We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tennis Lovers Unite”

Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.75*
and up
Wimbledon All England Tennis Club and Lawn Tennis Museum: Behind-the-Scenes...
More Info
$41.26*
and up
Big Bus London Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
$77.29*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #64 of 1,656 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Tennis Lovers Unite”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is the spiritual home of tennis and is an absolute must for any avid tennis follower. We visited the museum and did the tour. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave so much insight into the history of the complex and the tournament.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    244
    47
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Joburg
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A must for any tennis enthusiast”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The guided tour is very well done and some interesting insights are shared. The visit to the centre court and press room was a highlight. It would have been good to visit the change rooms but understandably the members do use these facilities. The museum is also well done and has some interactive aspects for the kids. The tour should also take in the royal box part of centre court

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BryanJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I always enjoy watching breakfast at Wimbledon on TV during the championship and were really looking forward to visiting the grounds. Even though the championship was long over it was still a great tour and opportunity to see all of the major courts and facilities. I did not realize how close some of the surrounding apartment buildings are to the site. I could imagine during the championship that those apartments facing the club would have faces pressed against the glass watching the players play on the outer courts. We had a chance to visit centre court, court one, the media room, and quite a few other areas. It really is an impressive area and they protect the grass like it is gold. Please do not touch the grass during your visit. I could only imagine what they might due to you if you did. We also wanted to see the John McEnroe exhibit in the museum. It is well worth the time to visit before or after your tour. They have the trophies on display for the men and women as well as some clothing. The museum provides a nice overview of how the club continues to change with the times. We stayed in central London and took the tube out to the site. From the tube site we walked the 15 minutes or so but there is a bus available for those who prefer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank stroudcrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour and musuem”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and emotional, the guide, Marion, gave us plenty of details and answered all our questions along the tour. The Mcenroe hologram speach is just unbelievable

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great club and guided tour”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have been to the Wimbledon Championchip Tournment twice so this year while spending my holiday in London I decided to visit the club and museum. The museum is ok, nothing to write home about, but while there I decided to take part on a guided tour around the club so that I could refresh good time memories from the past. To my surprise it was a very nice decision since the guide was great and you get the chance to see everything, from the Central Court to the Conference Room and athlete's restrooms. The guide was excelent, a fun and very talkative one, can't remember his name, he managed to answer everyone questions and was very keen on all subjects regarding tennis and the club. The club changed quite a bit, for better of course, but I think the museum is too small for the history of tennis and the Wimbledon Club. A visit there and the guided tour is highly recommended!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunoLitome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Museum also viewed

 

Been to Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing