We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would expect more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza London Riverbank
Ranked #380 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I stayed in Riverbank Park Plaza Hotel for 4 days during a business trip to London.I would describe the hotel as a typical hotel without something enormously missing but at the same time without something being missed. rooms were clean, personnel was helpful & bed comfortable. TV screen though is really tiny.
There is a metro station 5 minutes walking from the hotel , which is really very helpful particularly for business travelers.

i. would also expect better breakfast while the decoration in restaurant where breakfast is taken is really poor. To be honest i would expect more from a 4* hotel in central London. I did not also like the fact that although not situated in the best London place,( despite being in the central London area) rooms with view to Thames River cost more.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kliakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2011

Dear Kliakos,
Many thanks for posting your feedback following your recent stay with us. I note with concern your comments referring to Riverbank as a typical London hotel. Our team strive to exceed guest’s expectations at all times, and create a relaxing environment that sets us apart from other London hotels.
We are currently upgrading many departments in the hotel, and the breakfast room known as Club Lounge is being reviewed as part of this. While decoration is a personal taste we do take onboard your feedback .The televisions are also included in this upgrade with many rooms already completed.
With our central location many rooms do indeed have amazing views of the Thames and Westminster , and while these rooms are booked and paid for as Riverviews we do upgrade many guests when availability allows.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Plaza again in the future.

Sincerely

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,568 - 4,574 of 5,678 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed for a quick getaway weekend to London. Hotel is across the street from the Thames and several city blocks from the Vauxhall tube station (which is still in zone 1). The area looks like it is “up and coming” as there are several funky “derelict” buildings (as we were walking up the street we saw a really run down one – and my husband said that better not be it!) but the hotel is very new and nice. There are also other newer or renovated buildings on the block. When we arrived our room was not ready as we needed a 3 person family room, so they upgraded us from a studio w/ sofa bed to a one bedroom suite. Did not have a view, but we got the room through “lastminute” so paid a discounted price. The room was wonderful, and the bathroom was fantastic, much more American sized than typical English hotel. There is 2 sections to this hotel, a hotel side and an apartment/residence side which is where we stayed. They actually have 2 different front desks. We walk a lot so the location was fine, but kind of on the fringe of the town. We went to the theater and walked no problem, and took the tube back. We love sushi so decided to try Chino Latino and it was absolutely wonderful. The portion sizes are fairly large which for sushi is surprising, there are also many other dishes, the crispy duck in particular was good. Cocktails are a bit pricey £9, but they were good. All in all a very nice hotel with lots of room, go to go to if you don’t mind be a little further from the center of town

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2011

Dear expatmonkey,

Thank you for such positive review following your weekend with us. Up and coming indeed with new Restaurants and Bars opening up all the time to suit all tastes. We have a very unique property made up of 4 star hotel rooms and 5 star apartments. Some of the apartments do have restricted views, but the space and home from home atmosphere make up for it.
I am glad you took the time to eat in our Chino Latino Restaurant and that you enjoyed the food.
We look forward to welcome you again soon should your plans allow.

Sincerely,

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

we booked this hotel for my wifes birthday and theatre weekend, (dirty dancing)
its a 2 minute walk form vauxhall tube station,
we upgrade our room which was 15 pppn,which i would well recommend, our view from our room was perfect,,
room 443,
we opend our curtains to big ben, the river and houses of parliment, and when it goes dark its all lit up
OUR ROOM was spotless and very trendy,bathroom was new and spotless,
the bed was the best ive ever slept in,safe was easy to use and free,
mini bar was well stocked,complimentry slippers and bathrobes were brilliant,
my wife says its the best room she has ever had,a dressing table looking out with a brillaint view
RECEPTION STAFF
they were very good,,helpfull and very polite,,they couldnt do enough for us,,

BAR AND RESTAURNT
this was the perfect place to relax after a days shopping, food was very good and the cocktail bar was great,
prices were very good for a hotel bar

BREAKFAST
was very good,all the cereals you can think of,,fresh fruit,yogurts,bread s,jams,
full breakfast buffet ,juices, etc

SURROUNDING AREA
10 minute walk to the london eye,
20 minute walk into covent garden,theatre land etc,or you could use the tube,but the walk was lovely,
tube station 2 minutes walk away from the hotel
THIS HOTEL WAS PERFECT FOR OUR PERFECT WEEKEND,AND WILL WILL BE USING IT AGAIN IN SEPTEMBER

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickfromstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2011

Dear nickfromstoke,

Many thanks for the great comments following your recent weekend stay with us at Riverbank. I was glad to read that you decided to upgrade your room to a river facing room to make your wife’s birthday extra special. As stated our cocktail bar Chino Latino and the adjoining restaurant has gained a remarkable reputation, throughout London and can never be classed as the average hotel bar.
I have brought all your comments to our regular weekly briefing for Tripadvisor so that the team may see the service they provide and the effort they make in making every guests stay memorable really does get noted.
We look forward to welcoming you back in September and perhaps to the same room as a little treat.

Sincerely,

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I stayed 6 nights at the Park Plaza Riverbank for a week long business conference. The best about this hotel was the location for my needs. Staff was very nice, service, including room service, excellent. Room size is good, bedding comfortable. The choice of TV channels was poor (no decent news channel, and I learned that BBC news is something entirely different from BBC World). Not a big deal. What was a much bigger problem was the view, or rather total lack thereof. My room was on the fifth floor, window on a long and narrow yard, facing other rooms directly, it was impossible to see even a glimpse of sky or outside street. Add to that the underground breakfast room (with not so fresh pastries by the way), and you have a fine recipe for getting depressed. The other problem is the room lighting, with only harsh direct ceiling lights, even above your bed, plus this bizarre orange neon by the window. I don't know what mood it is supposed to make you feel, but it sure didn't make me feel good.

Had I stayed only one night I would not have minded, but for a week, and for that price range, I found a better price/quality ratio before. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abergon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

Dear abergon,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments regarding our team, and the other amenities provided at Park Plaza Riverbank.
I note with great concern your comments regarding channels available within the hotel. We have currently 45 channels available on free view with a host of movies for purchase to suit every taste. We do also have Sky News and BBC news but I understand this does not cater to everyone’s taste. The room you stayed in has an Atrium view which is very popular with the business traveller who requires total peace and quiet after a long day. I am sure our Front of House team would have been more that happy to change your allocation upon request, as we do our upmost to accommodate all guests needs.
The lighting in the room is also a personal taste, and the light in question can be turned off separate from the others in the room. It was factored in at the design stages, and is considered unique in its style gaining negative and positive feedback.
Our breakfast room known as Club Lounge hosts breakfast daily and I have passed on your feedback to the Executive chef in the hope that we can improve on the already high standard it sets.
First impressions are always important, but I am assured that if you took the decision to revisit us again you would get to experience Riverbank with the high standards and welcome we provide.

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Booked this hotel for my husbands 40th - requested a riverview room to make sure we had a good view and we weren't disappointed - the view of Big Ben and Houses if Parliament was fantastic! Location was good, a nice walk along the river to nearest tube or London Eye etc. Service was good, nice buffet breakfast in the morning - ordered room service when we got back late on Saturday night which was very nice and very good value for money. Only criticism would be that the room was cold at night and you could hear the busy road outside.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistertumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2011

Dear Mistertumble,

Thank you for your great comments about our recent stay with us. I was glad to read that we made you stay extra special and that you had an enjoyable time in the Hotel. I will pass on your comments about the Roomservice food to our Head Chef who will share them with his team.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Park Plaza Riverbank we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely

Madelen Tobiasson
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Great value in London - very nicely decorated rooms & modern, spacious bathrooms. Very helpful and friendly staff - overall excellent value for money, I will definitely return on my next business trip to London. Restaurant and bar also great - see separate review for the amazing Chino Latino restaurant. Hotel is conveniently located and a short taxi or tube ride gets you everywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jule_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

Dear Jule,

Many thanks for your great comments following your recent stay with us, and also for your positive feedback about our Chino Latino restaurant. We pride ourselves on our friendly helpful team and the facilities we provide to make your stay memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Plaza Riverbank again on your next business trip, or perhaps a long weekend.

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We have just returned from a great two night weekend break to this hotel and have had a wonderful time.
This is the second time we have used this hotel, the first being last May when we got it as a mystery hotel with a theatre package. We were impressed so booked directly to come back this time.
Upon arrival we were greeted professionally by the doorman and checked in straight away. We were offered the chance to upgrade to a suite overlooking the river which was well worth the extra. For the extra we got a large room (no 741) with a living area and a seperate bedroom. All stylishly decorated, and with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, topped off with an amazing view down the river Thames towards Westminster and the London Eye! I am a very light sleeper and slept through both nights without being disturbed which was a bonus!
As london is notoriously expensive we found this was a great room to chill out in with a bottle or two and enjoy our weekend at a more relaxed pace.
Vauxhall station (underground and national rail) is a little over 5 minutes walk away, and an easy point to get around the whole city from.
The only gripes with this hotel we had on our stay were that we returned from a Show on the saturday night, quite thirsty and went to get a drink from the Hotel Bar, we waited nearly ten minutes and were not even greeted or apologised to for our wait. To add insult to injury it turned out both the serving staff (who had spent all this time working on two large orders of cocktails), were both working on orders for the restaurant and neither of them serving any of the customers waiting at the bar, so we left. Once in the room we decided to order room service having had no dinner before our show, perhaps on a friday and sat night the Room service cut off point for the full menu could be a bit later to accomodate people coming back from shows? The food itself was actually quite nice, but the server was quite rude, and the two drinks we ordered with the food (to make up for not getting any at the bar!!) were forgotten, something we didnt realise till going to bed!
The is also a small supermarket right next to this hotel as well open till 11pm for any snacks or drinks to take to your room as well!
All in all, the upsides to this hotel made up for the downsides meaning we had a great weekend, and left relaxed having enjoyed our weekend in London and slept well. We will return here for all our future London Trips, though will think again before using the room service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morley_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

Dear Morley,

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvience caused to you during your recent stay with us.
While your positive comments are greatly appreciated I note with great concern your remarks with regards to the service you received.The Restaurant and Bar team service the guests in both outlets during the evening, which may have caused the delay in you bring served. Greeting our guests is paramount to us, and I trust on this occasion it was a lapse in standards that will not be repeated.
Our room service menu is limited after 11.00pm and your remarks have been passed to the kitchen management to view. With regards to the server and the incorrect order, this will be addressed with the room service team and extra training will be carried out.
Feedback is always positive even if negative as it give us an opportunity to learn and improve the quality of service that we provide in order to exceed your every expectation on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Plaza Riverbank in the near future.

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Plaza on the River
#270 of 1,077 in London
1,625 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#161 of 1,077 in London
1,499 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Novotel London Waterloo
#324 of 1,077 in London
3,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza London Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza London Riverbank

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#265 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Business Hotel in London
#279 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $143 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza London Riverbank 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza London Riverbank offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza London Riverbank now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Plaza London Riverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London Riverbank England
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing