We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ranked #323 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I, my husband and my son stayed at this hotel on September 2012.We choose a room with some more amenities like a eletric kettle,and a internet connection that later I discover you have to pay 9,90 euros per day to use.Like the other Ibis , it is small and doesn't have anything special, the bathroom is like a cabin.The good thing at this hotel is the staff very helpful I remember a special french guy called Thierry who help us.The bad thing at this hotel is that there is a construction beside the hotel and the noise during the day is considerable.The other bad thing is the internet, it's so expensive in Europe at Ibis, at this one it is cost 9,90 euros per day or you can use the computers that cost about 3 euros an hour.

Room Tip: Rooms that are to the opposite side of the constructing (I don't know if there are)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlegreteRSGuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review about your recent stay at Ibis London City.
I am glad to read that the hotel served the purpose of the trip being convenient for your visit.
I am sorry that there was a misunderstaing about the internet service. We are addressing.

It is our hope that you give us the chance to welcome you in your next visit.

Best Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,274 - 1,280 of 4,039 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

They shut down the airco in winter because of climate. Well.... It's fall now! Temperature in room was very high. Opening the window resulted in no sleep because of noise.
I would rather not come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPTAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear guest,

I was sorry to read that your stay at Ibis didn't match your expectations.
Our system of air cooling works automatically depending on the temperature outside, so since it is 12 degrees outside, only the heating can be switched on. However, we provide fans in case of a guest request.

It is our hope that you give us another chance, and in case of any inconvenience you let us know and give us the chance to solve any problem and make your stay a hassle free experience.

Kind Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I only spent one night here but I have to say it was more than adequate for a business traveller. It's directly outside Aldgate East Underground Station so the location couldn't have been more convenient. It's busy and seems popular with coach parties but it didn't feel or seem as chaotic as other hotels I have stayed at that cater for the coach trade. The room was clean, though not particularly large or well furnished but for the price it was more than adequate and i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review about your recent stay at Ibis London City.

I was pleased to read that the hotel was convenient and well located for your trip and you could enjoy of a nice stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

One of the best things's the location...almost walking distance from london bridge....pretty close to the gherkin/ bird's nest and the bishopsgate area...
On the other side it's a lane away from the quirky area of brick lane, stuffed with great eateries and curry houses...The aldgate east tube is next door!

Hotel rooms are decent...usual ibis busines efficient; a very decent restora in the ground flr serving good french n european cuisine and a bar which stays open late n serves snack food till late...

So all in all - value for money place....i lived here for a week and was more or less satisfied.

Pissing-off points:
The internet/ wi-fi scene - u had to pay a chargefor the cable internet and if u want wi-fi u had to buy it online directly from some service provider which was crazy!
On top of that 1stday they told me mybooking was with the internet and tv channels included...and next day they told me it was only for the 1stnight etc etc...
I had a business booking and of course could not bother to find out how the booking was done - but when i told them the gent at the front desk had clearly told me so the 1st day that mybooking was internet included - they could not even understand/ locate the concerned gent for the rest of the days! This was a pretty pissing off incident...you're a business hotel for god's sake & even coffee joints provide free wifi these days...

Room Tip: No idea...most faced the street and had double glass windows to keep out the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoumitreeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.
I am pleased to read that you could enjoy the hotel and the facilities we provide. Food and beverage department will be satisfied to know that you enjoyed the services as well.

I am sorry to read that you had that inconvenience during you stay. We are continuously addressing.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in London.
Best Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

stayed here with my husband and teenage daughter for the paralympics. nice friendly staff, good location and parking was a bonus as we had travelled from somerset. The room was tidy and nice and clean - nice bunk bed for my daughter. Near tube station

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank rene2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time writing a review about your last stay at Ibis London City.
I am so glad that your stay was good, and you and your family enjoyed the facilities we provide.
We are looking forward to welcome you all in your next stay in London.

Best Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquamaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had pre-booked a room several weeks in advance for a business trip. My day had started at 4.30am and I finally got to the hotel 12.45am the next morning only to be told there was no rooms available.

The first excuse I got was there was a burst pipe in my room but when I asked to see the room or receive an explanation why no-one had contact me it was then admitted that my room was now occupied by someone else. They had found another room for me at Ibis Greenwich but since my next meeting was at 8.30am in the City and given the long day I had just had I declined to trek all the way over to Greenwich and I made alternative arrangements.

I obviously complained to Customer Services once I was back home and they have offered me a night's free booking at the Ibis of my choice, although only after some chasing for a response. They said that the problem was down to a "booking error". My own take on it was that the hotel had thought I had only reserved a room and had not guaranteed it by credit card so when I had not turned up, they assumed I was to be a "no show" and had sold the room to someone else. The hotel staff seemed quite surprised when I showed them the email confirmation of my booking guaranteed by credit card.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sfsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City-Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for giving us the chance to explain the situation.

Just as we expressed in the past conversations, it is our hope that you give us the opportunity to better serve you. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Rut Martinez
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#266 of 1,076 in London
3,385 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#110 of 1,076 in London
3,278 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#161 of 1,076 in London
728 reviews
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London City-Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London City-Shoreditch

Address: 5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in London
#219 Romantic Hotel in London
#265 Family Hotel in London
#315 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $101 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London City-Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London City is ideal for tourist or business stays. Located in the centre of London's financial district, 20 m from Aldgate East station, it is a few steps from Liverpool St, the Tower of London and the celebrated Tower Bridge. It has 348 rooms,including 19 accessible rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and also a bar offering snacks 24 hours, 7 days. The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout. Public undercover parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London City-Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London City Hotel London
Accor London City
Ibis London City-Shoreditch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing