We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“oasis in london” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #5 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
durham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“oasis in london”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

stayed for two nights for work. great location round the corner from the palace. hotel located in a secluded courtyard so nice and quiet. the room we had was a standard suite which was very comfy and large for london. great bed, kitchen area and bathroom. best thing was the amazing service. staff were fantastic especially the ladies who served breakfast and the complimentary drinks on an evening. the complimentary drinks and canapes were a really nice touch and helped start the evening in a nice relaxed way.
overall, probably in the top three places i have stayed ever, mainly due to the service and relaxed atmosphere. isn't cheap at about £300 a night but when you consider a novotel is 200, it is decent value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    118
    28
    10
    0
See reviews for
444
384
34
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a shopping and theatre break with my wife. The Hotel upgraded us when they found out that it was our anniversary ....... and the suite that we had was magnificent. Service was impressive from the minute that we walked through the door. I arrived early to leave my luggage on the first day (which was dealt with by the Concierge within 30 seconds) before heading up to my office, my wife arrived later in the afternoon to be greeted by her name (without introduction ... very slick !!) and was immediately offered a hot towel and coffee in the Lounge whilst her luggage (and my luggage from earlier in the day) was whisked up to the suite. Througout the stay we were served by charming staff, who knew our names instantly and were always available to meet our slighets request be that booking tables for dinner or taxis for travel. High end service like it should be in a true 5 star hotel (but unfortunately not all 5 star hotels view it that way !!)...... the Taj is really top-draw.
One very minor quibble is that the breakfast room is quite small and can get a little crowded on occasions. We had no problems with a table for 2 people each day, but on a couple of the breakfast visits we saw families of 4 that had to sit at different tables .... a slight problem when you have young children ?!
One final thing to say that as this hotel is in its own courtyard it is ever so quiet which is remarkable for a city centre hotel just yards from Buckingham Palace, St. James's Tube and Victoria station .... it makes for very restful nights without the usual background noise of central London.

I would not hesitate to stay here again !!!

Room Tip: The suites over-looking the courtyard are the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had very high hopes for our stay based on great reviews.
The big disappointment was the accommodation, we were upgraded to a 3 bedroom suite which was massive. It was quite tired inside including a water leak through the roof of our bedroom which although perhaps no longer leaking was decoratively unrepaired and the carpet below was badly stained and mouldy. Most of the carpets, curtains and soft furnishing were showing a high degree of wear. The Moulton Brown bathroom accessories were at odds with the tiny and very dated bathrooms.
Not five stars by any standard, that said, the price was reasonable for the space on offer and as such we would have enjoyed our stay if it had not been for the incredibly Smokey atmosphere in all the suite rooms and in particular the bedrooms. We asked in our booking for non- smoking accommodation. At check in we were told that all suites were smoking and that housekeeping air the rooms before they are reoccupied. Our rooms could not have been aired if the widows were open for 2 weeks. It really put us off returning to our accommodation other than to sleep and then get out again.
I think it is naughty to offer non-smoking accommodation on your website which is in fact for smokers but claim that opening the windows somehow qualify it as non-smoking. Our room had cigarette ash on the carpet that remained throughout 3 housekeeping visits. Plainly if you’re a smoker it’s going to be no bother at all but for us it was not remotely enjoyable.
On the plus side the service at reception, breakfast and in the quaint library bar were all second to none.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLGNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

On my recent visit to the 51 (September 2012) I was once again delighted by the outstanding customer service. A friend was having a birthday and John, one of the incredible Concierges, got us fabulous tickets to "Singin' in the Rain" and the manager Araceli, helped me to order a birthday cake. Kudos to the pastry chef for creating the most gorgeous and divine chocolate cake ever! As always the staff were exceptional and nothing is too much trouble. Thanks to Vasi, Nelson and Alex who are the best in the business. The 51 really is a home away from home, making everyone from children to adults feel special.

Room Tip: I love the surprise of seeing what room I'll be in as each suite is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksullivanvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I only stayed for one night on business...,yes it's not cheap...but by London standards its fine.....service frm the moment you walked to the door... Beautiful well equipped suite....just a shame I was only there one night, only used a small part of the services....small intimate library for drinks, snacks and they ordered food frm next door for us..... Stylish decor.....true 5 star service.....defiantly recommend it.....:-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUEDDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had high hopes for this 5* hotel. I expected more in terms of the customer service. They did not do a good job of managing my expectatioins or listening to our needs.

Upon check in our room was upgraded which was great but it wasn't ready. 30 min they said. They said we could sit in the library to wait/enjoy some tea. No one came to greet/serve us even after ringing the assistance bell twice. I had to go ask for service. 40 min later I asked about the room. Another 15 minutes they said. I wasn't happy as we were only staying in London 24 hours and we wanted to see some sights.

I asked if there was a place we could freshen up and change. They put us in the spa changing room.

When we returned later in the day to get the key to the room the person assisting wasn't aware of our earlier inconvenience. He showed us the room and explained everything but never asked us how long we were staying or what was important to us.

He asked about our evening plans as offered the concierge assistance. I informed him we already had evening plans and dinner reservations. He then suggested we cancel and eat at the restaurant on the property which I found unprofessional. I understand he's probably required to explain the services but suggesting we cancel our dinner plans? Very weird.

The property is nice.
Rooms extremely spacious.
Spa facilities dated.
Centrally located
<5 min walk from St James Park underground.
<10 min walk to Westminster Abbey/Big Ben.

For the price and hotel stars, I expected much better customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welltraveledgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in 51 Buckingham Gate Taj Suites during our visit to London with My family from 9th July to 14 July 2012.
The Suites really feels like a Royal suite with all Extra Ordinary Amenities, The class of service makes feel like a VVIP. They are taking care of all our small needs and also the kids were so happy that they didn't want to go out for outing in London.
Cleanliness, The nearby All attractions, The restaurants, Excellent food, Best Breakfast and at last the Complete security.
Its worth the Value of Our Money.

Room Tip: All Suites are the Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniMayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,315 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#20 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#4 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#8 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing