We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent property - nothing else like it really in London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #4 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent property - nothing else like it really in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Have stayed at perhaps a dozen hotels in London. 51 Buckingham Gate has been amazing... Mohit at the hotel was very helpful and addressed some special requests that I had very well.

I had a King's junior suite and stayed in September 2012 for ten days- the room was certainly very good with only a couple of minor quibbles. The closet was on the smallish side and the television was a bit old. Apart from that, everything was great. Very large bathroom and well furnished rooms.

Had room service, breakfast and tea a couple of times each - all very good. Used the gym which was fine too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiet_Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    136
    28
    11
    1
See reviews for
549
451
43
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This is home away from home. Their apartments are spacious and very comfortable. Great location for taking a long run/jog through the nearby parks in the morning before you start the day. The staff is fabulouse. They are very helpful, polite and friendly. Always make us feel like we are coming home. Sergio the butler is magnificent!! Our absolute favorite. Alex is an amazing consierge always getting us the best tickets to plays and the best tables at great, trendy restaurants. One of our highlights when visiting London!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights with our 2 children, having stayed here ourselves last August. The service is outstanding from the moment you arrive, genuine staff who cannot do enough for you. The suites are beautiful, and location perfect! We wouldn't stay anywhere else in London!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosyfuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Have stayed here in Taj Suites several times in the last 5 years, but recently they renovated one wing and I started experiencing the new ones... each one is of a different decor and very spacious and well designed suites (service appartments). I guess there is nothing much to say about Taj service... they are second to none and exceptional service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayAddict_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I decided to book this for me and my girlfriend to celebrate our anniversary. I booked the Romance at 51 package.

I found the entire booking process very easy and communication via email very quick and efficient.

The suite itself is lovely and the fruit platter is a nice touch. No need to pack bathroom essentials, the Molton Brown products are lovely and well stocked.

Staff are great and very helpful. My only slight annoyance was that although booking in advance and checking with the spa what times are available, when we ran a little late and informed them, we were told that they wouldn't be able to get the treatment ready because there is preparation time. I was a little confused with this as surely the prep work would be done before we got there. However, they were helpful enough and we moved the treatments to the following day.

It is worth pointing out that the spa is a short walk across the courtyard. Lockers are available and robes and towels are provided. I found my treatment was very good and I definitely felt better after.

The canapes were lovely and once again the staff were very welcoming and friendly. I did feel at ease and you can tell there is a focus on delivering a great experience. This was demonstrated when I ordered breakfast to the suite very last minute and the staff were more than happy to prepare and bring it up for us. I was very impressed.

You also have access to the DVD library. Soft drinks and popcorn are also complimentary. This gets two thumbs up.

This was well worth the spend and I have always been impressed with the Taj. I can't wait to stay again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the King Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KishK_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath Minsters Suite for a week in February. The suite was spacious, clean and well stocked with goodies for the week. It was great to have a washer/dryer complete with all the necessary detergent, etc. The staff was amazing - we received great service in the the morning for breakfast as well as in the afternoon for drinks and canapés. The concierge was friendly and helpful. The location is superb - only a block from Buckingham Palace and a short walk to the Underground. I can't imagine finding a better place to stay in London. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEMNewOrleans_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was amazing - from the first moment we arrived until we left!
The service was outstanding - the staff were friendly, eager to help, knowledgable and were a delight! We arrived in the early morning due to our overseas flight and our room was not ready. But they checked us in, directed us to the breakfast room and then called us 45 minutes later when the room was ready. The staff were aware of the requests that I had made (quiet room on an upper floor) and they made sure that our room met my requirements - how refreshing! If at anytime you met one of the staff, they always stopped and said Hello! This small gesture made us feel right at home.
The Concierge was able to get us great seats for The Phantom of the Opera at Her Majesty's Theatre at the last minute! We really appreciated this service.
Our 1 bedroom suite in the King building was spacious, clean and quiet. The kitchen had everything - new appliances, dishes, glassware etc so that we could have meals in. The bathroom was huge and the water pressure was great so that the morning showers were invigorating! The huge bathtub was lovely to soak in after a day of walking and touring. The bed was so comfy and there was a selection of pillow types. Plus our room was so quiet that our sleep was never disturbed!
The location of the hotel (right near Buckingham Palace) allowed us to walk to most of the sites, restaurants and shops that we wanted to visit. There was a taxi stand 1/2 block away in case we needed to go a bit further.
We ended our trip by having the hotel arrange a chauffeured Jaguar limo drive us to the airport in the early morning - what a great way to end an amazing trip to London.
We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: They honour your room requests so do ask for what you want! Our quiet room faced north and was on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westeddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,641 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#8 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in London
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing