We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this theatre, just hope it doesn't rain!”
Review of Open Air Theatre

Open Air Theatre
Ranked #184 of 1,647 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live performances are presented in Regent's Park.
london
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Love this theatre, just hope it doesn't rain!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to see dinosaur zoo with our 3 year old it was fantastic, it lasted 1 hr and you got to meet the dinosaurs afterwards. We had Lucy at the picnic area afterwards too which was lovely, great facilities, such a lovely thing to do. The evening performances are lovely too we have also seen Romeo and Juliet here, such a special location.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank holly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    90
    14
    4
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Do not miss a trip to the open air theatre”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We go to the open air theatre every summer and am always amazed how the space is transformed into a magical setting for whatever production is chosen. It really is "must do" if you are visiting London. Take lots of coats and blankets if you are going in the evening. Lots of options for eating in the theatre inc picnicking or check out the Garden Cafe in the park. Close to Baker Street tube. Every visitor to London should experience this at least once (then you will be hooked!)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AliTrev2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and top performances”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We've been visiting the Open Air Theatre at Regents Park for many years now and we've never left a performance disappointed.

The venue allows access to the grounds 90 minutes prior to the performances but, if you want to use one of the tables and seats, I'd advise getting their a bit earlier. The food area is lovely and you can purchase BBQ food or other hot food and cakes (often themed to the performance) and drinks from the bar. I also love that you're allowed to bring your own food and booze (which we generally do) and it's not surprising to hear the pop of corks from tables around us.

There are a range of seat prices and, having sat in majority of areas, they are all really good and I've never had any problems with view and the acoustics are really good.

I love this place so much the production team always amaze me on how they create such complex musicals and plays around a static stage and the backdrop of the trees ensure that it is simply stunning, whatever the weather.

Talking of the weather, I've never been to a performance that was completely cancelled however, if it's prone to rain, take something with you that you can put onto the seat as the cushions can become damp and it will save you getting a soggy bottom. If going to an evening performance (which is my preference) take warm clothing as depending on the time of year it can be chilly and, if it rains, I always take the breaks in the performance as being part of the experience.

If you enjoy the theatre, please go along as you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeighHappyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique theatre venue and setting”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Sitting in the open air watching theatre as the sun sets is quite magical. Seasoned visitors take a rug for the knees as even in the summer it can get cool in the evening. Worth getting there early to picnic in the grounds before the show.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank S17London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Stunning Sound of Music”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I adore the Open Air Theatre. Five minutes from busy Baker Street and you enter a beautiful park with an enchanting theatre in the middle. Its an experience like no other. You can eat there in the restaurant or from the barbeque or bring your own food and wine and have a picnic. The Sound of Music is just fantastic. They have extended it for a week so hurry to get your tickets.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonToots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Air Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Open Air Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing