We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad acustics”
Review of The Garage

The Garage
Ranked #181 of 1,284 Nightlife in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live pop and rock music.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Bad acustics”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I went yesteday night to The Garage to see a gig. Despite living very close to it I had never been there before. The place is extremely close from the tube station and the place can be perfect for small concerts IF the acustics weren't so bad. I couldn't hear the singer at all and belive me I was quite close to the stage.
Staff was quite nice and beer was sold at reasonable price. I had a look at their calendar and they seem to offer a good choice of gigs, if you love rock. I hope that the acustics is not always that bad.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MSItalyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    5
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great alternative venue for an eclectic mix of music”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Situated in the back end of Angel - highbury corner. The garage plays host to a great diversity of cool acts that are normally here before they get really popular

Helpful?
Thank adamski122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect club for small concerts”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I went to The Garage to see 65daysofstatic. Honestly The Garage is the ideal place to go to for small concerts. It's a small club, situated 200 m from the tube station. The sound is really ok and everything was great.

If ever there for a concert stay right behind the mixing desk. The sound is perfect in that place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank platonalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Buzzing atmosphere”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great venue! Lovely little place with some great bands.

I saw 65daysofstatic and it sounded brilliant.

Very close to a tube station (<200 meters) and thus very easy to find.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdaptiveSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Venue Ever!!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I visited The Garage on 19/11/11 to see a band called 'Space Ritual'. I arrived at 9.45pm to find some rather arrogant door staff that didn't seem to know which queue people with tickets should be in and they seemed to be too busy shouting at other customers to assist me.

Once inside the venue, I was informed the band wouldn't be on stage until 1am at least and after having received a stamp on my arm, I attemped to leave the club, so I could reattend nearer the time, only to be snarled and sneered at by one of the door staff telling me I wasn't able to leave and if I did, would not be readmitted! I have visited many venues in the City over the years and have never heard of anything as pathetic. An excuse for them to force you to drink over priced, flat lager in smelly surroundings if you ask me!!

The main room was smelly, the sound was terrible, the staff unhelpful and if I was to be questioned on wether I would revisit then the answer would be NO!!! Avoid this place at all costs.

Helpful?
5 Thank Music_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garage also viewed

 

Been to The Garage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing