We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
British Film Institute IMAX Cinema
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.73*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off
Ranked #192 of 1,589 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: British Film Institute IMAX 3-D films are presented on a 75-ft. screen and offer a larger-than-life sensory experience. Popular and classic films are also shown in 2-D.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very impressive! We were in row J and wouldn't want to sit much further forward because of the size of the screen. Picture, 3d effect and sound all amazing, it will be difficult to go back to a standard cinema now.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SimonG41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    97
    34
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great quality screen and sound, great 3D experience”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

went to see the Star Trek into Darkness movie. Don't normally like 3D but it was great as the screen was so big. I wouldn't sit too far towards the front. we were in the back row and it was still a great experience. Tickets were £20 but all in all it was worth it compared to, say, Leicester Square

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Star Trek at BFI IMAX”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

As per other reviews I would have preferred to have been seated a few rows further back. We got seats in row D because they sold out online so quickly. When organising a trip with other people, decide when to go way in advance and book then.

The film was brilliant on such a huge screen and the sound quality is way above your usual cinema experience. The 3d effects seemed to be much more noticeable on larger screen too and you really did feel as if you were in the film at times.

Thoroughly recommended - we will be going again. I think it would be great for other atmospheric films such as The Great Gatsby or films about the scenery, with fewer action sequences. Maybe because we sat that little bit too close, the fight scenes in star trek were a bit too fast to take in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clawjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great for IMAX film prints”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've been here a couple of times, most recently for Star Trek Into Darkness.

The image and sound quality are incredible, especially if you see a proper 70mm film print and not just a digital version like many other "IMAX" cinemas that are popping up around the place show (Swiss cottage and Enfield are digital only). This time we were on row G, which is probably as far forward as I would want to sit, but it can be hard to get a seat at a sensible showing time for the bigger films and you have to book well in advance.

Biggest screen in the country really adds to the cinema experience too, you'll not want to go back to a normal sized cinema.

If you get a chance to see Star Trek, The Dark Knight or The Dark Knight Rises, all which have footage shot specially for IMAX then grab it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Massive screen, but meh”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The screen is indeed massive and the sound was good, but I was seated fairly low down and the viewing angle wasn't great. It was very uncomfortable, though I think maybe further back it could've been a more pleasant experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mightysparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Film Institute IMAX Cinema also viewed

 

Been to British Film Institute IMAX Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing