We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok experience--better service than the property itself.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Ranked #5 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok experience--better service than the property itself.”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

So the odd thing about the Taj at 51 Buckingham Gate is it's multiple buildings around a courtyard, and it doesn't exactly feel like a hotel. This can be a good thing if you're not looking for a Dorchester/Grosvenor House experience, and on nice days it was pleasant eating breakfast in the courtyard. However we found the courtyard a little disturbing because they had live events in it each night that were really quite loud (music, loudspeakers), and didn't end till after 10. If the weather is bad/in winter, you're eating breakfast in quite a cramped but well-appointed 'library,' which seats about 50 or so, so it's intimate, but feels a bit crammed.
The service was excellent, like most Taj's we've visited. The gym was in the basement and ok, not fabulous. There is an indian restaurant on site that has a michelin star and is absolutely incredible.
The location is fine, it's not Knightsbridge or Mayfair, if that's where you want, but surprisingly central despite that. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but would definitely ask for a room that didn't give onto the courtyard (or find out what events were planned during a visit).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Pixmac,

Thank you so much for your review of 51 Buckingham Gate.

I am delighted to know that you very much appreciated the service you experienced and rated equal to what you found in other Taj Hotels. I am also glad to know that you found the breakfatst in the Courtyard in the morning to your satisfaction as well as the dinning experience at the Quilon restaurant.

I do agree with you in that 51 Buckingham Gate is a bit unusual, with 3 Townhouses which belonging to 51and another 5 Townhouses belonging to our sister Hotel all around the Central Courtyard is an incredible building, in fact, the architecture is quite unique and this has been the setting for some great movies representing London in Edwardian times. Entering through the Minsters townhouse you do not have the grand impossing lobby, instead you find an intimate one where our guests can feel just like at home. Where you mention our location being the closest hotel to Buckingham Palace is a great honour for us as it is where some of the most historic landmarks of London are located and within a few minutes walk or cab ride to other areas more famous for its shopping streets.

Inded last summer the Courytards was the venue for 8 nights of light entertainment in the way of West End musicals and dinner available for our guests and outside clients, this was to take advantage of the privilege of having a fabulous outdoor space with wonderful acustics. I am sorry this was not to your liking and you found it disturb you, we do indeed have many suites facing the street where you can avoid the music should you prefer that in the future. Up to today we do not have a calendar of events for the summer of 2012, once they are released they will be posted in our website and blog for your furture information.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with other Tipadvisor members and I do hope we will have the opportunity to see you again at 51 Buckingham Gate.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    141
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
579
472
44
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

firstly wow!!! we have been now for the last two years all laid on by our kind aunty and it just gets better and better we have two girls and they are amazed at our rooms espec the beds which they love!!! then its the jaquzzi which they immerse themselves in sipping pop watching tele in the bath!! while mum and dad shrare a bottle of complimentary wine hha. then the staff led by i think sergio!!! i was amused at his gentle laff when asked which paper would i like in the morning my reply the sun please!!!! i am a northerner hahah.breakfast was a joy as allways with youngest eating their entire strawberry haul!! many many thanx again to all staff espec suassva??????? anyone thinking of going please go you can wave at the queen your so close xxxxxxx

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxer1Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear boxer1Yorkshire,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely and refreshing review.

I am delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay in The Prime Minister's Suite, certainly the space of this two bedroom suite with its large beds and fabulous living areas seems to have been the best choice for your family treat to London and I am so happy for that.

Thank you also for your very kind comments about our Butler and waitress in the Library who looked after you and added in their own way to the enjoyment of your stay.

Many thanks once again for your lovely review and I look forward to see you back at 51.

Best wishes for a Happy Christmas in Yorkshire !

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley, ca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed there 5 nites in a junior suite. Fabulouse,classy,quiet, clean, ..Service beyond expectations. An oasis in the heart of London walkabe to the East end. Amazing service and concierge. Can't wait to return. Beyond our every wish.

Room Tip: Have occasional bargain rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kriegerlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Understated and elegant all suite Hotel. Tucked away off a nondescript road near Buckingham Palace in London, the Hotel, which is run by the Taj Group of Hotels of India, is a gem of a Hotel. The suites are well appointed (particularly the new Jaguar suite), generous in size for London Hotels, and great if you are traveling with a family or friends. Each suite is different so if a choice is available, have a look at what is on offer.
The "library" is a quaint dining facility just off the small lobby (more like an apartment building lobby) where breakfast is served in the morning and otherwise a casual lounge/bar. If Erol is around be sure of outstanding service. For me, breakfast here was the most relaxed breakfast I have had in any City Hotel - feels ike a private dining room at home.
The rooms dont have much of a view, some overlook the central courtyard shared with the St James Crowne Plaze next door.
Have stayed here a number of times, and surely will be more. Do look for the specials on offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Dsareen,

Thank you so very much for your review and for your kind words which we very much appreciate.

I am delighted to know that you enjoy each of your stays at 51 Buckingham Gate and that you had the opportunity to see the new Jaguar Suite during your last visit. We are thrilled with the design and beautiful quality finishes in this suite and delighted that the suite has received wonderful reviews from both guests and press alike.

I would like to also thank you for your lovely words about Erol and the service you receive at The Library, this is a lounge set for you to feel it is an extension of your suite and to make you feel like at home and I am glad that you felt relaxed and at ease in this environment.

Please come back to us soon again and many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with Tripadvisor.

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

As you can see from the many fine reviews of this property, they are trying hard to be the best hotel in London, and they just might make it. This exceptional flat-hotel is tucked into a lovely courtyard adjacent to a sister property, Crowne Plaza St. James and staffed primarily with well-trained Eastern Europeans who aim to please.

The hotel was furnished to a high standard. The flats are situated throughout 6 or 7 townhouses. Public areas were elegant yet small, but if you're self-catering you likely don't care. I believe the Crowne P's facilities were available to share; certainly the excellent gym was. Our mini-suite was well appointed and the kitchen furnished with every necessity.

For a self-catering vacation, you could not have a better location. Easy walk to B. palace, to Westminster Abbey, to the Tate Britain. Very central. There is a Sainsbury round the corner, an M&S behind you, and the underground -- well, we opted out of our usual LHR car service and rolled our suitcases. It was just a jot. The only similarly situated apartment-hotel I can think of is Citadines at Holborne or Trafalgar Square, but trust me, they are not remotely near the class of this property, and make 51B look like a bargain.

Service was excellent throughout. We paid a night in advance in order to gain immediate occupancy, and even though their site suggests this, the mechanism seemed to throw them off. We had to ask twice to have our inclusive breakfast tab removed from the bill as they persisted in thinking we'd come early. But this was a small annoyance in an otherwise flawless vacation. We travel to London often for work and pleasure, and stay either in a club in St. James or a small flat, but after this stay, we both agree we'd be hard pressed to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MizLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear MizLiz,

Thank you very much for your fantastic account of 51 Buckingham Gate and specially for your kind comments.

Our aim is indeed to be if not the best hotel in London (not an easy quest with London having some of the finest hotels in the world) then a hotel where you feel comfortable among staff that care about you and wish for you to make 51 Buckingham Gate your favourite place in London. Where you can stay in your suite and do everthing by yourself (you have all the facilities in suite to be self sufficient) at your own pace, or make use of all the hotel facilities from both 51 and also from our adjacent sister hotel and enjoy the services of all our staff who are delighted to assist.

On another note I would like to apologise if there was some confusion with your breakfast inclusions and I am glad that you only felt it was a minor issue, thank you.

I very much hope you will stay with us soon again.

Best wishes for a lovely holiday and a very happy New Year.

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I spent almost a week at this hotel/luxury residence, it is absolutely fantastic facility where you can combine work with rest.
I was upgraded to 2 Bedroom suite which was so comfy, with all the facilities you can imagine, from the best coffee machine, to luxury glasses, amazing toiletries and nightly treat on the turn-down service which were unique and made me smile.
All the services was above and beyond with their attitude.
The jump for you with a hot towel was you enter the hotel offering drink and canapes.
They ask you how are you and they really mean it.
The services and facility is by far the best i have stayed in London.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YonitG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear YonitG,

Thank you very much for your recent review of 51Buckingham Gate and for the fabulous way you described the hotel and the services you received.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your two bedroom suite and found it comfortable and to your liking and I am even happier knowing that you felt welcomed from the moment you stepped into the hotel and for the duration of your stay.

Sometimes it is little things like knowing that a thoughful turn down amenity made you smile that makes our job so enjoyable and such pleasure to serve you.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and I very much look forward to see you again at 51 Buckingham Gate.

Best wishes

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We just returned from a four night stay at 51 Buckingham Gate. I can not say enough about the service. Everyone from check-in, to Alex and the conceierge staff, to the food service folks were great. The General Manager, Mr. Prabhat Verma, even made a point to introduce himself. They were able to get our suite ready very early as our flight arrived at 8:30 and we reached the hotel before 10:30. Our suite was excellent, with more room than many apartments. Everything was spotless. The location is also excellent and located within walking distance of many attractions. We had dinner one evening at the Bank Restaurant within the complex and found it to be very good. I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel and will return next time I am in London.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCB402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear DCB402,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to know that you very much enjoyed your stay at 51 Buckingham Gate and that we were able to accommodate your early arrival to ensure you started your holiday in a very relaxed way and also very happy to know you enjoyed the service you received from the reception and concierge team.

Mr Verma and I look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,730 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,067 in London
1,904 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#8 of 1,067 in London
1,278 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Property: Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Business Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences offers authentic luxury experiences in a bespoke and personalised environment a gemstone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It comprises three Victorian townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, each distinctly designed and beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious suites and residences with butler service offer the space and exclusivity of a private home each with their own separate kitchen and living area. Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reflects the universally acclaimed warmth and personalised service that the Taj is recognised for as one of the finest in the world. Treading the path from tradition to tomorrow, Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences redefines the meaning of luxury, creating a distinctive, customised and exclusive Taj experience. Make the most of complimentary wi-fi, the premier Golden Keys Concierge service, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant and Kona, showcasing the colours, flavours and vibrancy of contemporary Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing