We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Budget Hotel on East End” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis London City-Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ranked #334 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel on East End”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2007

We stayed here in April 2007 for a few days. The hotel is in a great location near Tower Bridge, Brick Lane, Southbank and other East End attractions. Located right next to a tube station and within walking distance to great sights/dining, this budget hotel delivered more than expected; A clean, spacious room, helpful staff and great price. It is a no-frills room, so it's best for a trip where you intend to spend your time out and about rather than in the room. Room did have nice bathroom, LCD TV and enough room for two adults to stay comfortably. I'd easily stay again on future trips.

  • Liked — Location & Price
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJFuzzyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    2,012
    593
    106
    67
See reviews for
830
1,406
232
671
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2007

We were 4 adults staying in this hotel, and took advantage of the 3-night stay at unbeatable 48 GBP per night.

Hotel was easy to find, just 30 meters around the corner from the tube station Aldgate East, very convenient. Taxi from Oxford Street cost us about 16 GBP one night. Nice and welcoming staff, internet in lobby and free newspapers.

Rooms were very clean with enough space. Bathroom was spotless. TV and internet available.

Breakfast however, was rather chaotic. We stayed in the Easter weekend and the hotel seemed fully booked. Loooong waiting line and they seemed to run out of everything while people served themselves, and the staff had to replace constantly. We complained and they were nice enough to remove the breakfast from the bill(about 5 GBP). Next morning we had breakfast at a small place nearby instead, solid english breakfast for only 3,30 which can be highly recommended.

The bar and restaurant was good. Nearby is a nice traditional english pub, and there is also a small grocery store nearby where you can buy some snacks or beverages for the night.

Would definately stay here again for this price, but I'll have my breakfast another place.

  • Liked — The price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast wating line
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Panserhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2007

I stayed at The London City Ibis in March 2007 and would like to share my experiences with other people. On entering the Hotel to leaving the Hotel it was a very pleasurable stay. The room was very spacious and very clean. The en-suite was very spacious and the shower was great. The staff were very friendly smart, helpful. I would definatly book to go again. Sandra Longstaff

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank DarlingtonOsprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

it was our first trip to London. and will not be our last Great hotel
good location. for the tube.it was just round the corner. The staff could not have being more helpful. the tower of London was just down the road about one mile. we are coming back to London
again next year and we will stop at this hotel. The rooms were very clean and tidy.

  • Liked — the shower
  • Disliked — to warm
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank redkiteDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2007

I stayed at the Ibis London City for two nights in March and, overall, was pleased with my stay. It is conveniently located next to a tube stop, and is not far from St. Paul's and the Tower of London. My room was very clean and well-kept. Though amenities were sparse (no mini-bar, only one towel per person, etc.), I felt I had everything I needed for a short visit.

My friend and I paid about $200 total for our 2-night stay, breakfast included. This was, by far, the best deal I found for hotels in the heart of London, and I did my fair share of research. At the Ibis, you get what you pay for. There are no luxuries, but it was much nicer than staying at a hostel or a privately-run "budget" hotel (which can be hit-or-miss).

Our double room was fairly large, and the bathroom had very modern fixtures. I was impressed with the water pressure in the shower -- better than most American hotels! There was plenty of room for our suitcases (and I had been coming from a longer stay in the UK, so I had lots of stuff!). Maybe it was my exhaustion after nonstop sightseeing, but I found the bed to be very comfortable. The breakfast was a lovely continental spread, with plenty of rolls, croissants, bread, muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurt, and beverages. Well worth the money spent. We also dined at the in-hotel restaurant for supper, which was quite delicious, convenient, and affordably priced.

The one complaint I have concerns the front-desk staff. Most of the people working at the front desk did not speak English very well, which proved to be a problem when checking in and later getting directions. I had to repeat my name over and over again until finally, I had to write down my name for the guy in order for him to understand it (and it's a very common American/English/Irish name). The next day, when we asked for directions to the nearest Catholic church, another reception clerk looked at us like we had three heads. We asked again, and he pointed in some direction, saying, "I think there's one down that way." This was not very helpful! But the staff was friendly enough and usually figured out what we were saying eventually. It's just something to prepare yourself for when checking in!

Overall, it was a decent place to stay and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The front-desk staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pearlygirl103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2007

I stayed at this location for business in the middle of February and found it to be very convenient to the City and just a short walk to Lloyd's. The bus stop is just outside the front door and the Aldgate tube station is just around the corner. The room was small by American standards, but about right for UK hotels. It was clean and quiet with reliable high speed internet. The daily internet cost was pds 9.95 which seemed high especially since there was no weekly rate available. The continental breakfast was of good quality and reasonably priced. The french restaurant and pub off the lobby were usually filled, although I did not try either. There were too many good bangladeshi restaurants on Brick Lane two blocks away. I will stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — high cost of internet connection
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RoadWarriorBluffton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

We were very happy with this hotel.

the bed was a little hard, but we slept fine. The shower was great, lots of power and nice and warm. The hotel was clean and the personnel friendly, although hard to understand sometimes. The breakfast was great,nice croissants. On a limited budget, this is what i expect, a clean room, a good shower, and right next to the underground. next time ill definitely stay here again, because the hotel is only 50 meters from the subway, only the subway travel time stands between you and any location in London.

8/10

  • Liked — shower
  • Disliked — one unintelligable staffmember
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank theaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#237 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#106 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#119 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London City-Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London City-Shoreditch

Property: Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Address: 5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in London
#219 Romantic Hotel in London
#265 Family Hotel in London
#315 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London City-Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London City is ideal for tourist or business stays. Located in the centre of London's financial district, 20 m from Aldgate East station, it is a few steps from Liverpool St, the Tower of London and the celebrated Tower Bridge. It has 348 rooms,including 19 accessible rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and also a bar offering snacks 24 hours, 7 days. The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout. Public undercover parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Ibis London City-Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London City Hotel London
Accor London City
Ibis London City-Shoreditch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing