We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and attitude”
Review of Island Queen

Island Queen
Ranked #247 of 1,284 Nightlife in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A truly unique pub in the heart of Islington.As the only pub in the British Isles to bear the name, The Island Queen really is one of a kind. Tucked away on Islington's quiet backstreets, "the Queen" is a quaint oasis of comfy sofas, high ceilings and intriguing original features reminiscent of a classic London gin palace. Our deceptively bijou bar serves a gargantuan range of speciality drinks, while our colonial-inspired interior - embellished by etched glass and hand-painted mirrors - makes for a uniquely cosy backdrop in which to savour them.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrible service and attitude”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful old school islington pub, but we had a terrible experience of poor service. It was a busy night but even so we were treated very offhand and no attempt was made to resolve our complaints.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayDave300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    5
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely little pub which is a welcome change from the offerings of nearby Upper St.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent a lovely warm evening sipping ciders outside this pub. It's on a very quiet, residential street and we were asked to move inside at approx 10pm. They have a good selection of ales on offer too but it is a bit pricey.

Although we didnt have food on this visit, the previous reviews seem a bit harsh. Staff were friendly, helpful when recommending drinks and I'd definitely come back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pub. Good ales. Nice food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Superb little pub off the beaten track. Always busy but it ticks all the boxes....beers, food, music....staff a bit wannabe
hipster but you can't have it all

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A very relaxed, friendly and welcoming bar. There is a great feeling of airiness about this bar. We did not eat here but the staff were great, especially Mark. Would recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could have been ....”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The music (heavy metal!) was far too loud... actually got a sore throat by the end of the evening. Food was so-so. Staff was unhelpful and a bit rude. It could have been a great pub off the beaten track from the usual Islington crowd but was left disappointed. Great beers on offer to be fair. But no thanks.. Much better pubs nearby like the Charles Lamb / Duke of Cambridge / The Peasant..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank feiwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Queen also viewed

 

Been to Island Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing