We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable! Best in London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #4 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unbelievable! Best in London”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

You will not find a better hotel in London! From the time we checked in until we left, we were treated like we lived down the street at Buckingham Palace! The service was 5 stars, people were friendly and helpful. It is a great value for the dollar. Luxury, location and service. The perfect start to our European Vacation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    143
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
588
473
44
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel deserves the accolades it has received. The accommodation, facilities and service are excellent. The location means that most major attractions are within walking distance. I have difficulty in judging value for money, not being used to such luxury. However if you can afford the best, considering it is about twice the price of 'ordinary' hotels in Central London, this is good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the moment of arrival to the time you leave, the service at this hotel is out of the world.

There is literally nothing to criticise and everything to applaud.

The size and standard of the rooms is wonderful. The free canapes and drinks early evening are a pleasant surprise.

I won't hesitate to make this hotel my first choice on future London trips

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Faith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel and the staff. It is gorgeous and truly 5* quality. The service was outstanding and they were excellent with our kids (ages 4 and 8). They upgraded us upon arrival and made the boys (and me and my husband) feel special from the time we arrived. They provided special gift bags for the kids (which they are still using and carrying around), the movies with drinks and popcorn was also a nice touch, and the breakfast was phenomenal. They very much exceeded my expectations and I highly recommend! It is worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taustin1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed with my family and the staff at 51 Buckingham Gate were superb and attentive throughout.
We have five year old daughters and informed staff before we arrived, and they laid out mini dressing gowns, slippers and Hamleys gift bags for the girls. My wife got some time in the spa while we occupied ourselves with the toys in the gift bag. It's a shoes throw from Buckingham Palace ad the staff are the most courteous I have ever experienced. I travel for work around 20 times a year and have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world. This was the best, most accommodating experience of staff I've had, especially as we were a young family.

Without a doubt the best family hotel in London. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrislunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I frequently use TripAdvisor when planning vacations but have never written a review. I am moved to post my first because everything other reviewers have said about the service at 51 Buckingham Gate is true!

Starting with the booking process, the staff was beyond accommodating of every request, and even anticipated some of our needs. We were traveling with our two sons (ages 8 and 10) and instead of the two rooms we had reserved, they upgraded us to a spacious two bedroom suite -- huge by any standard, but particularly for central London. We were not in one of the refurbished sections of the hotel, so the rooms were somewhat worn, but they were very comfortable and the technology and appointments were all first-class (except possibly the clothes washer/dryer, which did not appear to do either). All our interactions with the staff were friendly, welcoming and courteous. Of course, the location is unbeatable if you're interested in A-list tourist attractions such as Buckingham Palace, St. James Park and Westminster Abbey, as all are walking distance, and several underground stations are equally close.

A final note: we asked the concierge for a dinner recommendation one evening and the restaurant he sent us to (Orange Public House on Pimlico Road) was the best meal we had on our whole trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jendem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed in the semi sweet room for 6days with my family. Room was very large and clean, service by stuff(including.room service ) were wonderful. I felt I were at home. I would like to stay at this residence on this Sept.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanapomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,068 in London
2,760 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,068 in London
1,390 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,068 in London
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#6 of 1,068 in London
1,301 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,178 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,068 in London
3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in London
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing