We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality for an okay price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ranked #327 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good quality for an okay price.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Me and my best friend (28 and 26 years old) have stayed in Ibis City Centre, London from friday 14th untill sunday 16th June 2013. We wanted to be sure that we had good beds to sleep on, have a clean room and be on a good spot.
And we got it all! The beds were good boxsprings, well done! This hotel is next to the tube station Aldgate East (literally just 25 meters away), zone 1.
The neighbourhood is very clean and okay and we felt safe all the time.
The staff was very helpfull, we were able to park our suitcases with them on the last day, for free of course. We were on the 6th floor.
Only point of complaining is the wifi; wifi is 10 pounds a day, which was a bit too much to our opinion. I guess business-clients would not mind.

That been said; I would recommend this hotel and come back again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the Internet, I am pleased to inform you that the Wi-Fi will be free within the next couple of weeks in order to offer this service as part of our product.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Kind Regards
Irena Hoch
HR & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    2,089
    622
    109
    68
See reviews for
865
1,482
240
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent hotel for visiting the east side of the City of London. Close to Underground station for travel around London. Good value, except in busy time, when a bit pricey like all London hotels. Good selection for breakfast.

Close to a busy crossroad, so can be noisy, if you like windows open. Otherwise fine with air con on. I stay there a lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank PJ100627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
I was delighted to read that the hotel met your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Irena Hoch
HR&Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A great hotel ideally situated in London's East end. We were greeted by friendly staff who were efficient and professional at all times. On the day we arrived we asked to change rooms to accomodate family who at the last minute decided to join us and this was accomplished with no fuss or bother.
Rooms are somewhat basic but clean and freshened up everyday. Breakfast was amazing with a good choice of food. It also has a lovely bar to relax in at the end of the day.
A really nice hotel and you wont be disappointed. Only two minutes from Algate East underground on the district line if you want to go into London centre. Having said that there is quite a lot to do close by the hotel. There is a large market just 5 minutes away with different traders each day. The Ripper tours operate each night but that's another review. I would have no hesitation in returning as it ticked all the boxes.

Room Tip: As for rear of hotel (no street noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PP29th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Ibis London City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards
Irena Hoch
HR&Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend in June. Room was clean and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The location was perfect for us, 10 minutes from Fenchurch Street, right around the corner from Aldgate East and a short walk from Brick Lane and Spitalfields market. The only downside was that the room was very warm but we were told that the air cooling system only comes on when it is warm outside.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenEckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for having taken the time to leave a review and thank you as well for your constructive remark. I am glad to receive a positive feedback about room cleanliness and comfortable beds. However, I am sincerely sorry to read that our centrally controlled air cooling system did not meet your expectations. We expect our heating systems to keep us warm during the winter, and we depend on air-cooling to keep us cool during the summer and this generally perfectly works in our Hotel. Furthermore, I am sorry that on this occasion you were not offered a fan. Our priority is the comfort and well-being of all our guests and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for your second visit.

Kind regards
Irena Hoch
HR & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed in room #610 for three nights (June 8 to 11). The room was reasonably clean, but not in perfect shape (long black hair stuck to the bathroom wall, remained there for whole stay). The bed was comfortable, but not great (hard cushion, no daybed covers). Staff mostly polite and helpful.

Tiny TV with few channels, screen not in 16:9 format. Poor quality resolution/reception.

Flimsiest toilet paper I've ever encountered. Even public restrooms usually have better quality paper.

Biggest inconvenience:
I was unable to sleep with an open window. When the window (double glazed) was open, it was impossible to close the curtains. So in order to lower the room's temperature I turned on the ventilation system, but the central cooling unit was turned off. (It's only on during hot days, staff told me.) Window cannot be opened more than about 15 cm/6 inches. Management should address these issues.

Room looked and felt cheap. Interior design is lacking any class. But this is probably what you have to accept for around 150 €/night in London.

Liked the location. Spitalfields Market, Brick Lane and Truman Brewery feature a wide variety of stores and restaurants. Liverpool Street Station in walking distance, Aldgate East Tube Station just steps away.

I see little reason why I should return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCS-Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for having taken the time to leave such a detailed review about your stay in our hotel but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence. This is indeed always really useful for us to receive comments which help us improve our guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards
Irena Hoch
HR & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here mid-week while in London. The room was clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The Main issues:

No desk in the room
No iron in the room
No free wifi in room
Extremely limited choice of TV channels that are wrong versus what is advertised in the room brochure
Noisy room from traffic, siren every 5 minutes
Breakfast room staff were completely unhelpful, had to wait 5-10 minutes before taking my room number
Check in / Check out frustratingly slow

I won't stay here again for £130 a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave a review here and thank you as well for your constructive remarks. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel rooms and the cleanliness of our property. I would like to confirm that I have taken a good note of the various points that you bring to our attention as we treat all our comments with the utmost seriousness.
Thank you one again for your feedback and I hope you will return to ibis London City on another occasion in order for you to enjoy a hassle free stay.
Kind Regards
Irena Hoch
HR&Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great place and location. The rooms are clean and everything was fine during my business visit. The restaurant is also very good, breakfast was quite rich and good. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to travel to London and stay in a reasonably prices hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntheRun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
HR&Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#250 of 1,068 in London
3,264 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#104 of 1,068 in London
3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#243 of 1,068 in London
1,930 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#131 of 1,068 in London
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London City-Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London City-Shoreditch

Property: Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Address: 5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in London
#219 Romantic Hotel in London
#265 Family Hotel in London
#315 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London City-Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London City is ideal for tourist or business stays. Located in the centre of London's financial district, 20 m from Aldgate East station, it is a few steps from Liverpool St, the Tower of London and the celebrated Tower Bridge. It has 348 rooms,including 19 accessible rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and also a bar offering snacks 24 hours, 7 days. The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout. Public undercover parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London City-Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London City Hotel London
Accor London City
Ibis London City-Shoreditch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing