We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practical Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis London City-Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ranked #336 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Practical Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is located just 50 meters away from the underground station Aldgate East. St. Paul and the tower bridge are in walking distance. The road is quite noisy but the hotel is well acoustically insulated. Our room was a typical Ibis one: simple, fairly clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small. Our week-end rate was very good for (the crazy) London standards. We decided not to have breakfast in the hotel and in walking distance we could find some good cafés.
Considering the price/quality ratio of the hotels in London, this hotel is definitely a good choice if you are spending there a few days as a tourist, mostly based on location and room rate.
If we happen to be back in London, we will try to book a room in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caius_Iulius_Caesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Ibis London City.
I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and he services I provide in our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back next time.

Best Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    2,007
    590
    106
    67
See reviews for
829
1,402
232
668
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good location for City, Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Shad Thames and East London north of the river.
A warm friendly welcome. Good sized rooms and well-equipped.
Very good value for money. Will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTravellerSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about your last stay at Ibis London City.
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and the service of the staff was warm and friendly.
We definitely look forward to welcoming you back at your convenience.

Kind Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Location is fine if you know london since the hotel is just next to Aldgate East tube station so easy to get places. Price is reasonable for London and the quality is exactly what you expect from an Ibis so ideal for budget concious business trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Ibis London City.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the stay and the services we offer were up to the Ibis standards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the future.

Kind Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I booked this place as they advertised a high speed internet connection and I had a couple of work meeting to do... guess what? their high speed connection is a joke! I keep on dropping from the voip call!

When I complained about they didn't provide any help at all .. the classic reboot your pc must fix it!

I was able to get them to remove the internet charge from my bill.. but guess what when I check out it was still there the full price!! the receptionist told me she had removed.. but again I was charged for it!
I complained and she gave me my money back for the internet connect .. but with you any sorry or excuse me.

Really poor service! and the breakfast.. .is horrible. not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTraveller z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to read that your stay and services didn't meet your expectations, please accept my apologies.
Regarding the internet we provide, we are continuously addressing our guest’s suggestions and we are already working to get a better service to offer to our guests. I will brief the Team regarding the service you received from the Reception Team, since our aim is to make out guests' stays the most enjoyable ones.

I hope you could give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

In London for a party and just needed an overnight stay. Booking in advance we paid £59 for room only which was amazing value .
Hotel is within easy walking distance of Liverpool street,we were able to check in from noon to a spotless room.
Bed with extra pillows was roomy and comfortable, the bath room and shower perfectly clean with nice soft fluffy towels and soap and body wash available.
Tea coffee and kettle all provided plus a proper hair dryer.
Room to hang your clothiers and some shelves too.
Didn't need breakfast so can't say how the breakfast was

Room Tip: I suspect the higher you are the better as the roads near are very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloudinthesky1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving a comment about your recent stay at Ibis London City.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities int he room. Also, that the location was perfect for your trip, so you could visit the area and the close monuments.

We would be very happy to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards
Rut Martinez
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#238 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#118 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Spitalfields
Tune Hotel - London, Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London City-Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London City-Shoreditch

Property: Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Address: 5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in London
#219 Romantic Hotel in London
#265 Family Hotel in London
#315 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London City-Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London City is ideal for tourist or business stays. Located in the centre of London's financial district, 20 m from Aldgate East station, it is a few steps from Liverpool St, the Tower of London and the celebrated Tower Bridge. It has 348 rooms,including 19 accessible rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and also a bar offering snacks 24 hours, 7 days. The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout. Public undercover parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Ibis London City-Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London City Hotel London
Accor London City
Ibis London City-Shoreditch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing