We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Emotions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ranked #331 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mixed Emotions”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Having stayed here for 5 days, I find it difficult to rate this hotel. I generally like the ibis hotel chain. The rooms are basic yet clean and modern and I'd definitely book here again. The location is great, a stone's throw from the nearest tube station, and walking distance to the City. The staff were extremely helpful and polite at every point, even when I needed additional assistance.

But, at the end of the day, you get what you pay for, and it is a budget hotel. TV channels were limited (somehow they offer a worse selection other than Freeview). Breakfast not being included was an inconvenience, however, £9 a day for "limited" internet access was my only real complaint. I can understand it being charged as an extra, but it shouldn't be charged at such a premium when you are offering a partial service (no iplayer streaming etc).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diabl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a comment about your last stay at our hotel.
I was glad to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities, and that the staff was helpful to you and they met your expectations.
I was sorry to hear the inconvenience you suffered with internet, this is a matter that we have been already addressing and we are working on improving. I do apologize for it.

It is our hope that you give us another chance to better serve you in the future.

Kind Regards
Rut Martinez
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    2,072
    617
    108
    68
See reviews for
856
1,461
239
700
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed in the hotel 4 nights. It's really good located, close to the metro line and right in the City district. The rooms are quite small but very clean and modern. For this price it's really one of the best hotels. Breakfast was ok, quite a big variety but nothing special
I would definitely come back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay at Ibis London City.
I am glad that our hotel is convenient for your stay and you are happy with the services we provide.

We look forward to your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very clean. A very comfortable bed and pillows, and no noise from the street. All staff I encountered were pleasant and efficient, and Gabriel on reception went to a lot of trouble to ensure I would have no problems using the internet in my room. Very convenient for Aldgate East tube. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsv93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your last stay at our hotel.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and also that the service from our team member, Gabriel was exceptional. This comment will serve as a great motivator for the team, since this performance is an example to follow.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Situated right next to Aldgate East tube station, this place served its purpose well - a comfortable base hotel for the wife and I to enjoy a weekend in London.
The bed was firm and a king size. Perfect. Pillows were soft and everything was extrememly clean.
Yes - there was street noise outside but what do you expect? You are in the middle of a city that doesn't sleep and although the windows do a good job to block out the sound, you will never get silent. Just when booking, ask for a room that is not situated facing the main road.
Didn't use the restaurant although looked good. Fair price. The shower was fantastic but the towels could do with being washed using some fabric softener!
The TV was the only let down - still a 4:3 ratio screen. But that didn't bother me as I think I only watched it for about an hour in my whole stay. ;-)

Room Tip: If you book - careful you don't pay more than £90. I got the room cheaply through a 3rd party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAlmightyDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you left a comment about your last stay at Ibis London City.
We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay and our services exceeded your expectation, all the team will be happy to know.

We would be glad to welcome you back in your next visit to London.

Best Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I use this hotel on a regular basis when travelling on business. Its not fancy but you can get reasonable rates, its clean and the staff are efficient. WiFi provision is poor. Handy for Aldgate East Tube.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stays at Ibis London City.
I am glad that the hotel is convenient for your visits and these are enjoyable.

Thank you for your loyalty, we look forward to welcoming you next time.

Kind Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

It is good and value for money. The people in the restaurant on the ground floor were quite nice. My reservation didn't include the breakfast; however, I only paid 9 pounds per adult (half price for my kid) to have a nice buffet breakfast in each morning of my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckylewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Ibis London City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Irena Hoch
HR & Admin Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located right at the Aldgate East Station. The room was much larger than I expected, having stayed at Ibis properties in Paris and Casablanca. The room was clean and the sleep quality was great. Old street, with its quirky clubs, is 5 min cab ride. We were two girls and we felt pretty safe coming in late, or walking about at night to pick up some wine from Costcutters. However, pre prepared to pay 9 quid for wifi for the entire day or keep 1 quid coins handy for using internet in the lobby for just 15 minutes. Overall, definitely value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsicsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a comment about your last stay at our hotel.
I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the local area, I am happy that it was convenient for the purpose of your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
HR & Admin Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#253 of 1,067 in London
3,225 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,067 in London
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#232 of 1,067 in London
1,921 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#127 of 1,067 in London
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London City-Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London City-Shoreditch

Property: Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Address: 5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in London
#219 Romantic Hotel in London
#265 Family Hotel in London
#315 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London City-Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London City is ideal for tourist or business stays. Located in the centre of London's financial district, 20 m from Aldgate East station, it is a few steps from Liverpool St, the Tower of London and the celebrated Tower Bridge. It has 348 rooms,including 19 accessible rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and also a bar offering snacks 24 hours, 7 days. The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout. Public undercover parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London City-Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London City Hotel London
Accor London City
Ibis London City-Shoreditch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing