We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location and faciliy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #5 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgeway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
232 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location and faciliy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is my second stay at this facility. Located in the Victoria area, it is convenient but also quiet. We have a junior suite with kitchen, sitting area and 1 bedroom. The hotel is clean, the staff attentive.The beds are very comfortable. The exercise facility is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alvinmc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    118
    28
    10
    0
See reviews for
444
384
34
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here this year. It was only an overnight stay for a business meeting, but the 1 bedroom suites are extremely spacious for central london. The service is excellent and so is the food. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark9742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We thoroughly loved our stay at the Taj Suites. The location is just the best and the ambience and staff together make the a very special place to stay.

We would add that the breakfast is second to none.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjsnz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the perfect London hotel for our family of 4 (children 8 & 11). We had a large 2 bedroom apartment with kitchen, and living room. What more can you ask for - Four Seasons high level service but in an apartment like setting. We all slept extremely well in our comfortable beds. In fact, the beds were more comfortable than what we have at home. Loved the fact that they offered a large selection of pillow types. We asked for a quiet apartment and got one. If you are staying in a suite and you are sensitive to smoke, make sure you ask them to make the unit smoke free before you arrive. We are very sensitive to smoke and they did a great job cleaning the unit out before we arrived to remove any scent of smoke in our unit.

Service was the best and although the hotel was a bit on the expensive, it did make our first family vacation in Europe so much more enjoyable. The hotel did not nickel and dime you on the small stuff: they had ample complimentary still and sparkling water, 6:30-8:30pm complimentary drinks and appetizers, free popcorn/soda and dvds for movie nights, etc.

I loved the fact that there was a small washer/dryer in the kitchen so that we were able to pack lightly and zip in and out of the airport with just carryon luggage. The hotel is right by Buckingham Palace and the St. James Tube Station. Also, you can easily walk to Westminster Abbey.

Best indian food we ever had was at Quilon, located right next to the hotel. Alex, Nelson and John were extremely helpful and courteous before the trip with booking tickets and providing advice on booking a rental car, etc. and during the trip with restaurant recommendations and other tips.

The only slightly negative thing I could say is that the lobby area is very small and it does not have the grand feeling of a large hotel but honestly, that is not top on my list of importance. I loved the fact that the hotel was hidden away in a beautiful courtyard - away from the hustle and bustle of the busy city. A real gem!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelPLKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was an excellent place to stay with a family (or for a romantic weekend for two for that matter). The accomodations were excellent beginning with the car the hotel provided to pick us up from Heathrow. We had a huge two bedroom apartment (for our three boys 15, 13 and 10) with two baths (one bathroom was a bit small but I am really getting picky), a living room and kitchen all arranged along a long hallway. Our stay included breakfast each morning as well as a cocktail hour every evening. The hotel was within a 5 minute walk from the gates of Buckingham Palace and located in a quiet courtyard. It was also a 5 minute walk from a tube station. The courtyard was quiet, complete with fountain and outdoor dining at an excellent restaurant. The staff was more than accomodating and helpful. The concierges: Nelson, Alex and John were helpful before our arrival with booking shows and events and were helpful when we arrived by booking a rental car to Stonehenge, arranging fast track tickets to popular attractions and booking dinner reservations. I would defintely go back with my family, recommend it to my closest friends and family and take my wife back for a quite getaway when my kids are finally in college!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the building where the concierge desk was located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed in this Hotel from 20th Aug. till 23th Aug. for the first time. Location was excellent just a few steps from Buckingham Palace and a walking distance to other attractions. Upon arrival, we were greeted by all staff and check-in was smooth as silk. Escorted to our suite with good explanation of the room features. It was a big room with all what you expect to have. BF was excellent served by staff with proficiency. They have different choice of foods and beverages out-let jointly with another hotel in the same location. Just set and enjoy the service and quality.

Room Tip: Seek higher floors to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdullah62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful boutique London hotel at the end of July. It was a fantastic experience from the amazing breakfast which my husband declared the best hotel breakfast he has eaten, to the amazing personal service to our 5 yo son who was greated by name every time we came in to remembering his hot chocolate at breakfast 'just warm'!
We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which gave us huge space including a full dine in kitchen in which we held dinner parties for visiting family using the room service from the Michelin starred Indian restaurant downstairs!!!!
I can't recommend this hotel enough, and as a plus easy walking distance to all the best London sites!
We will return!

Room Tip: As a family we loved our suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,315 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#20 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#4 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#8 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing