We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Così Fan Tutte - ENO”
Review of London Coliseum

London Coliseum
Ranked #143 of 1,616 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Così Fan Tutte - ENO”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

First time ever at the opera, and thoroughly enjoyed it! Maybe it was the perfect show as it was in English, and was an update to the original opera. Story was funny, and performers were great - especially the lady who played Despina, Mary Bevan. Venue was amazing, staff were very friendly and I may just come back to watch another show!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cheekyric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    165
    38
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a lovely building. The seats are tight for tall people but it wasn't a problem for me. But if you have tall people in front that does obstruct your view. I had to sit on my coat for height. But the show was lovely. The atmosphere great. I saw le corsair. It was excellent, the costumes, the humour, the ballet, the characters and the story. The live music was great too. I would go again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful either in the cheap seats or down at the front.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I went to see Rigoletto, for a birthday treat; in very good seats booked by my friend. The reviews I had seen were mixed, to be honest. I found it stunning. It had gravitas in the set design; and the performances were exceptional. Later in the month I bought £12 tickets for Cosi Van Tuti - and again, despite the poor reviews (the setting was Coney Island) I found this an entertaining experience. The cast was fabulous. The sound, even at the back, was great. I will be going back - I am an opera returnee, after several years' away.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nostalgia”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Went for a performance which was delightful. Have been going to the Coliseum for more years than I care to remember but is always a pleasure. I am for ever grateful that the decision was taken some years back to refurbish the place rather than what was muted at the time a move to a large shed on the outskirts.This building has a wonderful history long may it remain.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Rigoletto outstanding”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We went to see a production of Rigoletto which was exceptional. The production, artistry, performances etc were all first class. What made this production so excellent was how, with such a grande performance, on such a large scale, it was possible to be drawn into such intimacy. This was a wonderful experience.
The bar staff were excellent and pointed out that we could have a bottle of wine for not much more than the cost of two glasses and he could save the rest for the interval. Even in the giant crush of interval drinks in the tiny bar we were recognised and handed the rest. A lovely personal touch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Coliseum also viewed

 

Been to London Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing