We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent for families, expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #7 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Chose this hotel based on previous reviews. Absolutely great location, walkable to Parliament, Thames, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and Cathedral, 2 steps from Buckingham Palace, 5 mins from Victoria and Tube. Gorgeous entry courtyard of the St James Court so you do not feel like you are on a Main Street at all.

We had a two bedroom suite with a rollaway bed for the 5 of us. Living room and dining area were large and separate kitchen w Nespresso machine and capsules were an unexpected plus. Washing machine (while I had then, to wash clothes) was convenient too.

Only issue with our suite were the bathrooms which had doors that block the sink so kids can't all get in there together when we're trying to get going.

Also, since there are full kitchens, several guests must have been cooking their own food which permeated the hallways and our room daily. They supplied an air freshener that we ran continuously but didn't hide the strong Indian food odors.

We splurged to stay here so expect to pay a high rate of over 900 pounds a night. Upside was I got the 4th night free so that helped a bit with the average nightly rate.

My kids LOVED this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jagnes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

From arrival to departure the service is first class. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite which was huge and included a spacious sitting area and fully equipped kitchen. The breakfast was excellent and the complimentary cocktails from 6.30pm get the evening off to a great start. All this and a perfect location on a quiet street near Buckingham Palace make this a perfect choice for any London stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gundogjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Perfect in every way , room, location etc. What sets it apart is the service -genuine, personal,unpretentious and professional. They make you feel like you are home. The place to stay when in London. Check it out

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Exceptional service. Every member of the staff was friendly and attentive. The suites are spacious and elegant - perfect for families. We had a large kitchen with a washer/dryer. The hotel is located around the corner from Buckingham Palace and there is a subway stop close by. It was perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlantaGA15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent customer service, delicious food, very welcoming staff. We stayed in a suite which was extremely spacious with a separate kitchen and very large living room/dining room. There is a courtyard area outside for eating/relaxing which is beautiful. We were shown to our room by Sergio who went above and beyond the usual service to ensure that we were comfortable. He was very kind to our children, who were very happy to receive a large backpack upon check-in with all sorts of fun toys.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tansri_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a suite for a weekend stay. Is perfectly located near the palace and gives east access to all main London attractions.....
This place is fantastic, the service is second to none. We were met by Thomas who showed us to our room with the most genuine and warmest welcome. All the hotel staff go out of their way to look after you.
The food is super - Thomas organised, at short notice, a table for us at the Michelin starred Indian restaurant which was fantastic South Indian cuisine which was fantastically served and presented. Tasted just like we had in the finest restaurants in South India.
We'll return for sure........

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UK007agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is one fabulous hotel! We stayed 7 days with a family of four...two teenagers. I have to say first and foremost, the customer service was superb. They literally looked for ways to improve your stay every chance they got. You would call down for a wakeup call and they would ask if you needed coffee brought up at same time. If you wanted to stay in and just watch a dvd, they asked you if you wanted them to bring up movie popcorn and candy and so on. None of this cost extra! They call you the night before check out and want to know if you will need a cab and what time. It never ends. I was blown away constantly by how great the customer service was. I loved the complimentary breakfast. They did not scrimp on anything. It was like a 5 star restaurant but it was included in the price. There was one particular employee named Erol I believe was his name, he was THE BEST! He just could not work any harder to make our stay perfect.
The location was great to the underground. The area is quiet so sleeping was not a problem. The accommodations were first rate. I could go on and on about how much I loved this place!!!!! It is expensive but these are suites. We had two full bedrooms and baths, a full kitchen and a living area. Perfect for a family with teenagers that need room to spread out!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cccanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,837 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#8 of 1,076 in London
1,352 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,076 in London
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,076 in London
3,289 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,076 in London
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#7 Luxury Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $377 - $914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing