We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #5 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is one fabulous hotel! We stayed 7 days with a family of four...two teenagers. I have to say first and foremost, the customer service was superb. They literally looked for ways to improve your stay every chance they got. You would call down for a wakeup call and they would ask if you needed coffee brought up at same time. If you wanted to stay in and just watch a dvd, they asked you if you wanted them to bring up movie popcorn and candy and so on. None of this cost extra! They call you the night before check out and want to know if you will need a cab and what time. It never ends. I was blown away constantly by how great the customer service was. I loved the complimentary breakfast. They did not scrimp on anything. It was like a 5 star restaurant but it was included in the price. There was one particular employee named Erol I believe was his name, he was THE BEST! He just could not work any harder to make our stay perfect.
The location was great to the underground. The area is quiet so sleeping was not a problem. The accommodations were first rate. I could go on and on about how much I loved this place!!!!! It is expensive but these are suites. We had two full bedrooms and baths, a full kitchen and a living area. Perfect for a family with teenagers that need room to spread out!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cccanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    140
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
568
467
43
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the best hotels for families in London--beautifully appointed suites that are more like full-on apartments. Ideally located steps from the Palace, as you might expect, as well as Hyde Park. This was our second stay and initially there was a glitch with our reservation. Not to worry-the staff truly extended themselves and worked tirelessly to make our stay perfect. The concierge also spent 15 minutes on the phone with the airline to straighten out a missing reservation. Rooms are quiet and spacious. The hotel itself is set back a bit from hustle and bustle, making it a refuge after a busy day. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am from Norway and I stayed at 51 Buckingham Gate in London for 5 days. It is a nice Hotel. It is in general clean and the Hotel offers a stunning breakfast.
However when we stayed there between 7-11 may 2013, the Hotel were refurbishing the entrance and the stairs to the south building. There were dust everywhere and when we went out in the morning, the kids got dust from the carpet and sanded plastic on their clothes. In addition to that, I had an important business meeting in our suite. That meeting turned out a bit embarrassing because my stakeholder had to walk through a hallway filled with craftsmen.
After I spoke with the manager about the problem, I was eventually offered an alternative room in the north building. This was however after 2 nights and we had to move during our stay instead of enjoying the best of London.

I am the opinion that a five star hotel that is refurbishing the hall should automatically reorganize the guests into the suites which are not being renovated. Not when the guest complains but before the guest are even given the chance to complain.

That is not to much to ask, is it?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
15 Thank Fredrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at 51 Buckingham Gate for 5 nights with our 17yo son in a two bedroom Falconer suite. We arrived in the early morning and our suite was not ready so the staff arranged for us to use another room to freshen up and get our bearings. Our suite was beyond roomy. Overall, the property is immaculate and fresh. The in-suite Nespresso machine made the morning wake up
relatively painless. There is a combo washer/dryer in the suite which was very helpful although not quite ready for prime time in terms of speed, wrinkles, etc. The Taj is in close proximity to Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey as well as a 10 minute cab ride to Soho or Knightsbridge. The Library offered complimentary coffee, juices and pastries in the morning as well as cocktails and hors devours in the evening. More substantial breakfast was also available on an a la carte menu.
Aside from the wonderful physical attributes the most important part of our experience was the level of service at the Taj. We have never experienced such outstanding care anywhere. Every wish was honored with grace and speed.
If perfection exists it can be found at 51 Buckingham Gate!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonVivant57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Bonvivant57,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review 51 Buckingham Gate and for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor readers.
We are all delighted to know that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and that the size of your Two Bedroom Falconers suite made it a very comfortable experience for you and your family.
I very much hope you will return to London and will choose to stay with us in the furture.

With warm regards and best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and could not have been more impressed.

To begin, you can't beat the location of the hotel - it is centrally located in a great neighborhood. We were able to easily walk to Buckingham Palace, Westminster, Trafalgar, etc. The staff at the front desk and the concierge were so friendly and really took time out to make sure we had a fabulous stay. We requested theatre tickets and dinner reservations in the morning and by the time we returned in the afternoon, everything was booked and ready to go. We stayed here before and after a week long trip to Greece and the staff was also excellent in helping to arrange airport transfers, etc. The rooms were large, very comfortable, updated and pristine. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and drinks and snacks in the courtyard. This is one of the few hotels I have stayed at that I think would be perfect for any type of traveler - couples, families, solo or business. I can't imagine needing to stay anywhere else. Thank you for a great trip - we hope to return soon!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Molly R,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to review 51 Buckingham Gate.

I am delighted to know that you very much enjoyed the hotel and also its location. We are indeed in a superb location to discover London with Buckingham Palace only 3 minutes walk away and at a short walking distance to the Royal Parks and other wonderful sights.

With some of the most spacious suites in London and from a Junior Suite to one, two and three bedroom suites from couples to large families 51 is a great choice to come back each evening and relax.

Please do come back soon, we look forward to welcome you back.

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our family (four of us) plus my sister's family have been staying at '51' for the past 10 years. We are always greeted and treated like family by the whole staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The service is second to none. Araceli, the manager of the hotel, is warm, professional and runs the hotel beautifully.

Leaving is the only hardship we endure. Can not recommend this hotel enough. You will not be disappointed.

Patricia and Jonathan

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaBNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear PatriciaBNewYork,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and it is so wonderful that year after year you return to 51 Buckingham Gate with your family, we love having you with us and we all look forward to see you every year.

In such an intimate hotel and with such caring team around me it is easy to build strong relationships that last for many, many years.

I look forward to see you again in 2014.

Warmest regards and best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was my first trip to England. Traveling with my husband, our two adult children, and an extra guest, the staff were amazing! Dinner reservations, theatrical and football tickets, any and all requests were met with promptness and a smile. Two blocks from Buckingham Palace and Victoria Station. The only thing that beats the location are the accommodations. Beautiful!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meglv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Meglv0,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to know that on your first trip to London you had a wonderful time and that the concierge team helped you to plan it and to get the tickets to all the places you wanted to go.

Thank you also for your comments on the team who are genuin and caring and will do their utmost to accommodate your every request.

I do hope this will be the first of many more visits to this wonderful city and be sure we look forward to your return to 51 Buckingham Gate.

With warmest regards

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#10 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing