We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A service and experience beyond excellence.......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #6 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A service and experience beyond excellence.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We booked a suite for 4 people here at the Taj 51 Buckingham gate for a weekend in London with friends. We were upgraded to a larger suite which truly was home from home. The little touches and extras here make the whole experience very royal which is very apt for its location just a few minutes from Buckingham Palace. We had an excellent lunch in Bistro 51 with an excellent recommended wine to compliment the meal. I have a nut allergy and so informed the waiter as I always have to do but on this occasion the service was again very special as he then informed everyone in the complex and so when we arrived at the Michelin starred Quilon restaurant in the evening they were fully aware and had prepared some dishes accordingly. I have never experienced this attention to detail and understanding of a severe allergy before.
We also enjoyed our complimentary aperitifs and canapes in the library prior to dinner.
The concierge and reception staff could not do enough for us throughout the whole stay I only wish we had been there longer but one thing is for certain we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bullermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    132
    28
    11
    1
See reviews for
502
424
35
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I have recently returned from London after spending three fabulous days at the Taj. We were upgraded to the Prime Minister's Suite, and it was fantastic and HUGE. The staff were exceptional and were extremely considerable and helpful with my 6 and 8 year old children. Erol in the breakfast room even packed some pastries for my children to take for morning tea. Alex, John and Nelson were so helpful at the Conceirge desk, and booked tour tickets, arranged a babysitter at short notice, provided advice on what to visit and what to give a miss, taking into consideration the ages of my children, I can't thank them enough. All the staff were friendly and polite, and made us feel so welcome. I can highly recommend this property, and will definitely return when I am next in London, which I hope is sooner rather than later.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Horgan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here in December for 1 night, a Xmas treat. Location was great. Service exceptional, room huge, comfy beds, nice sheets, great bathroom. Nothing too much for the staff. Don't miss breakfast, prob the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jade12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Short walk from Victoria and even shorter from St James' Park. Amazingly quiet. Great junior suite with more than I could ask for. The staff were tremendously welcoming and friendly throughout. 5 minutes from the Houses of Parliament.....complimentary cocktails.........complimentary coffee brought to your room in the morning which you don't need because there is a Nespresso machine. I put out my shoes for cleaning and they came back like new.

My only regret? I was working and didn't get to spend enough time there. i will remedy that with my wife later in the year........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turntheheatdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The moment I entered the gates of 51 Buckingham Gate, I felt solace from the hectic pace of London. As an avid lover of beautiful architecture, I found myself admiring the impressive Victorian-Edwardian stonework that has been restored to its original magnificence, certainly a hidden gem within the area between Buckingham Palace and Westminster Cathedral. Interestingly the masterwork was not created by an architect, but by English Major Charles Pawley.
I was led up to the Junior Suite, spacious at 51 sq. Mt, with an open plan kitchen that included a full sized washing machine, cooker, fridge, coffee machine, kettle, all the kitchen equipment one could desire for an overnight stay, and the generous gift of a wholefoods hamper that included every item you could possibly need for your overnight stay including: – tea, coffee, milk, eggs, biscuits, cereal, and so much more. Many of the items were organic.
The living room included a sofa, a desk, flat screen TV, and plenty of reading materials. The bathroom was delightfully spacious with a separate shower, and for those who love to relax, the generous sized bathtub will not disappoint. Every amenity is supplied in the bathrooms at 51 Buckingham Gate, so you do not have to worry if you have forgotten an item. Staying in a residence or suite, rather than a hotel room surely must be experienced to be believed at how restful and rejuvenating one feels following just one nights stay, or perhaps even from the moment of arrival a restful wave of relaxation calmed the frantic pace of London from my system in about five or ten minutes. The plush bed offered the most pleasant nights sleep that I had experienced away from home in a long time. The beautiful luxurious soft furnishings imbue the suite with a subtle tranquillity that greatly enhanced my stay. Every detail was taken care of including the provision of a yoga mat alongside Taj Yoga cards, which sincerely delighted me, as I unrolled the mat to stretch all tensions out of my body with my familiar yoga routine, and then spent some time studying the wonderful incomparable yoga cards depicting asana poses in greater detail, including some poses I had not seen before.
51 Buckingham Gate is certainly one of the top five star hotels that I have visited in London. The suite can be booked for £285 for a King Size bed or Twin beds. The breakfast inclusive rate is £325.00.
The Spa offers many lovely treatments using Anne Semonin products, including luxurious oils and scrubs. My attentive therapist commenced with an initial consultation to ensure the treatment was perfect for my skin type, and that any concerns were addressed. Interestingly the scrub was made with sand, and was gently invigorating, preparing my skin to receive the oil massage, which followed. Particular attention can be applied to certain areas, so for myself, extra focus was placed upon my shoulders and back, relieving all tension from these areas. I was almost too relaxed to rise from the massage couch, and once I emerged from the therapy room, I felt much lighter with a spring in my step.
For dinner on the evening of my stay, I chose in-room dining, and in particular the gourmet menu. I was delighted to find some interesting vegetarian dishes on the menu. For starter I chose a wonderful salad of smoked mozzarella, rocket, herbs, walnut, with caper dressing and for my main course I opted for the cheese fondue with pan-fried potatoes, red peppers, tomato and spinach. For ‘dessert’ I ordered the cheese platter which included Cornish yarg, ragstone goats cheese, Cornish brie, Cropwell bishop stilton, black bomba cheese with apricot, jelly, nuts, grapes and biscuits. Cuisine at 51 Buckingham Gate is a gourmet delight of supreme flavours that you remember with wistful thoughts days beyond the enjoyment of your meal.
The service is impeccable, and every need catered to with sincere attention to resolve and deliver each and every request.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElianaGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

i recomend 51 Buckingham gate because the people are very nice and they have good service.
it also has good rooms,very helpful directions,and very good advice on where to go. there where no parties so i got good sleep. it has good movies for adults and kids. they also had popcorn and an electric stove. like i said before every one is nice. also its great for a family vacation. my family has 3 kids a 13 year old, a 9 year old, and a 4 year old and the people were so nice to the 4 year old they evan gave her free cookies. and one time we got upgraded to a jaguar sweet it was sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo nice.

Room Tip: all the rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lila-z12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed one night on the weekend, when we were upgraded to a huge suite. The service was a class apart, from the canapes and drinks in the library to room service for breakfast by way of popcorn and DVDs in the room. And for us a major benefit was the Bikram Yoga just opposite so we could feel good about burning off some of the indulgence on Sunday morning.

Room Tip: Tricky to make a recommendation - as with luck they will upgrade, however ask for a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#7 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,021 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#6 Luxury Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing