We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bands, top DJ's,awesome venue.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O2 Academy, Brixton

O2 Academy, Brixton
Ranked #55 of 1,271 Nightlife in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live music venue.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great bands, top DJ's,awesome venue.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have lived in or near Brixton for the last five years and this is the venue I have had the most fun in by far. For two years we lived in one of the flats just round the corner from McDonalds so this was the obvious place to go out. We actually got a bit lazy and didn't go to any other big nights other than here for a while.

I have been to see Leftfield, the Specials, Hot Chip, Groove Armada various dance nights, the B Boy Championships and many other nights over the years and they have all been great. I've spent a NYE here and Soulwaxmas is a regular Christmas blow out. It is a good sized venue and seldom gets too busy to enjoy yourself. The only time it gets rammed is when there don't separate upstairs and downstairs and everyone ends up on the main dance floor.

The sound is good and it never takes too long to get in. The queues at some of the bars can be a bit painful so it's worth stocking up when you go.

One thing I would say is that if you are going to see a dance act, make sure you get your tickets early so you don't end up at the back upstairs. You can have a bit of a dance up there but it's not the same and you will lose a lot of the atmosphere.

There are regularly good acts playing and plenty of decent places to go for a drink in the local area. Can't big this place up enough.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    68
    24
    14
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“One of the best venues in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Love this place! Great location and easy to get to from almost anywhere in London. Been to quite a few gigs here over the years, and always enjoyed had a great time. The interior has a definite character to it: it feels intimate but never packed. Sound quality is great and you get a good view of the stage wherever you are. Also (always a plus point) there are quite a few bars so you never have to wait that long to get served (even if the lager normally is the rubbish swill they serve at gigs)!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Our favourite venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This really must be one of the best venues in the world.

The acoustics are top quality and the layout with the sloped floor means that most people can see the gig from wherever they stand.

We've been lucky to see so many great bands there over the years from The Specials to the Editors and most recently (the amazing) Green Day.

If you're lucky to get tickets for any gigs there, then enjoy yourself... we always do!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeighHappyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had never been to Brixton Academy before so didn't really know what to expect, but it was amazing, I will definitely go back. Its so easy to get to with buses stopping right outside the venue and the tube a few minutes down the road. There are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby too on the whole a great central location. Inside there's plenty of space and a bar, toilets are right inside the reception area - my tip go before you find a space for your concert as the queues get pretty long after! There is seating upstairs but personally I think the view is better standing downstairs, the floor has a gentle slope to it so you get a good view wherever you are. You really do feel immersed in the music and the atmosphere is amazing.

My tips! Do drink before you go in - Security don't like you having your own water or gum inside. Do visit the toilets before your event - for reasons already discussed! Don't feel you have to take a bag ladies, security will search it and you lose moments finding a good spot while they do. Do wear a loose light top especially if you're dancing - there is air con but it struggled against a full house and lights etc. And don't head straight for the bar - again you'll lose moments queuing for a drink you can get outside afterwards while the good viewing spots are taken.

I'll certainly be going back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roo886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great venue for music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've seen James here at Brixton academy 3 times now and this is the first time there was a queue jump option for o2 customers - absoultely fantastic and amazing that we were able to just walk on in past hundreds of people queing !!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O2 Academy, Brixton also viewed

 

Been to O2 Academy, Brixton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing