We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most unhelpful hostess ever encountered” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dove at Hammersmith

The Dove at Hammersmith
Ranked #51 of 1,269 Nightlife in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Truly one of London's best kept secret! A proper English pub, 17th century, filled with old and young, consisting of small rooms, an open fire, low wooden tudor beams, and best of all - an outside wooden terrace – almost alp chalet style -overlooking the Thames right where it curls east and west (great for watching the boat race). With the sun shining on the river, people rowing past, walking dogs and pushing babies along the river, you'll feel like you are in The Wind In The Willows rather than central London.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most unhelpful hostess ever encountered”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

After bringing visiting family over from their hotel in North London to dine here, we arrived to find that the hostess had made our booking for the following week. Understanding this was a mistake we waited for an alternative table or time when we could eat. We were told next Thursday when your booking is???? There was no effort made what so ever to find us a table so we left and went to the Blue Anchor. As a regular here I was shocked that this had happened, It was the first time that I have had a bad experience here, which was made much worse due to the fact I had bigged it up to my family. If this place is to continue to pull regular return trade the hostess especially needs some training in customer service and how to handle and rectify issues that were created by the staff themselves.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank DA1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    70
    22
    8
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“River view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We called in here by chance for lunch while doing an extended walk along the Thames. The food was very hearty, I had the bangers and mash which was excellent and there was a good range of beers. we had the table by the window overlooking the river which added to the occasion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DemonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Oldest pub in Hammersmith still does well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very old pub on the river in Hammersmith, parking isn't easy but inside we found a seat outside and the view was fantastic watching the sunset. Great choice of beers and had nipples from the bar menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesH604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The cosiest riverside pub in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I've been leaving nearby for over a year, yet only discovered this pub a couple of month ago (luckily, during the summer!). It's a real wonder, with a terrace overlooking the Thames, cosy chairs and tables in this ancient-looking pub, and amazing for lunch on a sunny day, relaxed drinks in the evening, or even a nice dinner by the chimney (yes, the fire in the chimney!!) in the winter. Staff is very friendly, food menu changes with the seasons and is always very good, and good selections of beers, ales and ciders. Definitely my go-to place!

Careful though, do book a table before showing up in the evening, especially during the weekend, as it's very tiny and gets booked quite fast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castrop-Rauxel, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best and the Smallest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Been here with my dad about 5 times in the last years.
We had a great relaxing time everytime we came there.
When the weather is nice, you can, when lucky, sit outside and enjoy your beer and food with a beautiful view of the Thames. When not, it's good inside as well.
Staff was friendly every time we came there and had a lot of knowledge of the area.
Good selection of beers and food. Take the walk there and enjoy your part of the day at the Dove.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dove at Hammersmith also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Dove at Hammersmith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing