dealt with and I felt quite at home, and the price was very good indeed for the area. I only had the breakfast one morning, and I wasn't quite awake yet (I'm not a morning person by any means) so I have only vague memories of toast and eggs, but the coffee was proper filter coffee and not instant, which is a definite plus. The lounge is comfortable, with wifi and a guest computer as well as DVDs, and there are drinks you can buy on the honour system for quite cheap.

Small niggles that it's worth knowing about--the front of the hotel is loud, even with the windows shut. Gower Street is not a quiet street and there's nothing the hotel can do about this more than they already have (the windows are already double-glazed and there are thick curtains to block out what they can), but if you're a light sleeper it's something you'll have to contend with. (Also, London in the summer can be very humid, and so it often comes down to a choice between being hot and sticky or being loud.) My room (a single) was small but adequate for my purposes--I was just storing stuff and sleeping there, while sightseeing with friends--and it's definitely no-frills; it was also dusty. I'm not sure that's something they can do much about; dust just tends to happen, but I did sneeze quite a bit. (I'm allergic to everything; this might not bother you.)

If you're looking for a luxury break this isn't going to be it, but if you want a reasonable price for a comfortable place to eat, sleep and shower while seeing London, it'll do the trick nicely.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the street if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Wasn't expecting much just looking for clean safe place. Found it a little dull and worn, British Museum was convenient and walk to theaters wasn't bad but we were surprised at difficulty finding food after 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DakotaRose_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#133 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#92 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#240 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#31 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#58 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arran House Hotel
Arran House Hotel
#360 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Hotel

Property: Jesmond Hotel
Address: 63 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jesmond Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a budget hotel in London? We welcome you to the Jesmond Hotel, a family-run, friendly bed and breakfast hotel in the centre of London. The Jesmond Hotel has been established and run by the Beynon family for over 30 years and we aim to provide friendly, affordable, hotel accommodation for all of our guests. We pride ourselves on the many guests that return to us year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Jesmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing